We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and unique hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic and unique hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of April.

Hotel:
This hotel is unlike typical hotels you stay at in which each room is its own little house as opposed to an apartment style hotel where you walk along a hallway to your room. The rooms were huge. Shower was very large as well. They had a wooden lodge-type feel to it. On the front porch, you have a few tables and some chairs to relax. The surrounds are very beautiful with all sorts of plants which makes it a very nice view. You can also see the volcano from your porch. The grounds were very well kept and you get a chance to see some hummingbirds, geckos, frogs, birds and we spotted a turtle near the pond up front. There is also a hot springs at the back which was really nice. It was nice to have your own hot springs. We spent every night there after a long day of hiking and sightseeing. The bar near the hot springs at the back had great prices. $5 for cocktail. Among the cheapest I've seen at a hotel. There is also medium-sized swimming pool as well. The good thing about this hotel is that it seems very private and was not crowded. Many times we were either the only ones in the hot springs/pool or accompanied by 1 or 2 couples. However, since each room is out in the open, you may get the odd gecko that finds its way into your room. Another thing is that you hear all the night sounds the birds/insects make. There was one particular bird that woke us up a few times during the night because it was making its call. THey also have free wireless internet near the lobby. Rooms near the front might get a signal but our room was near the back so we couldn't get the signal until we we walked closer to the lobby.

Service:
Service was excellent. The hotel and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. We dealt mostly with Eliomar at the front desk and he was very nice and a good source of information. We were also greeted with two free drinks when we checked in. That was a nice touch.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was delicious. I recommend the gallo pinto. It's rice with beans, tortilla and eggs. Each breakfast also had a plate of fresh fruit, which was delicious, as well as juice and coffee.

Location:
The hotel is on the main road where most of the hotels are situated. It's about a few dollars cab ride to town. Be careful of taxi drivers that overcharge. We got dinged once when we cabbed to the La Fortuna Waterfall.

Things to do:
You can go into the La Fortuna town which is a short cab ride away. We went on the Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs tour. That was nice and we got to experience the hot springs at Ecothermales, which was huge and very nice as well. But it was much more crowded than the hot springs at this hotel. We also went to the La Fortuna Waterfall for a hike down and a swim.

Conclusion:
One of our favourite hotels. Excellent service. Beautiful grounds. Clean and large rooms. Access to your own hot springs with cheap drinks. The only people that may not like this is if they don't like being outside since you will see geckos/frogs and hear lots of insect and animal noises at night

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    210
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
447
587
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

My boyfriend and I LOVED staying at Hotel Silencio. The room was its own free standing mini house, and it was really nice, clean and comfortable. One of the best things about this hotel is the natural hotspring pool and the bar next to it that serves drinks for $5. It's a lovely and quiet location with views of the Volcano (weather permitting) and is midway between the town of La Fortuna and and the Arenal Volcano National Park. Breakfast at the open air restaurant was included, and the food was delicious - especially the Tico Special. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we never got the sense that they were trying to sell on us tours. We would stay here again in a heart beat. One word of advice - it's good to rent a car in this area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

This was definitely the highlight of the trip. Continental had cancelled our flight 6 hours before we were to leave and I called Eliomar right away. The owner was very gracious and sympathetic to coming a day later. I wish I had that extra day because it was incredible. The hot spring itself was great and no need to go to the others unless you want that "party" feeling and/or expensive blow to the wallet. Eliomar gave the low-down on the different zip-lines and I chose Sky-Trek which was perfect, I had a blast with Diego and Luis as our guides. Went with some other people from Arenal Nayara and Mountain Paradise and they were jealous with the accomodations which we had at Silencio. The grounds were colorful and the different birds were so colorful and fun to watch at breakfast. The restaurant had great food and easy on the wallet as well. It has hard to leave after two nights. So much to do in this area, ask the front desk and they go the extra mile for you!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

We loved Silencio Del Campo! It was not only a beautiful place, but the staff was amazing! They set us up with perfect excursions. Everything was easy to organize through them. They answered all of my questions (and I had alot). Not knowing much Spanish was not an issue. The rooms were perfect. The food was great at the hotel and we enjoyed the hot spring at the hotel. Mishka and Tica (the hotel dogs) were a lovely addition. The volcano could be viewed right from our front porch. We got great photos of smoke coming out. We couldn't see lava because it's on the inactive side. But we understand from others we talked to on the other side that they didn't see lava either. We highly recommend this hotel. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Our family of four loved this hotel and it's staff. After three nights our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer. We spent our days in the Arenal area hiking and exploring and we looked forward to coming home to Silencio in the evening .

The grounds and the chalets are immaculate. We saw hummingbirds, tropical birds, lizards, frogs and butterflies. The flowers and shrubs on the property are absolutely stunning. There's also a gorgeous hot spring pool with a waterfall and a regular pool. Each chalet has a little place to sit out and enjoy the birds. There were two double beds and a fridge and a safe in our chalet. The fridge was a real bonus. They have wireless internet and they offer spa services.

When we were leaving, Eliomar at the front desk gave us a map where he'd outlined the best route for us to take to our next destination. It was really kind and thoughtful of him.

This is a beautiful hotel and to top it all off you have a superbe view of the volcano. We would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qc, canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Wonderful place to stay in Arenal Volcano area! The cabins are huge (we had the biggest one because we were 3 adults -me, my husband, our 2 kids and my best friend-, number 21, no rollaway, but a real comfy bed), spotless and beautiful. The grounds, pool, hot spring are beautiful (only the big hotel next to the Silencio is ugly) and well maintained. Staff is the best in Costa Rica (I was there for 3 months), very helpful and smiley. Good breakfast, lunch and dinner and the retaurant (It was my birthday, so I had a free dessert), complimentary smootie upon our arrival. AND on a clear day like we had, you have an amazing view on the volcano.. I also liked the fact that it's location is in between LaFortuna and the trails of the volcano. Note that this hotel is not on the lava side but you can see the smoke coming out. There is also a kiddie pool in which our daughters had fun. And nice bar near the hot spring pool.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Elamar seemed to be at the front desk the entire 3 days we were there, and from providing us with welcome drinks upon our arrival, to arranging dinner reservations for us at a restaurant near the volcano, he was truly superb. The maids who cleaned the room were great too, especially the designs they folded the towels into--swans, an elephant, etc. The breakfast, included in the rate, was quite good, with omelets and pancakes among the choices, and beginning with a large fresh fruit plate. I had octopus for dinner one night which was good, but my wife thought the service was slow for lunch one day. They have their own hot spring on the grounds, which is a nice option if you don't want to shell out to go to Tabacon or Baldi. The little mushroom lamps along the pathways reminded me of Oompa-Loompa Land. It is nice to have your own little cabin, a bit rustic, but I imagine the high ceilings are nice when the weather gets hot. Rain and clouds obscured our view of the volcano, but whitewater rafting was a highlight of our stay in Arenal.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.