We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the humble exterior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't be fooled by the humble exterior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When our cab pulled up to El Silencio del Campo I was extraordinarily dissapointed that we were not turning into the huge, fancy hotel next door. I was SO WRONG though. This is an adorable hotel with a surprising number of rooms (each of which is its own cabin). It is beautiful, clean, and quiet. The breakfast there was unreal, some of the best fruit and coffee I have ever had. Also, it has several of its very own hot springs which is really great at the end of a long day of adventuring in the area. The staff were extremely nice and friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    229
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
472
639
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The resort is very nice and the people are great. We milked the cows and they actually put some chocolate in a cup and we milked to cow into the cup and made fresh chocolate milk that was like a milkshake. That was so cool and what a different thing to do on vacation. The hot springs on site and very nice although they are more like a heated pool. The nice part is you have them practically to yourself. Multiple pools both heated and cold water and a bar makes a nice distraction. The view of the Volcano is obscured by the buildings and the clouds but we did great some great views of the Volcano while we were driving around the area and the clouds cleared up. the only disappointment was the restaurant, there are much better places to eat in Fortuna at better prices. The steak I had didn't have much flavor and my wife said the same about her pasta. That being said we would come back if we come back to Arenal. The last thing is that I wish they had king beds and not two beds that they say are queen size but seem smaller.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here three nights. You have your private cabin, which I found very comfortable and pleasant. Very attractive and well-maintained grounds. Quiet and peaceful The food was good, and at a reasonable price. The staff were very friendly and helpful; for instance, they made umbrellas available when needed. An added treat was the presence of several volcano-heated pools on the premises, which made for a nice bit of relaxation after the day's activities.

Room Tip: I think they are all essentially identical, and stretched out along a pathway. My own cabin was clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here in March, 2015. The rooms were very clean and comfortable for our family of 4 (2 Adults & 2 Teens). The views of the volcano were pretty spectacular (especially when the clouds cleared) and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hot springs are a nice relaxing way to end a day of sightseeing, ziplining and other active pursuits. The restaurant was OK (breakfast was included and was quite excellent) but there are better options a short cab ride away. At breakfast the put fruit out for the birds, so you get a nice nature show along with your gallo pinto. We would definitely stay here again. Very convenient to downtown and to most of the area sights.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful little bungalows. The place has a great restaurant, nice pools, good staff, The rooms are quiet and nature surrounds this place. It is right under the volcano so if the volcano ever becomes active again this would be a great place to view the lava flows.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

quiet little spot not far from fortuna. hot springs are amazing and the best after a long day of tours or any time really. the bar near the springs is great and has good food selections if u want to snack near the springs when taking a break from soaking. rooms are ur own cabin with outdoor space. very nice, clean, and staff is super friendly. they will book tours for u even before u arrive so everything can be ready to go.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved, loved, loved our stay at Hotel El Silencio del Campo. The grounds are impeccably landscaped with gorgeous greenery, flowers, birds, and other surprises around every corner. The cabins are very nice and we found our entire stay completely relaxing. Breakfast was good and my daughter and I enjoyed the gallo pinto. The staff here, and pretty much everyone in La Fortuna, was super friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.