We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realy relaxed stay with The family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Realy relaxed stay with The family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights with our two children of 5 and 3 years old. It was cloudy and we could not see the Vulcan during our stay but this did not spoil the experience. The hotel is well located although I did expect it to be more in the rain forest and it is close to the road. Once on the property of the hotel you don't notice and neither do you onto the horrific looking hotel right next door. The bungalow we stayed in was spacious enough with two king size beds and spacious bathroom (no bath tube). The houses are far enough from each other so I hope other guests where not disturbed by our loud children. The restaurant was good enough although for breakfast the choice was a bit limited in my opinion. They have a small menu but no buffet. The staff was super friendly, informative and professional. The hot tubs are fantastic, beyond what we where expecting. We where there two weeks before Christmas when it was not very busy and really enjoyed the hot tubs as we where often the only ones using it. I also had a really good treatment at the spa. Of course there are more luxurious resorts like the Tobocan but if you don't want to spend that much money (or are traveling with children) than this hotel is really a good option. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The rooms 1 to 8 are closer to reception and restaurant, 8 till 12 close to little play ground and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    211
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
448
587
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Since we arrived to "El Silencio" we loved it. The villas are very pretty. Also there are really fun activities to do. The termal swimming pools were super cool. Service was fast and kind.
I highly recommend you to go.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a "don't judge a hotel by its website" recommendation: Hotel El Silencio definitely exceeded our expectations. The photos on the website do not (maybe cannot) capture the beauty and charm of this property. The bungalows all are super comfortable, extremely clean, private and well-arranged around the property so that everything is easily accessible from everywhere. The hot springs are fantastic -- after soaking a day and a half in what felt like our own private springs at Silencio, we didn't bother to pay the big entrance fees to sit at Tabacon and the like. The on-site restaurant was accommodating and served very good food in very generous portions. Breakfast (a good one) is included. Prices are very reasonable at the restaurant and at the springs/pool bar (where you also can order food off a bar menu). The front desk service was fantastic. We saw and stayed in other hotels around La Fortuna, but Silencio seemed the best value, by far. We adored this place, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights at El Silencio del Campo. It is a beautiful property with great landscaping and comfortable and private units. Unfortunately, it rained all 3 days we were in Arenal so we couldn't actually see the volcano - very disappointing. In general, the incessant rain did get to us - but that's our fault for not doing enough research about the area. Still, the only bright spot in our vacation was our stay at El Silencio. We enjoyed the hot springs, bird watching during breakfast and visiting the farm where we milked the cow and drank the freshest milk ever. I cut open and tasted a cocoa fruit for the first time in my life. For these experiences alone, our trip was worth it. The entire staff at the resort were ALWAYS willing to help and did their best to make our stay enjoyable. Our son briefly had an upset stomach one day and the hotel very kindly cooked separate meals for him - never charging us for it. We looked forward to watching beautiful birds during breakfast. Food at the restaurant is quite good and is on par with the best of Arenal. That said, the food in Arenal area was never great IMHO - but that applies to Costa Rica in general.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have never traveled to La Fortuna before. A friend said that he'd recently stayed here and recommended it as, "Expensive, but worth it!" We had a limited budget, but decided to take his advice since we really had no clue! VERY GLAD we took his advice! It was quite simply, lovely! Food was delicious. Only breakfast was free, but the chef made sure that all other meals were well worth the money! Everyone who worked there was super nice and helpful and and and and! The room was amazing, the hot pools wonderful, the free mud facial delightful! Every recommendation by the staff was perfect (as far as events and activities). I could go on and on! I'll pass on the same information I got -- it was on the expensive side, but well worth it! BEAUTIFUL! Even if you never left the hotel, it would be a lovely vacation!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved this hotel and was the only one that truely held up to the website's expectations. First off, you get your own little house. It's a large room with bed, tv, bathroom and each place has your own little patio. The ground are so pretty. there's a little farm that you can milk cows. The natural springs are awesome! They have one large pool and then 5 little ones. Each pool feels like you are in a little secluded paradise. There is a bar down where the hot springs are where you can get great drinks and decent food. When my bf and I got here the room wasn't ready yet so we headed to the springs/bar area and had a blast. They called us at the bar when our room was ready.

Baldi Hot Springs is a 2 minute walk. Its $33/person for a day pass. (They try to tell you its $55 but that is with a dinner buffet included which I heard isn't good so just tell them you don't want the dinner) I would def suggest you go here. There are a ton of different hot springs and its BEAUTIFUL . Swim up bars and big water slides were a plus too!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Hotel was recommended by our travel agent(James) at C.R. Referrals and we were really glad we followed his suggestion. Even though this hotel has excellent reviews, it still surpassed our expectations. While there are some beautiful pictures of the bungalows and the grounds, I don't think they do the place justice. Our original intent was just to have a relatively nice, home base for all of our Arenal/La Fortuna acitivities. We actually ended up bailing on some of our planned events so we could spend more time relaxing at the Hotel. (Sorry Cerro Chato we will have to tackle you next time!). We loved the on-site hot spring pools/bar and the grounds are very well kept. There is definitely a sense of pride in the place .The bungalows are very spacious, open and airy and I think all face the Volcano. While they look really close together in the pictures, they are staggered in such a way that everything still feels very private. Another pleasant surprise. I was also worried that the Hotel next door seemed imposingly close but when you are on site there is a lovely bamboo barrier between the two places and they almost feel like they are all part of the same resort. The stained teak exposed beams and ceiling add a very nice warm feeling on the interior space and the table on the front porch is beautiful spot to have a morning coffee, watching the changing light and clouds around the Volcano.
We ate breakfast there all three days and had great service and absolutely no complaints about the food. They have a lovely, cozy open air dining room and I have to say I’m very surprised about the other negative reviews about food. We had dinner their one night and would definitely not steer people away from eating there. I think if you are going out for a celebratory diner you may go out to another place but if you’ve been out and about all day and don’t feel like leaving the site, they do a great job. I think judging their kitchen versus a stand-alone restaurant that has more customers and larger kitchen staff is an unfair comparison and I tend more to compliment them on the great job they do servicing the hotel guests.
The stay was super relaxing, staff was helpful and welcoming and the grounds and view are beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.