We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved staying at El Silencio. The grounds are so beautiful! Our room was so nice - we loved our little cabin! We enjoyed spending a lot of time at the hot springs and at the bar with Jose! We learned a lot about Costa Rica through the eyes of Jose and we looked forward to chatting with him each night.

The rest of the staff at the hotel were so accommodating and helpful. The only small issue that we had was that it seemed quite understaffed at breakfast each morning. There were usually only one or two people working there, and the tables were usually full or uncleared. We often had to ask for coffee or water a few times before it arrived. Of course everything tasted great, but it was very slow which was difficult on the mornings that we had an excursion to get to!

This hotel was our favorite hotel that we stayed at during our trip to Costa Rica - we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing with all of us your comments based on your recent stay at El Silencio. I am glad to hear that your overall stay was very pleasant. We appreciate your beautiful comments about the staff, the grounds and the hot springs. We will pay more attention to the service at the restaurant as the suggestions make us improve and do our job better.
Again, thank you very much for choosing us as one of your destinations in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    983
    206
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
425
562
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights and were pleased and impressed with the private bungalow accommodations, lush and well-maintained grounds, and fabulous spa. However, the on-site restaurant food was incredibly disappointing. We ate one dinner and one (free/included) breakfast there and both were horrible. Everything appeared and tasted as if it was previously frozen and reheated. Everywhere else in Costa Rica that we visited had freshly prepared food and that is what we expected here, too. Our meals don't need to be fancy, but they DO need to taste good. It was such a disappointment. Hotel Silencio met and exceeded our every other expectation, but their food was such a failure. For the rest of our stay (including skipping our second free/included breakfast), we opted to take a taxi into town (about $7 US each way) and eat at the local sodas. Soda Viquez and the Rainforest Cafe were absolutely excellent! Unfortunately, we would not stay at Hotel Silencio again, or recommend it to anyone, due to our incredibly disappointing experience with the food alone. The hotel's distance from town makes taxi-ing into town for alternate dining options cost prohibitive for any future trips here. If Hotel Silencio could change the food and offer freshly prepared meals, we would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your input based on your recent stay at El Silencio. Guests' reviews are very important for us. We work every day hard to ensure our client's satisfaction.
i am glad to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable. However, i am sad to find out that we were not able to exceed your expectations in the restaurant.
i must confess that this review is kind of surprising for us knowing that, especially, breakfast, all is prepared at the moment and therefore is served fresh. Our clients order off from a Menu as we don't have the buffet breakfast option.
What a shame this issue was not brought to our attention during the day as it could have been addressed immediately. About dinner, if more details like saying what was ordered, will be very helpful for us to find out what happened. Please, dear guest, feel free to email us at info@hotelsilenciodelcampo.com as we would like to know more about your case. Thank you very muc for choosing us as one of your destinations during vsit to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for two glorious days and nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The grounds were beautiful and lush, and the hot springs pools were relaxing for the adults in our group, yet enjoyable for our children as well. All of us admired the beautiful, tropical plants, waterfalls, lizards and birds. Somehow, even our children remained quiet and tranquil in this environment. It was a miracle! Eliomar assisted my booking an extra night stay when I realized that I had made a mistake booking our reservation and all turned out well! Wendy was fabulous at helping us to book a morning of ziplining at the very close by Ecoglide (highly recommend it) and another morning tour to see Costa Rican birds. Jesus Christ lizards, Blue Jean frogs and sloths, again super close by at Ecocentro Deseo. Did I mention that we loved the hot springs? Josè, the bartender, is super friendly and made a mean local drink for me with Casique, lime, soda and sugar that was cool and refreshing, so try it! The rooms are very nice and clean with a few cute decorative touches and the patios with tables and chairs by your front door are perfect to sit and catch up on your emails if you wish or to read and relax. The restaurant is just as the other reviewers have said, although I feel that the food was better than others had mentioned, but the kitchen is definitely slow. Just sit back and relax and wait for that food to come. The fresh fruit in the mornings is so good, and I loved that they put out fruit on the bare branched trees nearby so that the birds were attracted to them instead of the food on the tables where we were eating. What a perfect solution for a problem that many resorts seem to have.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights (Aug 5-7) and it was amazing experience. The picturesque landscape, beautiful villa and awesome service (thanks Eliomar and Elyine!) made our stay unforgettable. We have stayed some high end places in past but this one far surpasses all those. We felt sad leaving this place - a unique combination of nature and warm welcoming environment cannot simply be found by star rating. We hope to come back this place again.

Room Tip: Any room should be good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in May and felt so lucky to have selcted this hotel over several others.

Here;s why:

1. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are clean, spacious, private and romantic.
2. Breakfast birdwatching from the dining pavilion every day. I loved this.
3. Exceptionally friendly, interesting, helpful staff. I've traveled a lit and the staff here seemed genuinely content and happy to be working here, and it showed. They had great advice and were helpful with everything from calling cabs to arranging transportation from San Jose.
4. My boyfriend got to milk one of the cows and they made him on the spot hot chocolate. He loved this.
5. The many private hot pools - no need to pay to go to any of the other hot pool resorts.
6. Beautiful view of the Volcano. Fabulous.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and after seeing some of the other hotels around town, was more than pleased we had chosen this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel with 2 adults and 2 kids. The room was huge and clean. It had two full beds (or queens, not sure which) and a single bed. It was perfect for our family. The grounds are stunning, the pool was great, and the hot springs were amazing. Our kids spent hours in the hot springs. There also is a working farm, and our kids got to milk a cow. The staff was great. They booked all of our tours. The breakfast was great. We really loved this hotel. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at this quaint little hotel. The staff is incredibly friendly. We loved relaxing at the hot springs on site. Jose did a great job at the bar....answered all of our local questions and filled us in on what we needed to know. The only thing is the service is slow & disorganized, especially in the morning during breakfast. We went at different times each morning and it really didn't matter. We weren't in any rush so we just enjoyed ourselves but just something to note.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.