We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
phoenix
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love love loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am not going to call it a hotel because it felt more like a retreat. I told the staff I would rave about it, they were all very helpful. We checked in (early, thank you!) and went directly to the hot springs. I was actually in tears I liked it so much. Each room was like a little cottage. Not overdone but totally comfortable. If this hotel wasn't 2500 miles from my home I would be there all the time.I wish this hotel all the success as their quiet work behind the scenes is noticed. This isn't a resort where the wait on you, hand and foot (which I appreciated) We had dinner there as well, which was good. There's a fancy pants resort a 2 minute walk away if you wanted a change of scenery but this place was tops for me. The Volcano is literally right across the street. We had no car but only 24 hours so we hung out at our "retreat" and were sad to leave. One night was not enough.

Room Tip: We were room 9 which was center. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    960
    204
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
412
552
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel with great amenities in the Arenal area and don't want to pay $300 to $400 per night, this is the place. The rooms are very nice, just as pictured, the grounds are beautiful and the service and friendliness of the people are outstanding. I corresponded with Eliomar several times before our trip with questions and always got quick responses. We did two excursions from the property and he took care of all reservations for us with no problems. The hot springs felt wonderful and there are enough different pools that none of them were crowded. I would highly recommend the sky + trek through Sky Adventures. That was our first time to zip line and talk about a rush! The bartender in the pool area, Jose, was very nice and helpful. One night we heard this chirping sound and he located it for us. It was a tiny "blue jean frog" which he told us is also poisonous. He took my cell phone and got a good picture of it for me. The breakfast was included with the room which was always very good. So I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Arenal area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The "rooms" are private cabins separate from the others - so no noise from your neighbors, just the occasional guests/staff walking by. The cabin was large and clean with lots of storage for clothes. We enjoyed a drink on our private front porch at night. The staff was very friendly, especially the server at breakfast. The breakfast is included and you get to choose from a selection of breakfast entrees that are served to you. Very delicious. On a clear day, you can see the volcano essentially across the street. We enjoyed a day at Tabacon hot springs, just a couple of minutes up the street. Very enjoyable stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Eliomar answered my many many questions immediately- was friendly professional knowledgable & amazing. We had a wonderful stay of 2 nights 3 days- only wish it was longer!!!loved the private bungalows the hot springs the beautiful grounds wonderful breakfast- basicay we loved everything. Not one complaint!
(& we travel a lot!) thanks Eliomar❤️

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I agree with most reviewers that this is an excellent place to stay in the La Fortuna area. Even though the weather was quite wet during our stay (it was the rainy season after all), we enjoyed ourselves immensely. It is probably not the place for those mainly interested in nightlife.

Let me start with the excellent landscaping. We are interested in birds, and there were many on premises. The hot springs at various temperatures were a big hit, especially with our teenage daughters. The staff was very helpful with arrangements for activities perfect for our kids, including stand up paddleboarding and canyoneering (rappelling and river tracing).

The rooms were nice, with a very nice small outdoor area, and adequate in size for a family of four. They were not luxurious, but quite comfortable.

The only area where I disagree with the majority is about food. The free breakfast is quite adequate, but nothing special. Dinners are better, but again not memorable.

The location was ideal for us -- between La Fortuna and many of the exploring activities. We could get either direction with a short drive.

Despite the rain, on our last night and morning the volcano came out, and the view was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is Ok. Jacuzzy and hot springs (notice: not 100% natural) are nicely designed and maintained. Ok for 1 night, maybe 2 if you got great weather and very well planned agenda with tours all day starting early in the morning. At night nothing to do unless you drive 10 minutes to downtown La fortuna and have a drink in 1 o 2 'vainilla' bars... Not much to do at hotel besides staying at the jacuzzi/hotsprings for no more than 2 hours, maybe 3 if you got a really great book... Very hard bed matresses! If going in rainy season ( may thru december) make sure you research weather as you can easily end up driving for 3 hours from San Jose, paying close to US$200 bucks per night and not even see the volcano at all...

Room Tip: no major differences bewteen rooms. All pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 days 3 nights while touring Costa Rica. I am just amazed by how much property surrounds this hotel. We had our own private cabin with outdoor patio. The patio had a table and chairs. The cabins are very spacious. There is a very large sized bathroom with a shower that easily fits more than one person. The beds are very comfortable. Our room also had a fridge and coffee maker.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers a free breakfast with your choice of 3-4 different options. We did find the rice and eggs a bit too salty for our taste, therefore we made a special request in advance to make the eggs with out salt. The staff was very open to our request and accommodated it. The coffee was delicious and smooth!

What we also loved were the many hot springs!! There were five different pools of hot and cold water to choose from at this hotel. Two of them had water falls. This hotel is practically across the street from the Bali Hot Springs, but in my opinion its not worth going to if you stay at this hotel.

The location was great. Only 10 minutes from the center of La Fortuna where you will find the soda (meaning family) restaurants, cafes and bars.

One a clear day, you will catch a great view of Arenal Volcano. We went during the rainy season so we never had a clear view of the entire volcano.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.