We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Costa Rican Standards... Simply outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Above Costa Rican Standards... Simply outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service in reception with Claret and in the Bar with Jose, both pointed out very well the location, attractions and anything we asked! Definitely the place to stay near Volcan El Arenal! Hotel room was incredible clean and the beds were also highly comfortable, food was impressive, I personally recommend the soups and pastas.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We all want to thank you for sharing with all of us your beautiful comments based on your recent stay. Thank you very much for choosing us and letting us serve you. Our staff is happy to know that you were happy with everything througout all your stay. If in a near future something brings you back, we are hoping you give us another opportunity to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    980
    206
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
424
560
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My two sisters and I (ages 36-22) stayed for 3 nights at El Silencio del Campo at the end of a 10 day trip through Nicaragua and Costa Rica in August 2013. We loved the town of La Fortuna were not disappointed in any way by El Silencio. The room (bungalow #12) had direct views from its front door of Volcan Arenal. That in itself was spectacular. The rooms are private, free-standing bungalows each with a private patio area. Our room was very large and clean; we loved how they left animal shaped towels on the bed every day. Added to the views were the amazing grounds - it is like a private oasis, very quiet (where we were towards the back of the property) and surrounded by beautifully manicured tropical plants that lure many types of birds (hummingbirds!). We went in the hot springs every day at least once (if not more than once) and found them to be very well maintained and relaxing. The hotel is very close to one of the public hot springs in town and compared to the line-up of cars and the crowds that would have been associated with that, we often found ourselves completely alone in the various pools. Breakfast was delicious and dinner was quite good as well on the night that we tried it. They serve eggs sourced from the farm directly on the property. The hotel was offering a free volcanic mud facial to guests when we visited. I thought the treatment and the grounds of the spa were great as well. Last positive comment was the service - we were leaving very early on our last morning planning to be on the road before breakfast would be served. When the front desk learned of this they prepared a to go breakfast for us of fresh fruits and breads for us to take on the road. Such a great last touch to a wonderful stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher numbered bungalows are towards the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful and candid review. We all enjoyed reading your review, very detailed which points out every area of the hotel and what we have to offer.
We are thirlled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was able to meet your expectations. Your opinion is very important for us and we appreciate very much your contribution. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our favorite hotel of our whole 12 day trip in Costa Rica. The bungalows were large and beautiful. We had a very comfortable king size bed and large walk- in shower. Beautiful wood inside with a wonderful porch to enjoy your morning coffee.

Breakfast was wonderful with great tropical fruit plate and farm fresh eggs from the farm located right on the hotel grounds. Dinner was a little overpriced and not quite as good as some of the local restaurants but the managers of the restaurant were out of town so maybe this made a difference. The staff was very accommodating though and did all that they could to please.

Hot springs were so wonderful with varying degrees of Hot pools and a cold plunge. Nice bar area with a friendly bartender. We enjoyed some great tropical drinks while enjoying our soak.

My sister and I enjoyed our free volcanic mud facial (one per room). Not only was it a facial but included a nice shoulder, arm and hand massage. The young lady was so nice and made sure we had a relaxing time even if she has hands made of steel! My sister and I booked 2 time slots as she was the only one working as it was low season but she brought us both in together and then just worked a little on each one of us so we could be together. Don't miss this.

The whole grounds are so beautiful and well maintained. We has planned a "free" night with no advance reservations as we were going to start our drive to Manuel Antonio but we loved it here so much we could not bear to leave and so stayed another night.

A big thank you to the front desk staff!!!! All were friendly and helpful and do everything they could to make your stay wonderful. Thanks to Eylin and Clareth for helping with booking tours and a big big thanks to Eliomar who was so great and taught my husband how to got gas for the car!!

Incidentally, ignore that big eyesore of a hotel next door and remember that they are paying twice as much as you are but you are enjoying your stay at El Silencio 10 times as much!!!

PS: Don't be afraid of the low rainy season. Very low crowds and we had the hot springs almost to ourselves. Every day started out sunny, the clouds would build in the afternoon but not once in 12 days did we get rain for any of our activities. Some nights we had wonderful refreshing storms but it makes everything so green!! Would give up some rainy times for the low crowds and great low season prices!!

Room Tip: The higher number cabins in the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay. Thanks very much for having considered us your favorite destination. We are glad to know that we were able to meet your hotel expectations throughout your stay. We want to thank you for sharing your comments with all of us and letting us serve you. if you ever make it to this beautiful country again, we are all hoping you give us another opportunity to be your place to come relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We hired a car at the Avis Aeropuerto (which isn't really at the airport..ha) in San Jose and drove the very windy roads to La Fortuna. Thank God for GPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There are no shoulders on the roads, few markers to state what the road is, and so it is pretty intense, especially when navigating around trucks on corners.
It is a very pretty drive though...and thankfully not too long..about 3-4 hours, depending on how lost you get.
Arenal Volcano was covered in clouds when we arrived, but the hotel and its grounds made up for that. Next door is a monstrous hotel, which I was hoping was not what I had booked into. Thankfully El silencio was more our style.
Cute little cabins...very clean, spacious...and extremely well maintained. Beautiful grounds and gardens, which attracted lots of birds, lizards, and even a roosting bat under a banana leaf etc. And the perk of the hot springs pools at the back of the hotel...which were lovely...some pools were hotter than others...and it was nice to try them all.
Our cabanas were not ready, as we had arrived early...so we wandered the grounds...then the bar tender opened the hot pool bar...and we relaxed with our feet in a pool.
We had a wonderful lunch...marvelous service...great tasty food...nice to be able to put that all on our room bill.
Rooms were ready...so we settled in...then spent some serious time in the hot pools.
We had prearranged with El Silencio to go with Canoa Aventura on an Arenal hike, then to Tabacon hot springs for an evening in hot water...and a buffet...I will do that review next. That was all arranged for us, and we were given a sale price as a bonus!! Know that it was a great experience...the guide was terrific and Tabacon was amazing. Was nice that the hotel could arrange that for us.
Breakfast at El Silencio was just as good as lunch...very professional people.
Someone had kindly placed banana sections out on a dead bush in front of the open air restaurant...so we dined as we watch all the birds feed. Great fun.
Arenal Volcano showed itself in fine form this am...and we watched until the hairnet of clouds concealed the peak...wonderful.
Would so encourage people to visit this fine hotel...staff was terrfic and helpful. Stay was lovely.

Room Tip: away from the road...but all cabanas are quiet as this place is out of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful comments. Our staff is glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our main priority is always the clients' satisfaction. That's the goal we work for every day.Thanks a million for having chosen our property as your destination to come stay and relax. it was a pleasure to serve you. Look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel Silencio del Campo in Arenal is a "Little Paradise". The grounds are beautiful! The hot- spring tubs were awesome to soak in after our days of active adventures and the pool-side drink service was really nice. The staff were so welcoming and friendly we truly felt like valued guests. Having our own luxury cabana-like cabin was very romantic. The restaurant was such a delight-from the excellent service, to the tasty dishes, to the reasonable prices, to the atmosphere-we never even made it into La Fortuna to dine. We had clear days so our view of the volcano was magnificent. We could just feel the stress rolling off of us here. This is what a vacation is supposed to feel like. The hotel provided a complimentary facial upon check-in! Now this is how to start a vacation! I would have liked to have taken advantage of the beautiful on-site spa services, but thought it was even pricier than US spa prices, so I did not partake. Although we were excited about going on to our other adventures in Costa Rica, it was hard to leave this lovely, romantic, private little paradise. We stayed during low season, so we had our favorite hotspring tub to ourselves. Relaxing, romantic, beautiful, great service, impeccable care and cleanliness, what else is there to say. Would recommend. Would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: All cabins have a private front patio that faces the volcano, so if the visibility is good, the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your valuable to share your comments with all of us in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. We are looking forward to having you back in a near future. it will be a pleasure to serve you again. We are all happy to learn that you had a lovely stay. if there's a future trip back to Costa Rica, we are hoping you can give us another opportunity to host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here at the end of May this year and it was an incredible place. The views of the volcano were sensational, the hot springs quiet, extemely clean and relaxing. The rooms were spacious and immaculate and were great to return to every evening. The staff could not have been more helpful with our every request and I would not hesistate recommending El Silencio (one small point, you do need to have a car or hire a taxi to get here from La Fortuna but it is only a 6 or 7 minute easy drive)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments based on your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to know that you fully enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to serve you. Hopefully this is not the first or the last time you come visit us. We are looking forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you for choosing us as one of your destinations during your visit to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Must admit, I felt a bit disappointed having not booked the Nayarra and having had to go there en route to our drop off to Silencio.

However, this is a great hotel! The rooms/cabins are spacious and well maintained. The bathroom was a little tired.

Breakfast was good and dinner too, with great service, however the was a lack of atmosphere, but this likely due to our "out of season" visit and some heavy showers in the evening. For our early tour, breakfast was arranged in advance which was nice. The chap at reception was also super firendly interms of arranging tours and helping us with crossing the border in Nica.

The hot springs are brilliant and were a great retreat at the end of the day. I like the way the tours were added to our bill so we could pay by card at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate the time you invested to make your comments. That's really helpful and necessary to keep improving our service. We are kind of sad for not having fully met your expectations as our main priority is our clients' satisfaction. We are hoping you can take us into consideration again for a future visit to Costa Rica. Again, thank you a lot for your comments as we will take those into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.