We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Oasis in La Fortuna!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Poulsbo, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Oasis in La Fortuna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We loved our stay here! When we arrived at Hotel El Silencio Del Campo, we were welcomed by the reception with 4 frozen fruity drinks! After the hot drive in from San Jose, it was one of those times, where you just couldn’t imagine anything tasting better! I took advantage of their free facial they offer (for those who might also want to take advantage of this, know you have to have the facial done on the day of your arrival or the very next day). I chose to have it that very evening, and wow, what a welcome to paradise!

Breakfast was included in our stay and they offered about 6 options (which were constant) throughout our stay. Between the four of us, we tried everything on the menu, and found it all to be wonderfully and deliciously prepared. We couldn’t have asked for more, including our super great waiter, Junior. He was so attentive and kind. I had made up travel journals for our daughters to work on during our trip, and for my oldest daughter included a “Be a Reporter” section were she had a list of questions to ask about Costa Rica (i.e. What three colors are in the Costa Rican flag?) to someone we encountered during our day. Junior was eager each morning to answer her questions about his home. He was a true example of wonderful hospitality.

We went to the hot springs (some cold, some warm, and some hot) at the hotel every night we were there – the children love swimming, and for all of us it was a great way to relax from our full day’s adventure, and take in the night time sounds and sights (keep your eyes peeled for the fireflies).

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and indeed hope we get the chance to return someday! After two different stays in La Fortuna I am still waiting to see the volcano completely unobstructed, without the clouds! :)

Room Tip: We followed the advice of others and requested a high number room to be away from the road. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Gerente at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate very much the time you took to share your experience based on your recent hotel stay. It was a pleasure to have you and your family in our hotel. Thank you for your detailed and great review. We are happy to know that our team took care of all your needs and that you had a pleasant stay. That's the goal we work for every day. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. Thank you for being part of El Silencio del Campo family and for choosing us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    960
    204
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
412
552
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Service, room and hot springs were just beautiful. Rooms were really clean and tastefully decorated. Each cabin is separated enough from one another to offer privacy. The great part of this hotel are the hot springs, which have a beautiful design and have separately located pool areas always allowing privacy. Since there are not too many people you can be guaranteed to have your own pool. The breakfast included was just the right amount and in the property they grow their own cows and chickens, so the cheese you get in the morning is fresh. The garden is LOVELY and there is a great variety of plants everywhere.

My boyfriend and I have stayed here one night, but we want to go every 3/4 months just to relax and recharge energies.Highly recommended hotel for the price and everything this cozy hotel offers.

Room Tip: Cabins close by the hot springs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for your beautiful, candid review and for sharing your input with everyone. We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful time. if you ever return to Costa Rica, we are hoping you give us another opportunity to serve you. Thank you so much for your comments and for choosing us as one of your destinations in Costa RIca. We are all here lookig forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel features a beautiful garden like a paradise where 24 villas (guest rooms), a reception house, a restaurant, pools, hot springs, a thermal spa, a jacuzzi, a bar, and a lotus pond are nicely placed with a wonderful view of Arenal Volcano (if the weather is good). But their guest rooms, especially bathrooms and their plumbing, need to be upgraded or improved. We stayed at room #3 and had some issues with the bathroom. For instance, we saw a sign on the bathroom door requesting guests to put toilet paper in a trash can instead of the toilet bowl, which we didn't felt very comfortable with. Then the toilet bowl got clogged (even with no toilet paper) and the floor was flooded. Also, hot water didn't come out (only warm water came out) of the shower, etc, etc. The restaurant was like a petit family restaurant - the foods were OK but not very impressive. People were very nice and friendly and we were happy with our stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The property was very beautiful. I would have rather stayed In a 4-5 star hotel. There was too much mold in or around the cabins. The air conditioner worked but not well and looked as if it needed a thorough cleaning (mold.) The cabins were clean enough but each day I stayed my allergies, ears, sinuses all flaired up. It might have something to do with their cabin water drain off system and the air conditioner. I left after 3 nights with double ear infections. I would have preferred a king size bed and not 2 doubles. They also stained/sealed the wood in the restaurant and we had breakfast the next day - it was so offensive. The hot springs and surrounding landscape were superb and the staff were helpful.

Room Tip: I would not choose to stay here given a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on 2 occasions. The service is amazing and the hot springs are the highlight for sure. In a great location for a GREAT price, you cannot beat this property. The rooms are clean and simple and the restaurant is good as well. The spa was completely renovated between my visits so that was a nice surprise as well. I will be back to this hotel for sure as this is my favorite vacation spot. So much to do and yet so relaxing. What more can you ask for..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
First I want to thank you for your preference and for taking some of your time to share your experience with all of us during your stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you and serving you again. Thank you very much for having chosen our property again and we feel honored to know that you consider us your favorite place to come stay and relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful property with an amazing view of the volcano. Customer service is great. On our first day it started pouring and we went out of our rooms and decided to get wet in the rain and then went to the beautiful hot springs located on their property. It was so much fun and a great experience. The staff is very friendly and answered the many questions we had with patience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for making your comments based on your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to know that you liked the property and that our hotel team was able to meet your exceptations. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again in a near future. Thanks so much for having chosen our hotel as one of your destinations in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved coming back to the hotel every afternoon to soak in the hot springs. There about 6 different pools which vary greatly in temperature. The gardens around the hot springs are lovely and there is a great view of the volcano. There is a bar at the hot springs and the bartender was exceptionally friendly and made great drinks!

The room was comfortable, clean, and very large. We were glad of the tv (and HBO) on a very rainy night where we stayed and got pizza delivered (from Que Rico - so good!)

Breakfast was okay, nothing spectacular. We also had lunch there most days and the staff was great about altering items and even created a vegetarian sandwich for me.

The hotel is about an $8 taxi ride from town but the quiet setting is worth the distance. The spa wasn't good - the volcano mud mask facial was alright but the manicure was terrible!

Overall I would recommend staying here for the grounds/gardens, the hot tubs, and the very friendly service. The lady at the front desk went way above and beyond in helping us check the bus schedule, then, when it didn't work out for us, finding a car for us to rent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your opinion with all of us. We glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are hoping next time you make it to Costa Rica, you give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Also, i want to personally take the opportunity to apologize for the manicure you had at the spa which was not what you expected. We are sad we didn't meet your expectations there. Please know that we are paying attention to this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.