We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and sisters family spent 5 days at Silencio del Campo and fun was had by all. Although the facility is spread out and very quite there was enough to keep even young teenagers happy. The cabin are wonderful, clean, quite, and well cared for. The employees are wonderful and very helpful. Jose the bartender was very pleasent and welocoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your comments with all of us based on your recent experience at our hotel. Our staff is glad to know that you had a pleasant stay. For us it was a pleasure to have your family and we are hoping to have you all back again in a near future. Thank you for choosing us as one of your destinations to come and relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    961
    204
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
412
553
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 3 nights and very much enjoyed the grounds, the farm, and especially the hot springs. Our AC unit didn't work well, which made me wonder why (for being eco-friendly) they didn't have any fans? This was only a problem during the day since the evenings always cooled off nicely, but when one family member got sick, the room was unbearable hot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the road. We were in #3 and the noise from the highway often disru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for your input based on your recent experiece at our hotel. We are hoping you can give us another opportunity nexf time you come to Costa Rica.
We are kind of sad to learn that we didn't fully meet your expectations during your stay. Apologies for the issue you had with the A/C. What a shame this was not brought to my atttention during your visit so we could find a way of fixing the problem. We take our clients' feedback seriously and we will take your suggestion into consideration. Thanks very much for choosing us and for being part of the family of El Silencio del Campo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to costa rica and we fell in love with this place. We are already planning to go back again!! Bungalows are clean, spacious, and comfortable. They have a small refrigerator and a coffee maker. All staff was extremely friendly and we saw nothing but smiles during our entire stay, especially Jose the bartender and Maria the receptionist. The restaurant has great food at reasonable prices. A taxi to town is about $8 one way. We only went to buy souvenirs and while we were there we ate at soda viquez, but I thought the food at the hotel restaurant was way better and the atmosphere is better as well. The hotel grounds are beautiful and so is the spa. My husband and I did a couple's massage and it was great. We felt so relaxed with the sound of nature. The hot springs were amazing and we almost always had them to ourselves. The big one had hotter water than tabacon!! I would highly recommend anyone who wants to relax and be surrounded by nature and great staff to stay at silencio del campo!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are looking forward to seeing you again. Thanks very much for sharing your opinion based on your recent stay and for having chosen our property as one of your destinations during your visit to Costa Rica. We are all happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you are planning to return. It will be a pleasure for us to serve you again. Our staff will keep up working hard so our clients have a pleasant experience throughout their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the only place to stay near Arenal volcano!
The place is extremely comfy
The employees are extremely helpful and their breakfast is the best. The rooms are very clean and these are bungalows.
Each has a patio where you can enjoy the scenic beauty around you while enjoying coffee or drinks.
The hot tubs are the place to relax. Several hot tubs are there

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful words and candid review - It's so helpful. Our staff is thrilled to learn that you had a lovely time with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again in a near future. Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The staff is what makes this Hotel a great place to stay! My sister and I stayed at the Hotel El Silencio del Campo with our families on recommendation from another family in our town. The hotel made everyone of us (ages 10-54) feel comfortable and relaxed. The property is clean and safe (the kids can walk to the hot springs, snack bar, pool and restaurant by themselves feeling completely independent). The staff helped us to book our day trips and cabs/vans for rides into La Fortuna for evening meals. The staff always had a friendly good morning for us (even as we straggled into breakfast over time) and welcomed us back from our day tours with a smile!! The bonus was the view from the hotel which allows you to keep an eye on the volcano- the visual that drew us to the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with everyone based on your recent stay at our hotel. It will be a pleasure to have your family again next trip you come to Costa Rica. We are glad to hear that our staff was able to meet your expectations during your stay. Thank you for choosing us as one of your destinations. Look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Really really nice place just outside of downtown La Fortuna. Clean, comfortable and a good price that includes a nice breakfast and their own hot springs. Local hot springs (Tabacon, Baldi, etc.) costs approx. $50-$80 for a foreign tourist to use.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for taking time to share your experience based on your recent stay at our hotel. Our staff is happy to know that you had a lovely time. Thank you for the nice words and for choosing us as one of your destinations in Costa Rica. If you ever return, hopefully you give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for four nights in one of the spacious bungalows and really loved our stay. The breakfast each morning was very good and we had dinner at the restaurant the first night and had a very good meal. Service was very attentive. We had a perfect view of the volcano from our patio - on our last day we had a great view of the volcano as it was a clear day! We definitely enjoyed the hot springs after our daily adventures - a great way to relax. There is a bar at the hot springs and the bartender was always ready to prepare great tasting smoothies. The front desk staff were very helpful in helping to arrange outings. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are looking forward to seeing you again in a near future. It will be a big pleasure to serve you again. Thanks very much indeed for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad to know that our team was able to meet your expectations throughout your visit. Thank you for choosing us as one of your destinations in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.