We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Time to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent three nights at one of the bungalows and had an excellent time. Beside the spacious and very clean rooms, my wife and I enjoyed the thermal pools filled with water in different temperatures, specially after a tough climb to El Chato volcano. The gardens around the bungalows are beautifully arranged and maintained. For breakfast you have different options served to your desk. Interesting is the fact that cheese and eggs served are produced by the own farm.
As there are many possible activities available around La Fortuna, this place is an excellent option to stay for some days and simply relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Owner at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you ever return to Costa Rica, hopefully you give our hotel another opportunity to serve you. It will be a pleasure to host you again. Thanks so much for choosing you and for being part of El Silencio del Campo family. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    208
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
437
575
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Silencio del Campo was the first hotel we stayed at on our Costa Rican vacation and it was definitely my favorite. We stayed here for 3 nights and I didn't want to leave. The staff were all amazing and really took care of us the entire time. Jose, the bartender, made the best drinks we had on our entire trip. There was a bad storm one night we were there and the power went out for a few hours. I called the front desk and they immediately brought over lights for my room. They were so helpful with anything we needed and always had smiles on their faces. The individual cabins are very spacious and provide a lot of privacy. The hot springs on the property are fabulous, and were enjoyed even when it was raining. Silencio del Campo has an inviting atmosphere and perfectly complements the natural beauty of Arenal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Owner at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for sharing your opinion based on your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to learn that you had a pleasant stay and our team was able to fully meet your expectations. Thanks a million for considering us your favorite destination of your entire trip in Costa Rica. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. Again, thank You for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The great view of Arenal volcano, the dramatic architecture of the cabins, and the relaxing thermal pools all combined to make Silencio del Campo a wonderful retreat. We followed recommendations to request a cabin with a higher number and our #12 was very quiet and had a direct view of the volcano.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for sharing your opinion based on your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit. It was a pleasure to serve you. We are looking forward to seeing you again in a near future.Thanks very much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the staff of Silencio del Campo made my family of four feel special. Yes, the welcome refreshment was wonderful after the drive from Liberia and yes, the grounds are maticulously groomed to create a setting unlike anywhere our family had ever been, and yes, the on site hot springs were amazing but it was the evident commitment and personal touch of the hotel staff that makes this place really special. Every member of the staff seemed to work tirelessly to answer every question and satisfy every need. My personal favorite was Jose at the bar who never stopped smiling the four days we were in Arenal.

Room Tip: We had the last room near the hot springs and the outside bar. No problem with noise. Proximity to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your opinion.
We are glad to know that our staff meet your expectations during your visit. Our employees are very committed to work hard every day so you can have a pleasant stay. This is the goal we work for. If you ever come back to Costa Rica, we are hoping you give us another opportunity to serve you. Thanks very much for choosing us as one of your destinations during your visit to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place is beautiful, and we were treated like royalty. We arrived several hours before the regular check in time but requested an early check-in. The receptionist said the maids could have our room ready in an hour, and that we could leave our bags behind the desk and browse the grounds, go swimming, etc. while we waited.

This is a tropical paradise with palms, ferns, fruit trees (orange, lime, banana, mango, plantain, and more), plus lots of flowers everywhere you look. We spent the hour exploring the grounds and taking pictures of flowers, plants, and hummingbirds.

“Hotel” is really a misnomer as each “room” is a separate little private building with two queen beds, mini fridge, desk, shower, etc. plus a patio area. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the maids create a different animal “sculpture” out of folded towels each day.

Close to the main building and reception area is an open-air restaurant. A full breakfast is included with your stay. Although the breakfast menu is not extensive, the food is good and includes omelets, banana pancakes, gallo pinto (rice and beans) which is a Costa Rican staple, and fresh fruit. The dinner menu is also not extensive, but again is very good. Each morning the hotel staff put pieces of fruit on branches of a small tree by the restaurant. Colorful birds of various species fly in for a visit and have their breakfast with you.

There is a swimming pool near the front end of the property and several beautiful hot springs at the far end. Each hot spring pool is a different temperature. The water is pumped from an underground river which is heated by the volcano. As the water flows from one pool to another and the elevation changes slightly, the temperature of the water cools. Several basilisk lizards frequent the rocks at the warmest of the hot springs. If startled, they run off, only to return to bask in the heat a few minutes later. The hot springs are open from early morning until 11 pm and are a great way to unwind at the end of a long, active day. A pond has a couple of unusual types of ducks and you can hear the frogs, toads and cicadas at night. We also saw toucans and heard some howler monkeys.

We will definitely stay here again on subsequent visits. There entire staff is great and be sure to visit Jose at the bar near the hot springs for great cocktails, smoothies, or conversation. He'll also order your meal to be delivered back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were thrilled reading your review. Thanks very much for taking some time to share with all of us how enjoyable your stay was. It's so detailed and describes very well everything that our property has to offer to our clients.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. Thanks so much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a great Hotel to stay if you want to relax and forget about the outside world. They give you a free facial with a minimum of 2 night stay, and it was so relaxing and calm.
Rooms are spacious, clean and very pretty. The hot springs are totally relaxing they offer several pools with different temperatures. I will come back and highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are looking forward to your next visit. We appreciate very much your time for sharing your opinion based on your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to learn that you loved it all. Thank you a million for choosing us and for being part of El Silencio del Campo family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The entire property smells like flowers and has beautiful scenery and birds. The rooms are private and clean. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite at no extra charge because we wanted to stay an extra night and that was the only room available. It had an enclosed patio with a double jacuzzi tub! Unbelievable!! We were also given a complementary facial for booking another night and it was wonderful! The hot springs were quiet and gorgeous! The free breakfast was so delicious and had a great variety. The service was personal, relaxed, natural and pura vida! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We walked to the small onsite farm one morning and the man working let us milk a cow! Although I travel a lot, this is the first time I have written a review because this resort is worth the time to write it! Sooo wonderful and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for commenting based on your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to learn that you found your stay very pleasant and that our staff was able to meet your fully expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. it will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.