We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The great view of Arenal volcano, the dramatic architecture of the cabins, and the relaxing thermal pools all combined to make Silencio del Campo a wonderful retreat. We followed recommendations to request a cabin with a higher number and our #12 was very quiet and had a direct view of the volcano.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for sharing your opinion based on your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit. It was a pleasure to serve you. We are looking forward to seeing you again in a near future.Thanks very much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    208
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
436
569
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the staff of Silencio del Campo made my family of four feel special. Yes, the welcome refreshment was wonderful after the drive from Liberia and yes, the grounds are maticulously groomed to create a setting unlike anywhere our family had ever been, and yes, the on site hot springs were amazing but it was the evident commitment and personal touch of the hotel staff that makes this place really special. Every member of the staff seemed to work tirelessly to answer every question and satisfy every need. My personal favorite was Jose at the bar who never stopped smiling the four days we were in Arenal.

Room Tip: We had the last room near the hot springs and the outside bar. No problem with noise. Proximity to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your opinion.
We are glad to know that our staff meet your expectations during your visit. Our employees are very committed to work hard every day so you can have a pleasant stay. This is the goal we work for. If you ever come back to Costa Rica, we are hoping you give us another opportunity to serve you. Thanks very much for choosing us as one of your destinations during your visit to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place is beautiful, and we were treated like royalty. We arrived several hours before the regular check in time but requested an early check-in. The receptionist said the maids could have our room ready in an hour, and that we could leave our bags behind the desk and browse the grounds, go swimming, etc. while we waited.

This is a tropical paradise with palms, ferns, fruit trees (orange, lime, banana, mango, plantain, and more), plus lots of flowers everywhere you look. We spent the hour exploring the grounds and taking pictures of flowers, plants, and hummingbirds.

“Hotel” is really a misnomer as each “room” is a separate little private building with two queen beds, mini fridge, desk, shower, etc. plus a patio area. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the maids create a different animal “sculpture” out of folded towels each day.

Close to the main building and reception area is an open-air restaurant. A full breakfast is included with your stay. Although the breakfast menu is not extensive, the food is good and includes omelets, banana pancakes, gallo pinto (rice and beans) which is a Costa Rican staple, and fresh fruit. The dinner menu is also not extensive, but again is very good. Each morning the hotel staff put pieces of fruit on branches of a small tree by the restaurant. Colorful birds of various species fly in for a visit and have their breakfast with you.

There is a swimming pool near the front end of the property and several beautiful hot springs at the far end. Each hot spring pool is a different temperature. The water is pumped from an underground river which is heated by the volcano. As the water flows from one pool to another and the elevation changes slightly, the temperature of the water cools. Several basilisk lizards frequent the rocks at the warmest of the hot springs. If startled, they run off, only to return to bask in the heat a few minutes later. The hot springs are open from early morning until 11 pm and are a great way to unwind at the end of a long, active day. A pond has a couple of unusual types of ducks and you can hear the frogs, toads and cicadas at night. We also saw toucans and heard some howler monkeys.

We will definitely stay here again on subsequent visits. There entire staff is great and be sure to visit Jose at the bar near the hot springs for great cocktails, smoothies, or conversation. He'll also order your meal to be delivered back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were thrilled reading your review. Thanks very much for taking some time to share with all of us how enjoyable your stay was. It's so detailed and describes very well everything that our property has to offer to our clients.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. Thanks so much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a great Hotel to stay if you want to relax and forget about the outside world. They give you a free facial with a minimum of 2 night stay, and it was so relaxing and calm.
Rooms are spacious, clean and very pretty. The hot springs are totally relaxing they offer several pools with different temperatures. I will come back and highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are looking forward to your next visit. We appreciate very much your time for sharing your opinion based on your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to learn that you loved it all. Thank you a million for choosing us and for being part of El Silencio del Campo family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The entire property smells like flowers and has beautiful scenery and birds. The rooms are private and clean. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite at no extra charge because we wanted to stay an extra night and that was the only room available. It had an enclosed patio with a double jacuzzi tub! Unbelievable!! We were also given a complementary facial for booking another night and it was wonderful! The hot springs were quiet and gorgeous! The free breakfast was so delicious and had a great variety. The service was personal, relaxed, natural and pura vida! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We walked to the small onsite farm one morning and the man working let us milk a cow! Although I travel a lot, this is the first time I have written a review because this resort is worth the time to write it! Sooo wonderful and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for commenting based on your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to learn that you found your stay very pleasant and that our staff was able to meet your fully expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. it will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at El Silencio for 4 nights and found it to be a great value.

Upon arrival, they offered us refreshments, which were delicious. They also gave us a free facial and told us about their spa specials. I took advantage of the free facial on the first day and although it was very short, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The Spa area was even more tranquil than the hotel grounds (hard to believe). My only regret is not booking a couple's massage with this hotel.

Every morning a full breakfast is served. You can enjoy the beautiful ground with birds singing around you. On our last morning there, we finally got to see the peak of the Arenal volcano, it was magnificent. Be sure to bring your camera with you to breakfast. You never know!

We knew we were going to spend quit a bit of money on activities while in Costa Rica so the fact that we didn't have to pay additional fees for the hot springs was music to my ears. As it turns out, it was the right decision. After a day of outdoor activities, we didn't have to travel anywhere else to enjoy the hot springs and we didn't have to break the bank to enjoy the spring every night. This not only save us admissions but cab fare. Best of all, it never got crowded like some of the other hot springs.

We didn't have a rental car but all the activities include hotel pickup and drop-off. With the exception of one night, we ate dinner at the hotel. We did this mainly because it cost about $14-16 roundtrip every time we want to go into town. The food was good but not spectacular. My husband liked the burger and I enjoyed the fish dishes.

Now, onto the cabin itself. I love the outdoor sitting area. That's probably my favorite part of the cabin. The room itself was a great size especially for just the two of us. All the rooms come with two queen size beds and a small fridge.

Some areas of improvements: The decor in the room and shower is a bit outdated. The lighting is not all that great, especially in the bathroom. Finally, my biggest pet peeves, beddings. I think this is crucial for any hotel. If you have cheap bedding, then it will make the rest of the room look cheap. I think this change can make a huge difference.

All in all, we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank this guest for sharing with all of us his/her hotel experience. We are sad to learn that we didn't fully meet your expectations during your stay. Your recommendations are very well welcome. Since a few months ago, we've been puttng lights brighter and we've been also changing the bedding in the rooms. What a shame this client didn't make the comments during the stay as we would have loved to ask him/her deeply more about the recommendations. if you could contact us directly at info@hotelsilenciodelcampo.com, it would be greatly appreciated as we would like to learn more about your experience and your ideas for improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My family (with 8 year-old boy) stayed at the Silencio Del Campo for 4 days. As everyone states, its a great place, with its own hot springs and beautiful grounds. Accommodations are like little cabins in the Costa Rican tradition - airy and very well-appointed.

The front of the hotel faces Mt Arenal, but also the road. The back of the hotel property is surrounded by farmland with some horses and cows milling around. There are also lots of trees full of birds - saw all three types of toucan during our stay.

The hotel is just outside of town on the route to the volcano. It sits next-door to an ugly hotel you might see in the pictures. Once you get over the shock that someone would build that, you won't notice it again. There are dozens of hotels in and around La Fortuna. We thought this was definitely one of the best choices. In terms of location, its handy to get into town to shop or eat, but still easy to drive out to all the nature-oriented attractions. The only alternative I'd consider, if I wanted more of a nature feel, is to stay at one of the places further out of town toward Arenal. I wouldn't stay right in town as it is a dusty, not too impressive place.

Silencio is really perfect for kids. Lots of room to safely roam, and the hot springs facility is excellent (and fabulously maintained I might add - very clean). Only some of all the hotels have access to the hot springs coming off the mountain, so only some have real hot springs. Most of the others are giant resort-style affairs, Silencio is smaller and more mellow. We didn't feel the need to go to any of the big spas. Silencio was enough hot water for us.

All the particulars about the resort were first rate - service and the included breakfast we both good. You can look at the things-to-do section for daytrips. There are a lot. We really enjoyed the area - more so then being on the coast, which is far hotter. In particular, the Sky Trek zip-line is CRAZY AWESOME. Much bigger and faster than the one in town. Track it down. It's sometimes listed under Monteverde attractions (they have one there too). We did multiple trips with Desafio tours. We were happy with them - white water raft was fun, and canyoneering, but during dry season canyon will be mostly dry. Also enjoyed butterfly conservatory for a quick stop - the one up toward the mountain, not in town. The front desk is very helpful in booking and recommending.

Great Place. Good people. ENJOY!

Room Tip: The further from the road (toward the back of the property) you are the quieter it will be (but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful comments about your stay. We are glad to know that you enjoyed everything on the property. We will be glad to have you again if you give us another opportunity next trip you come to Costa Rica. Thank you for choosing us and for taking a few minutes of your time to share with everyone how pleasant your stay was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.