We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel El Silencio del Campo is a hotel that provides more of a typical "Costa Rican" experience. The individual cabins are charming and quite spacious, with nice decor. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with local flowers. My favorite thing was the small open air restaurant - the food was extremely good and not expensive. A delicious breakfast is included, which is a plus. The hot springs here are also quite nice, located on the back of the property. The staff were extremely accommodating, providing excellent service! We missed one of our buses for a planned adventure, and the staff quickly called to get it rescheduled for us. This hotel is also a short cab ride into town as well. Exceptional value!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
To meet our clients's expectations is our major priority. We work hard every day for this goal. The hotel staff is thrilled to learn you had a lovely stay. Thanks very much for sharing with all of us such wonderful experience. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Yourfaithfully,
Eliomar Marcia/Front Desk
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    211
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
448
587
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Anyone who has spent time researching hotel options in Costa Rica’s La Fortuna/Arenal region knows the destination offers more options than travellers really need. There are 100+ accommodations to choose from, forcing travellers to get downright picky when it comes to selecting their preferred hospedaje (lodging). Gone are the days of requesting a hotel with merely A/C, hot water, and cable TV. Travellers can now include unique features, practices, and amenities such as volcano views, on-site hot springs, on-site yoga studios, self-sufficient organic farming routines, and countless other extras on their hotel checklist.

Some people go one step further and search for a hotel that can provide them with the particular feel, atmosphere, or experience they are looking to get out of their trip. This is especially true of travellers looking for a rustic lodging experience that offers a more natural environment to relax in than the concrete jungle they most likely came to Costa Rica to escape. Whenever travellers ask us for a rustic accommodation option in the area, we do not hesitate to recommend El Silencio Del Campo.

El Silencio Del Campo is one of the prettiest natural accommodations that we have had the pleasure of visiting throughout our travels around Costa Rica. Too often, words like natural, authentic, and rustic give off a negative vibe synonymous with a ‘roughin’ it’ experience (enter daydreams of camping trips, outhouses. and outdoor showers here). While such visions of the outdoors can sometimes be a good thing, the problem with these comparisons is that they fail to inform travellers of just how rewarding, beautiful, and enjoyable the described experiences can be. No unexpected run-ins with wild animals required.

In fact, it is the very essence of the outdoors that gives El Silencio Del Campo its charm – from the wooden villa accommodations to the on-site lagoon-like hot springs to the property’s general cabin-esque feel. Combine these features with more contemporary elements (such as the chandelier and flat screen television you will find in your room) and you’ve got the perfect example of how rustic can be rewarding and how authentic can be classy. The mindful and perceptive traveller will note subtle qualities, superior in the least obvious of ways. Upon our most recent visit, Ricky and I picked up on the quantity of birds that inhabit the area. Although located in the same region as the majority of other La Fortuna/Arenal hotels, El Silencio Del Campo seemed to attract more birds than we had seen elsewhere. We also loved the presentation of breakfast served at the on-site La Paz Del Campo restaurant. Although a staple Costa Rican meal – gallo pinto – the plate design and decoration was perfectly tipico (typical) and highly representative of the local culture. As we’d say in Costa Rica, it was “puro Tico” – 100% Costa Rican. Not feeling the rice and beans mix? Visitors can skip the gallo pinto breakfast for a stack of flapjacks. With a hint of banano, the hotel’s banana pancakes were the best we have ever had.

Overall, El Silencio Del Campo is an accommodation option sure not to disappoint the traveller who is looking for a down-to-earth, clean, secure place to pass the nights at in La Fortuna/Arenal. Their hot springs are larger and more spread out than the hotel’s website suggests, which is a surprising treat for most guests. Enjoy a cold one by the pool or relax in your chalet away from home at this quaint rustic hideaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Wow! We got very impressed reading your review and at the same time we loved it as it's very detailed because it points out clearly what the hotel has to offer. Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to share your experience with all of us. That's very kind. On behalf of the owner, Luis Diego, i want to thank you for staying with us. We are all happy that we were able to meet your expectations.

Sincerely,
Eliomar Marcia/Front Desk
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Jose and Johnny did a great job making us feel at home. Front desk staff very patient with many questions. They always answered all of our questions. Cottages were clean and private. Our daughter loved it. Food is very good also. Dairy products used for cooking are organic and produced on site. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you want a cottage near high springs and bar choose higher number. Lower numbers near restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Owner at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for sharing your experience based on your hotel stay. If you ever come back to Costa RIca, we will be glad to host you again. On behalf of the owner, Luis DIego, we appreciate very much your feedback and for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Eliomar Marcia/Front Desk
Hotel Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and three children were visiting our family in Costa Rica who took us to this cozy hotel near Volcan Arenal! As soon as we arrived, staff welcomed us with a tray full of fresh papaya shakes! When is the last time a hotel welcomed you this way? The hotel is not the regular hotel. It is full of trees and monkeys! The rooms are so cozy and spacious! The staff made arrangements for us to be picked by the Canopy company and the horse adventure! We had a delicious lunch at the hotel and headed to the canopy tour. When we came back from the tour, the best part was getting in the hot springs pool! What a treat. Breakfast was included and delicious! I can hardly wait to go back to Costa Rica and visit this beautiful hotel! It is truly paradise! If you want a little piece of heaven on earth, stay at this hotel! I can tell the owners care about their costumers! Thank you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Owner at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your candid review. We are so happy to learn you had a pleasant stay with us. On behalf the owner, Luis Diego, i want to thank you very for choosing us as one of your destinations in Costa Rica. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Eliomar Marcia/Front Desk
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed with family (8 of us total, 3 cabins) this past week and I loved it. In the evenings we could all meet on the porch and hang out. The cabins were great, we had privacy and they were beautiful inside. However, we arrived during an extreme downpour and when we asked where our rooms were we were told "Down there" and had to wander in the pouring rain to find them, they do not help with bags or show you to your rooms. Then when the power went out we got to repeat that process in the pouring rain and the dark so it took us about 20 minutes to find our cabin and we were soaked and had no way to dry off, take a hot shower, etc. So the first night we weren't so happy with the place but after that no more problems, we loved it.
They put fruit out for the birds every morning so there are tons of them flying around, all colors and they are beautiful to see every morning at breakfast. The hot springs were enjoyable and a great thing for people like myself that get cold easily and do not like to swim in chilly water.
Overall, a great place to stay. My sister in law booked our whole trip through Catalina at C.R. Referrals and she did a great job with everything, if you are looking for a travel agent, look her up!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Owner at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience based on your recent hotel stay. it's very helpful. We are sad to learn that we didn't fully meet your expectations during your stay. Hopefully you can give us another opportunity near in the future.
We take our clienst's complains very seriously and yours won't be the exception. On behalf of the owner, Luis Diego, i want to personally apologize for the inconveniences caused. We will take immediate action so this doesn't happen again. Thanks very much for choosing us.

Sincerly,
Eliomar Marcia/Front Desk
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This "hotel" was a gorgeous surprise to our whole family! Each room is it's own cabin with a cute front porch containing a table & 4 chairs to use when playing cards or reading a book...all while surrounded by incredible landscaping. There is a spa, pool, & hot springs on the property. The pool & hot springs are free to use and the spa is amazing. Outdoor rooms are surrounded by the amazing sounds of the rainforest and a small waterfall to create an unforgettable experience! Meals are served on a beautiful porch setting and the food was delicious! Bonus...breakfast is included in the price of your room.

The owners of this property are a husband and wife team...he's a builder and she's an interior designer. Together, they built their vision of a beautiful, cozy, & welcoming hotel. They have hired a very friendly staff...it is a "must stay"!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to have you and your family at our hotel. We are impressed with your review as it mentions very well what our property has to offer. We want to thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to share with all of us your pleasant experience based on your stay here. That's sincerly appreciated! On behalf of the owner, Luis Diego, we want to say thanks very much for choosing us as one of your destinations in Costa Rica. Ware ALL looking forward to welcoming you all again.

Yours faithfully,
Eliomar Marcia
Front Desk/Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This fabulous hotel is great for someone solo, a couple or a family! It has about 24 separate cottages, a dining room and five or six natural hot springs pools of different temperatures. The pool area has its own drink bar and most of the dining room selections can be ordered at the pool as well! The people at reception and the pools are delightful, ready to serve and have very pleasant personalities, especially the pool guy who speaks excellent English and helped me solve a problem with my laptop which I used at the pool....don't think there was wi-fi in the cottages.

Oh, and the hotel massage was amazing, located in an outdoor safari tent with a cool breeze, a warm volcanic mud application and a private outdoor shower when finished--to wash off the mud! I also scheduled an excursion with Sunset Tours, a canyoneering activity that included rappeling, swimming, walking and a zipline....now THAT was a great half-day tour.

Room Tip: Choose a higher number cottage as that will put you closer to the pool and Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We all enjoyed reading your detailed and candid review. Our hotel has a total of 23 villas and has three thermal water pools (two small pools and a bigger one) all three surrounded by beautiful green vegetation.
On behalf of Luis Diego, the owner, i want to say thank you very much for sharing your experience with all of us. If you ever come back to Costa Rica, we will be honored if you stay with us again.

Sincerly,
Eliomar Marcia
Front Desk/Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.