We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
New Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel El Silencio del Campo for 4 nights for our honeymoon. It was an amazing trip and the hotel did not disappoint. When we arrived, the grounds were beautiful and the pictures do not do it justice. The service at the front desk was very friendly and we were greeted with complementary frozen drinks at check-in. The cabin was spotless and very cozy. The pool was nice, but the real attraction is the hot springs on the back of the property. The service at the bar was excellent and the drinks delicious and reasonably priced. The included breakfast is very good, and lots of options on the lunch menu if you're not out and about. The dinner menu was more limited and kind of expensive - still good though. Overall a very relaxing trip and we felt pampered and catered to during out stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the Arenal area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Front Desk at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for leaving a comment based on your recent hotel stay. That's very appreciated as our team learns from all the reviews.
If near in the future you would like to come back to Costa Rica, i am hoping you visit us. It will be a pleasure to host you again in our hotel.

On behalf of Luis Diego, the owner, i want to deeply thank you for choosing us and for telling us you had a lovely time at Hotel El SIlencio del Campo. We all will keep working for the goal, which is to meet our client's satisfaction.

Kind regards,
Eliomar Marcia
Front Desk/Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    960
    204
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
412
549
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place was close to paradise with their beautifully landscaped gardens and hot spring pools in site. The lovely rooms are individual "casitas". The staff were very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was good. The town if la Fortuna is only a 10 minute drive away and a taxi is only about 5 dollars. One of the best places We've ever stayed, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Front Desk at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks a million for sharing your experience at Hotel El SIlencio del Campo based on your recent stay. It was truly a pleasure to have you at our hotel and our hotel doors will stay open for you whenver you wish to return.

We all are glad to learn that you had a wonderful time. On behalf of all of our team including the owners, i want to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Thanks very much for choosing out property as one of your favorite destinations during your visit to Costa Rica.

As the client pointed out in the review above, our hotel is located at only 5km (3 miles approx) from the Town of La Fortuna. If you don't have a rental car, the front desk can call a cab which costs in between $7 and $8 one way.

Sincerely,
Eliomar Marcia
Front Desk/Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had an additional night at the end of our week-long stay in Guanacaste and wanted to stay in the rain forest. Looked at many hotels on-line and decided on Hotel El Silencio for its location, amenities, rate and availability. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. The wildlife on the premises was amazing. It was nice having your own cabin, not just a hotel room. Dinner was good and breakfast was even better. Just a one-night stay but could see staying here 3-4 days next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Receptionist at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hotel El Silencio del Campo. We are happy to know that you had a lovely time in our hotel. What a shame it was only one night. Next time you come visit us, i would suggest to spend at least two nights in Arenal so you can get a better taste of the area. There are lot of activities you can do around here and one night is not enough.

You will be welcome when you wish to come back.

Best regards,
Eliomar Marcia
Front Desk/Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Absolutely beautiful place to stay. The grounds, view, rooms, spa and hot springs are amazing! The staff is super friendly and helpful. Both my husband and I got massages at the spa, and they were heavenly. The spa was one of the most beautiful I've ever been in. We had 2 nights here, and wished we could have had a week. Close to town, but you feel like you're in your own little world. Kids loved the pool too.

B-fast was nice. Dinner at their restaurant seemed just okay, and kind of expensive, so just eat in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Front Desk at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with everyone based on your recent stay at Hotel El Silencio del Campo. We strive very much every day to meet our client's satisfaction as that's the goal we work for and we pride ourselves on the team we have.

You are welcome whenever you wish to return. If you choose us next trip, we will be thrilled to serve you again.

We regret you didn't like that much our food. What a shame that wasn't brought to our attention before you checked out as we'd have loved to hear your suggestions on that spot.

Our growth also depends very much on the client's feeback.

On behalf of our boss Luis Diego, i want to say thank you for staying with us and trusting us.

Best regards,
Eliomar Marcia
Front Desk/Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were a family of four and we were given the the family room.
It was very spacious and clean.
There was 2 queen beds and a single bed so it slept everyone comfortably.

The daily breakfast, although limited in choices, was delicious.
Service was attentive.

The hotel grounds was beautiful with their own hot springs. It was nice to be able to relax in the hot springs after a day of hiking in the Arenal volcano area.

Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Receptionist at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience based on your hotel stay. it was a pleasure to have you and your family spending some time at El Silencio del Campo. On behalf of my boss Luis Diego want to thank you for choosing us. it makes us happy to know that you had a lovely time here and whenever you would like to return, just call us or email us and we will be glad to have you again and hopefully for longer!!!

Best regards,
Eliomar Marcia
Front Desk/Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and were trying to decide between this hotel and The Lost Iguana. We decided on El Silencio because it seemed more family-friendly. Having said that, I think it would be a great choice for couples too because the cabins are secluded. We felt very private. The rooms were exceptionally clean. Breakfast starts at 7am if I remember correctly, but we needed to leave by 7:15 to get to our tour - the front desk manager said it was no problem and just to show up at 6:30 or so and we would be served promptly, which we were. Delicious, large breakfasts. We ate both nights at the hotel because the first night was so good! Food and service. Everyone was happy after a long day touring to go relax in the hot springs, then eat dinner and enjoy the springs some more before bed. As for the monster hotel next door, yes it's ugly, but we just laughed at it. It did not distract from our experience at all - it doesn't block the sun or the volcano, it's to the side. On the other side of the hotel is an empty field with some horses and beautiful grounds are all around you. The landscaping is beautiful - we even saw a Toucan land in a tree above us. We had a lot of cloud coverage but on the last day had a gorgeous view of the volcano right in front of us from the hotel. When we go back, we'll stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Receptionist at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, thanks so much for posting your review based on your hotel experience. That's very nice of you. I am one of the people at the front desk (my name is Eliomar) and i want to thank you on behalf of my boss Luis Diego for choosing our property for your stay. You are welcome when you wish to return. It will be a pleasure to assist you again.

So you know, our hotel staff has seen your comments and is glad to know you had a lovely stay. Thanks again for sharing your experience with all of us.

Regards,
Eliomar Marcia
Front desk/Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavallette, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a great place to stay in the Arenal area, especially for the price. It was easy to find, located a short distance from town and the volcano, and the grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Unfortunately, the huge hotel next door does impose on the peacefulness of the property. However, the cabins are really cute, simply done inside, but very comfortable and spotless. The hot spring pools toward the back of the property really make this place unique; they are very pretty and nicely landscaped. Being able to get a drink at the bar and relax by the hot springs was a definite plus. I was slightly disappointed after reading all the reviews about the great views of the volcano; I thought our view would be relatively uninstructed, but in cabin #10 the vegetation and other cabins prevented us from seeing the volcano from our patio at all. I had even requested a room further back on the property with a closer view before we got there, but it seemed like those cabins were already occupied. That being said, you can see the volcano from many other vantage points on the property. Breakfast was great - made to order and included in the price of the room. Service was ok, I felt that the front desk could have been a little more gracious and helpful when asked for information. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and it was perfect for our one-night stay in Arenal.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room toward the back of the property, away from the main road and closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you've taken some minutes of your valuable time to share your experience at Hotel El Silencio del Campo. i deeply apologize on behalf of all myhotel staff team for not fully meeting your expections during your stay at our hotel.

i'd have loved to know about your situation while you were staying here to have taken immediate action but we will take into consideration your comments especially the complain about the villa you had with vegetation that prevented you to have a better view of the volcano and the service given at the front desk which is one thing that we always focus on more as that's one of the keys that makes a place special. I would have liked to know who this client was asisted by and what kind of information was given that the client didn't consider it that helpful.

Our gardners are advised to keep the property as well maintained as possible but we will also have them to put attention to the vegetation growth near the villas.

Hopefully you give us another opportunity near in the future. We will be more than happy to serve you again. Thanks again for your comments. Those will help us be in the right direction.

Regards,
Luis Diego Zúñiga Vega
Owner of Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.