We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at El Silencio for 3 nights in April and I hardly dare say how lovely it is for fear of spoiling it. We had our own self-contained hut (with kettle and fridge) in beautifully manicured grounds with views of Volcan Arenal. The tropical plants and flowers attracted a wide variety of exotic birds, including hummingbirds and toucans. The place felt very safe and our 9 year old was able to make his own way around the grounds. El Silencio was our first stop in Costa Rica after San Jose and it set the bar very high for the rest of our travels - the food was particularly good for a hotel resturant and I would definitely recommend eating there at some point during your stay as it seemed very typical cuisine that was well cooked and presented. The best treat of all were the hot springs - multiple pools at different water temperatures and freely available to those staying at the hotel. It was just lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for reviewing our property based on your recent stay. It will be a pleasure to serve you again next time. All this wouldn't be possible without our staff that works hard to help our clients enjoy their stay at our hotel. We work for this goal every day. All reviews are very important for us as our growth depends very much on them!!

Regards,
Luis Diego Zúñiga Vega
Owner of Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    958
    204
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
411
549
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

El Silencio seems to be a natural extension of the countryside. Lush yet manicured, it's landscaping manages to impress and welcome at the same time. Multiple free-standing casitas are spaced out over the property so you never feel crowded; ours was clean and comfortable, well air conditioned when needed. For about the first half hour after our arrival we just strolled the property, taking in the abundance of flowers and birdlife, and admiring the view of Arenal volcano.
The hotel has a covered open air dining room where you can continue birdwatching while you eat. The food served here is mostly local cuisine although they do indulge tourists with a nod towards the American palate for some dishes. I recommend sticking with the local food. It's simple fare but very tasty and healthy.
The hotel is outside of La Fortuna and would require you to have a car to visit the town and many other local sites. This didn't bother us as each day tour companies picked us up at the hotel (zip-lining at nearby Arenal National Park, and white water rafting at Sarapiqui -amazing!). When we returned we were too tired to do much more than to slip into one of the hot water springs fed pools on the hotel property before going to bed.
I would definitely stay here again. Its hard not to love a place where hummingbirds are commonplace.

Room Tip: This is me being mega picky: We were in room #2 which is closer to the main road. Its not like it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I want thank very much this client for taking the time to share the experience at our hotel. i am glad to know that our guest enjoyed our property. We work very hard every day so our cient has a pleasant stay and feels as being at home.

Our villas are separate units where you will have your own privacy. At breakfast time near the restaurant we have a dry stick where we put some pieces of fruits to feed the birds. My recommendation so you can enjoy this experience too is.to bring in the morning your binoculars or your camera so you get nice pictures of the birds.

As our client pointed out in the review, if you don't have a car to go into town or to go somewhere else in the area, don't worry as we can arrange a cab service every time you need it from 7am till 11pm approximately. You can pay the driver in colones or US dollars.

Again, thanks very much to this client for letting us know that they had a wonderful stay with us. This means our job is done in the right way. You are welcome when you want to come back.

Best regards,
Luis Diego Zúñiga Vega
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel El Silencio del Campo. The rooms are wonderful and private. With a 3 & 5 year old that was so nice not to have to worry about neighbors. The rooms are clean too.

There's a great playground for little ones (probably 7 and under), a nice pool, and amazing hot pools.

There are great views of the volcano from your front door and we had fun just sitting on the porch watching the cloud cover come and go.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and lush, with little streams running through the property. The hot springs at the back of the property were simply beautiful and a little piece of paradise. Overall the resort was quiet and also family friendly.

We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and the wide variety of birds that would come to feed. We had dinner here once, and it was OK, but we ate most meals in town or on our excursions.

Our children also enjoyed going to the farm to see the cows and chickens, and loved watching the staff collect eggs.

We did not use the spa but checked it out and it looked heavenly.

The staff is incredibly helpful. We didn't have to make one call or arrangement on our own - they did it all for us and had great recommendations.

It is right off the highway (as are many of the accommodations on the way to La Fortuna), so my only recommendation is to request a cabin near the middle or back of the property.

We'd definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the middle or back (room 8 or higher)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent three nights at El Silencio del Campo and loved the location, hot springs and gardens. We enjoy bird watching and would sit out toward the back of the property every morning at 6:00 with a cup of coffee and enjoy the scenery-so many beautiful birds. The staff was wonderful and helpful in recommending excursions. We especially enjoyed the bird watching tour at Oasis Arenal, very reasonable and included breakfast! We were in cabin #2- had no trouble with traffic noise and had a perfect view of the volcano. Also easy to return to room from restaurant or reception if you forgot something.
The rooms were basic and could use more lighting for reading at night but were very clean. In general, they could use an update, but we basically used them for sleeping. We spent most of our time out on the patio or at the hot springs (especially after returning from a day of hiking). They were never crowded and very relaxing. With Jose right there serving at the bar, you couldn't ask for a more perfect end to the day.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent 4 nights here, but could have stayed forever! The room and grounds are beautiful. We spent each evening with a drink, hanging out in the hot springs watching the toucans and other beautiful birds in the surrounding trees. What's not to love? The restaurant was good, but we had a rental car so we chose to drive to town for dinner and lunch, except for our first night when we had dinner at the hotel. There is a lot to do in the area (we went ziplining across the street at EcoGlide and had a guided tour of the Hanging Bridges, about 20 minutes away, also went with Alberto's Horses to the waterfall). We drove here from the airport and found the drive to be easy with freshly paved roads. The only negative thing I can say about the hotel was that I emailed them 3 times for driving directions from SJO and never got a response. I finally used the tripadvisor forum for directions, but the GPS that came with the car was really easy to follow.

Room Tip: We stayed close to the back and it was very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This little treasure of a place was very sweet, comforting and I'm glad we chose it. Based on some other recommendations of other tripadvisor reviews, we requested a place towards the rear of the property. It was quiet, lush and green and very well cared for. One morning we were enjoying coffee on out terrace and two toucan's landed in a tree in front of us. Just special all around! The included breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the staff made us feel at home. Thank you for a lovely stay and very adequate accommodations and the springs are beautiful.

Room Tip: Request a room toward the back of the property where you will be a bit further back from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our trip to La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano was a great family experience. Staying at El Silencio del Campo was so relaxing - at the end of the day we just hung out in the cascading hot springs pools, chatted with Jose at the bar, where you can order drinks and a full restaurant menu. There was something for everyone. The breakfast that was included was also quite nice. We found the staff helpful, and the concierge helped us arrange a sky tram / zip line tour without much difficulty.
The rooms were comfortable - not overly luxurious - but it was also nice that they were individual cabins. It felt more home-like than a hotel.

Room Tip: I think most of the cabins are the same. You may want one closer to the pools or farther from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.