We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here over New Year's 2012/13, Despite this being high, high season, everything appeared calm at this hotel. I'm sure the staff were working incredibly hard, but each guest was treated as individuals. Amazing how the front desk staff knew everyone's name within a few hours. Jose at the bar and Eliomar at the front desk stand out for even higher standards of service.

Grounds are beautiful and well kept. Lots of birdlife to see. (Saw more on the property than people we met from a bird-watching trip!) The hotel's private hot springs were a delight, offering different temps and layouts surrounded by lovely vegetation. Being limited to hotel guests, the pools were never crowded -- unlike alternatives in the area.

Despite back problems, found the beds to be comfortable. Hot water was plentiful. Room had a bar fridge where we kept our water cold.

Food in the restaurant was tasty, although we would have liked the option of more fruit at breakfast - perhaps increasing the quantity in multiples of 2 guests, rather than the same for 2 and 4 people.

Did not need a car. Found it more relaxing and cheaper to book a driver from Liberia, and then take taxis as necessary. Most tours include the cost of pickup. The front desk provided excellent advice both before our arrival and during our stay. One day we opted for a hike to the lava fields from the 1960s eruption. A taxi dropped us and picked us up as arranged. Lovely views, quiet, saw more birds and animals, few visitors.

Highly recommend volunteering at or visiting Proyecto Asis.- an animal sanctuary with a fascinating tour and opportunity to feed the animals afterwards. All entry fees go to looking after the animals. Without a car, opted to pay for pickup and dropoff. This was a bit expensive, but still worth every penny.
www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g309226-d1231711-Reviews-Proyecto_Asis-La_Fortuna_de_San_Carlos_Arenal_Volcano_National_Park_Province_of_A.html

One of the advantages of this area is that there are activities for all ages and levels of interest/ability. Hope to return later this year.

Room Tip: Farther back is more private. Some villas appear to be bigger than others. If you have balance pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    960
    204
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
412
549
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in March 2013 on an independent tour of Costa Rica. The cabins are attractive, modern and spacious with a TV, fridge and large comfortable bed. The grounds are lovely and spacious. The staff was helpful and friendly. There is excellent birding on the lower property early. There is a pool and 4 hots springs/Jacuzzis-no extra charge - quite delightful with a full service bar. The floor going down to the hot springs is very slippery and my wife fell and hurt her leg..beware! Tours booked at the front desk cost nearly twice as much than if you call direct. Ask for a quite unit is the back away from the road and the towering ugly multi-story noisy hotel right next door that looks like it belongs in La Vagas.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite unit is the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We loved our stay at El Silencio. The cabins are extremely comfortable, the hot springs are so relaxing, the grounds are quiet and beautiful and there are great views of the volcano from every cabin. We are bird watchers and we spend many hours watching birds on site. The complimentary mud facial was heavenly.

The real stand-out at El Silensio was the staff. They were friendly and extremely helpful, arranging tours and activities and recommending the best spots for birding. But they truly went above and beyond when we found ourselves stranded after a reservation at another hotel fell through. The wonderful staff spent more than one hour on the phone calling hotels in Monte Verde and Santa Elena to find us an alternative and ensure that we were taken care of. Amazing! Thank you El Silencio.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The grounds were beautiful with flowers and paths. I loved the hot springs, there were several setup up and were more private. Water was nice an warm. Great views of Arenal. Close enough to La Fortuna. Rooms were comfortable. Beds were a little on the stiff side
Breakfast was basic and good. Omlet, pancakes, rice dish was available for choices.

I think we paid a little over $200 per night for four people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at El Silencio during our four days in Arenal. We had a wonderful time at this accomodation. Private villas were layed out similar to a hotel room but much better. Beds were large and comfortable, bathroom was bright and clean, nice sink/mirror area. The grounds were well kept with many trees, birds, lizards, flowers, etc on hand. Jose was the bartender while we were there, he was a sweet man who provided excellent service with a smile. There were several small hot springs to choose from ranging in temperature, some even had a small seating area near them, making it a great place to relax with a drink after a day of adventure in Arenal. Breakfast had five options - pancakes were delicious. All breakfasts were served with fresh fruit and juice to start. Front desk agents were very helpful with booking local tours/day trips. Girls were given free facial (special at the time) in the onsite spa, amazing service. Overall, enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

One of the best places ever! Beautiful grounds...spacious luxurious cottages....hot springs. The rooms were gorgeous, comfortable, and spacious. The free breakfast was delicious and the service was phenomenal. Hot springs were so beautiful, with multiple pools and varying temperatures. We opted to eat in town because we wanted to explore a bit, but heard that the food there was excellent. The town is a short drive away, with lots of good restaurants and shops. We were able to book our excursions from the hotel, and the staff was very accommodating. We highly recommend booking a volcano hike with Johnny, one of the waiters from our breakfast. He knows his stuff, was a fantastic affordable guide, and took plenty of pictures for us!! Cannot say enough about him, he was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights at El Silencio del Campo based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor. Well, we were delighted. This is a small hotel with about 25 cabins. The cabins are of great size and very nice. The cabins were nicely decorated. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Each room has a view of the Arena volcano. The Hot Springs are truly spectacular. We went there everynight and this was just fantastic. This is so nicely done... The restaurant is small but the fiod they serve is very good. Breakfast, included with the room price is also very good. Some people complained in the reviews about quantity but we disagree. There is just enough food and this is delicious (the freshly squeezed orange juice was great). All people in the hotel were very nice and friendly. Overall, GREAT stay in all key respects. Again, the hot springs are fantastic. We went to another hotel (Hilton Papagayo) before El Silencio del Campo and El Silencio was much better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
Luxury, Pool, F...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
Boutique, Luxur...
Show More
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#8 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Arenal Kioro
Arenal Kioro
#10 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.