We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is made up of private cabinas set out among gorgeous gardens. There are hotsprings onsite. There is one large main hot spring pool and four smaller private pools. Since this is a smaller hotel, there was never a problem finding a pool to yourself. The restaurant is very good. Strong recommendation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    240
    33
    5
    3
See reviews for
507
662
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We lucked out with last minute reservations over New Years Eve. The Hot Spring were amazing in the natural settings as they weaved through the property and we spent a day just relaxing in and near the many different pools while enjoying breathtaking views of Arenal. The staff were very helpful getting us reservations to excursions around the area as well as being friendly, and extremely professional. Our private villa with our own private Jacuzzi was the most beautiful hotel accommodations I have ever stayed in. I felt like a princess! The breakfast was delicious and so was the special New Years Eve dinner. The fireworks put off by the owner amazed us, and being so high up, we saw fireworks from all over.

Room Tip: choose a villa by the hot spring brook-the sound put me to sleep at night and was lovely. Also, i th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently spend 3 nights at Silencio del Campo. First time to the area as well. But the hotel was perfect. We were looking to stay somewhere with hot springs that was not a giant overcrowded resort and this was it. There may have been 25 cabins total and 4-5 hot springs that were never crowded! What I also loved was the daily complementary breakfast. We got to choose from 6 different options every day, and breakfast also came with fresh fruit, juice, and coffee. After exhausting and fun excursions every day we were too tired at night to go anywhere and the hotel had a great dinner menu that changed every night. And even better Jose, the bartender made the best Caipirinha i had in Costa Rica!! MMM!!! Overall it was a great, peaceful experience and would definitely come back here!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent 5 days at Silencio del Campo. The hotel is lovely and we would highly recommend it.

We were greeted with welcome cocktails on arrival which was a nice touch. Our room was a spacious, detached lodge in the hotel grounds (as are all the rooms, with the lower numbers nearer to the entrance/restaurant/reception, and the higher numbers nearer the bar and hot springs at the far end of the complex). It had its own terrace with a table, and a view of Arenal Volcano (when the weather was right!).

The grounds are absolutely beautiful with stunning flowers, plants and lots of birdlife to watch. Each time we returned to the hotel from day trips, it felt like we were re-entering our own exclusive oasis.

The restaurant is open pretty much all day (apart from a couple of hours late morning) and served delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner (the lunch menu was particularly extensive). There is also a bar which serves fantastic cocktails and is an alternative location for lunch.

The staff were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome, particularly the barman, with whom we spent a couple of our afternoons.

The real bonus of this hotel are the wonderful hot springs. With four or five pools with somewhat of a range of temperatures (hot, warm, ice cold) these were a fabulous addition to our stay. We had pre-booked a visit to Eco Termales (a few minutes walk away) and whilst we really enjoyed our visit (especially the dinner there) staying at El Silencio really removes the need to visit a separate hot springs.

The hotel location is about a 10 minute taxi ride from La Fortuna (costing about 3,000 - 4,000 colones) - whilst this wasn't ideal, it was fine for a number of reasons. Firstly, most of the nicer hotels seem to be situated outside the centre of La Fortuna anyway. On day trips, our tour guides always picked us up from the hotel. And when going out for dinner, there are a couple of hotels within walking distance anyway (we had dinner at the Royal Corin next door which was fantastic) plus the option of dinner at the hotel, which meant we only took cabs into La Fortuna a couple of times.

All in all, a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The rooms are quaint but rustic. Our cabin door (#6) couldn't be closed except with the deadbolt which was a nuisance. (It didn't have a door handle.)
Our other cabin (#7) was leaking a LOT of water from the air conditioner which traveled down the wall and under the bed. This happened on our second and last day there when we got up in the morning because the air conditioner was running throughout the night. When we reported it to the front desk woman she wasn't concerned at all. Even though the water had dripped onto a wooden desk before hitting the floor and the bed posts were also wooden. We also lost power in that cabin twice the day before and my husband had to reset the breaker (which is located conveniently right on the wall in the rooms.)
When we checked in we were told that there were water problems in our room and we wouldn't be able to use water for a couple hours. I asked for a phone call when it was all clear to use water but never received one...
The service in the restaurant was excellent. Service at the front desk was poor.
The landscaping is gorgeous - especially around the hot springs at the rear of the grounds. There are more birds at this location than any other hotel we stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The resort is a true gem! We loved it! The cute little cabins give you privacy, and with only 20 or 26 something rooms in total, you truly feel like you've found a special place. The grounds are stunning, the hot springs are exceptional, and although we didn't go to the spa, we did a quick walk around and were blown away with the private cabanas for treatments and how opulent it looked.

The multitude of umbrellas available for guests around the resort - and to take off if you wish - are much appreciated.

We found the value for room ($165night) and quiet escape to be perfect, however in the rain it can feel VERY quiet, with not too many people are around. Rain tends to do that anywhere. Just be warned, if you're looking for "big resort" with lots of activity, this is not the place.

The one opportunity for improvement would be dining area - very small, which is fine, but the breakfast menu was also quite small and didn't change. Each morning a fruit plate (lovely and fresh) would accompany the entree of your choice (pancakes, omelet, toast and fried egg, egg/salsa/onion combo, or tyipco breakfast of rice/beans, scrambled eggs, tortiall, cheese). Since the rest of the lunch/dinner menu caters to north American tourists (burger, quesadilla, pastas, as well as more traditional fish dishes), to have no real mean included in the breakfasts (no bacon as experienced elsewhere in resorts we visited) was a small let down.

Overall, completely recommend this piece of heaven!

Tip - it's about a $8 cab ride from the resort into the middle of la fortuna (chruch/ garden square). It's at least 5km from town, so you really don't want to walk it given the poor road conditions, no night lighting. You will likely take the ride often if you want to explore different dining options and see a bit of "night" life or souvenir shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had very pretty scenery and hot springs. The weather all 3 days we stayed was cloudy and rainy. Only saw volcano at 6 am each day for 15 minutes. It is very impressive when you can see it- not a fault of hotel but disappointing. Hot springs very clean, beautiful, and relaxing. Food mediocre. Never had complaint but if you are into 4-5 star dining might rethink hotel. We were pleased with all meals but are not food snobs when travelling. Staff friendly. Bar right at hot springs with food and drink and bartender soo friendly! Rooms clean and spacious. The reason we picked this hotel was natural look of hot springs which did not disappoint and view of volcano which is spectacular- choose season carefully to avoid constant clouds and rain. La Fortuna waterfall a must if in area and short cab ride from hotel.
Would recommend hotel but remember volcano now inactive so no lava shows like years ago.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#3 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,682 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,465 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,758 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.