We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodges and gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodges and gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and really loved it. The lodges are convenient and clean. The gardens are really beautiful and well maintained. After a long day of sightseeing the thermal baths are welcoming. The staff helps you with everything you want (e.g. Trips and transport). The restaurant is okay but the restaurant of the hotel next door (Royal Corin) has more to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    208
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
436
568
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during the first leg of our trip in Costa Rica. The staff was exceptionally helpful, especially Eliomar, who worked with us on last minute bookings (including day-of cancellation due to a horrible passport mistake, then rebooking later that night when the issue was resolved) and transfers from the airport. Other friendly staff recommended and assisted in booking adventures, and spa services, etc.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful, and the Arenal Volcano is breathtaking on a clear day. The landscaping is so lush and tropical, there are lots of bird species (that often gather in front of the restaurant...attracted in part by fresh fruit put out for them!) and some other wildlife to be seen. The hot springs were fabulous, and we enjoyed them every night of our stay. The biggest hot spring is the hottest, but there are quite a few smaller ones to choose from at a variety of temperatures and in some nice private settings. Our casita (the room/cabin) was large, clean, and cozy. My only complaint regarding the rooms is that the showers only heated to just above luke-warm. I never really felt like I had a hot shower during my stay, and even got in the hot springs one night after a disappointing shower just to warm up and feel truly refreshed. Not a bad solution though =)

The spa is beautiful and relaxing. The hotel was running a free facial promotion, which I took advantage of, and also booked a massage for me and my husband. I had a swedish massage but asked for more pressure and it was fabulous; my husband had a deep-tissue massage and, while he said it was somewhat painful (to be expected with a deep-tissue massage), he said it was one of the best massages he has ever received.

The restaurant is good and the servers were very friendly. We ate dinner there two nights and the food was delicious. However, I do think El Silencio del campo could improve/expand their breakfast selections. There are only 5 options for breakfast: Huevos rancheros (eggs with a salsa/marinara-type sauce), an omelet, french toast, and two other options I cannot remember. Thankfully, everything is served with fresh fruit and coffee/orange juice if you want it. The breakfast is good (and included in the room rate), but the other hotels we booked in Costa Rica had many more options for breakfast. On the last night we ate at Don Rufino in town - highly recommended.

Note about activities in La Fortuna: We stayed 3 nights at El Silencio del Campo; our first full day was the perfect weather for hiking so at the recommendation of our shuttle driver we hiked the Cerro Chato trail and visited the La fortuna falls. Each costs about $10 per person, and it was fabulous! If you have a nice day with good views of the Arenal Volcano, and are in decent shape (the hike up Cerro Chato is steep and takes about 3 hours just to get to the top), I highly recommend it. The La Fortuna falls are within walking distance of Cerro Chato so you can just do that when you're done, as long as you get there before they close at 5 pm. The waterfall is stunning, you can swim in the lagoon, and we saw lots of Toucans there! With our other full day we went on the canyoning trip through DeSafio expeditions, which including rappelling down 230' waterfalls and trekking through the canyons. We also highly recommend this tour, which I believe can be booked through the hotel, though we booked directly with DeSafio (usually it's best to book directly through the company because you will get a better rate).

Overall, my husband and I were very satisfied with our stay at El Silencio del Campo. I think 3 nights was a good length of stay to "see" La Fortuna if you have other places to visit in Costa Rica. Thanks El Silencio del Campo! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Since we booked last minute, we were placed in the casita closest to the road and the reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had been to the Tabacon Resort for a day on a previous trip to Costa Rica and decided to book this hotel on the recommendation of a friend. It was worth every minute spent there. The rooms are lovely and clean and the staff is welcoming and friendly. The grounds are spectacular - flowers and blooming bushes everywhere. The hot springs are fantastic and I gave up any idea of returning to Tabacon as I was totally content with the springs that were on site. Food was good and you should try the patecones rellenos - I had never had them and loved them. The wait staff both at the restaurant and at the pool are absolutely warm and welcoming. It is an absolutely fabulous way to unwind and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is clean and pleasant. The landscaping is lovely and the food is reasonably priced. At breakfast, a waiter put fruit on nearby bushes to attract local, colorful birds. We were picked up at the hotel for a marvelous trail ride at the base of the volcano (great horses). This was handy because we had no car: I was pleased that we didn't need one. The best part of all was simply sitting in the warm, thermal water right on the hotel property. The pools are lovely, clean and just plain wonderful to sit in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was very good. The front desk personnel was especially very informative and helpful. In particular Eliyan was most gracious and helpful. Her charm and attitude lifted up our day through the gloomy clouds overcast across the skies.

The room was very clean and spacious. The shower was very spacious with a ledge where one can sit. The room contained nice robes which were perfect for wearing after sitting in on of the many hot springs around the grounds.

The breakfast could have been better. They only offer you one item off their menu, fruits, orange juice and coffee. The breakfast was definitely no deal breaker. The staff and beauty of the grounds more than make up for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Silencio De Campo for 4 days while touring Arenal. We LOVED this hotel and would absolutely return here again.

Room
The hotel is made up of a series of bungalows. Our bungalow had two queen beds, a large vanity mirror and a large bathroom. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Our bungalow was towards the back of the property and it was really quiet. The hotel is adjacent to the main road, so the bungalows closer to the road may be louder. The water was always reliably hot.

Amenities
The pools and hot tubs are gorgeous. We really enjoyed relaxing on the property after full days of activities.

Location
The hotel is across the st from Baldi hot springs and a $14 round trip cab ride to the La Fortuna town. Unfortunately, the road does not have sidewalks and is pretty busy, so walking is not safe.

Staff
The staff are the highlight of this hotel. They were super helpful with booking tours and helping make hotel arrangements at our next destination.

Restaurant
The food at the restaurant was diverse and delicious. An entre was about $12 and the portions were very generous.

Wifi
The only downside at this hotel, the signal was weak. We barely had any in our room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for five nights and had a wonderful time. The rooms were really spacious and spotless and the beds were super comfortable. The grounds are lovely and there were many species of birds including toucans and woodpeckers around all the time. We had a covered porch with table and four chairs which was perfect for alfresco lunches with our four and five year old children. The swimming pool and series of hot pools were beautiful and we spent time enjoying them every day. The staff were fantastic and helped us to organise many activities while we were there. I had a free clay mask facial while we were there and the spa area is beautiful and it was so relaxing I just wanted to sleep afterwards. This was the perfect place to stay, a really peaceful oasis to return to every day, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;