We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cabin and beautiful gardens, need some improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cozy cabin and beautiful gardens, need some improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night and enjoyed very much the ambiance; they have rustic cabins all surrounded by luscious vegetation. In overall a good happy experience, just a few relative minus: the big windows have just regular curtains, no blackout, breakfast is more or less average, and the rooms are a bit outdated (the tv was very old and the bathroom could use some improvement). However, the place is beautiful (amazing view of the Volcano) so all these are small things, but nevertheless, given the good ratings, worthwhile to improve and invest in.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    952
    202
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
406
546
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The overall lasting impression I have of this hotel is that it was the perfect blend of comfort and harmony with nature. We rented two rooms, or cabins, each having a four person covered outdoor dining space that was surrounded by lush, flowering vegetation that attracted hummingbirds, large green macaws and other exotic birds. The rooms were spacious and clean with two comfortable queen beds and private baths. There is a great view of the Volcano and we were lucky enough to see it steaming. The thermal pools located on the property were relaxing after days of hinking and sightseeing. We cancelled our trip to one of the commerical hot springs, we had the same thing steps away. On arrival we were enthusiastically and warmly greeted by Ellio who was unfailingly polite and helpful. Breakfast was included at the on-site restaurant and was good as were the evening selections. The waiters placed fruit on the bare branches of a small tree which attracts a lot of beautifully colored birds. Two evenings we ate at the bar by the thermal pool where the menu was more casual and received outstanding service from Jose. At the time of our stay there was a promotion and we received two complimentary facials. This was the most relaxing facial I ever had. We booked our facials for six pm as the sun was setting, the birds were singing, the brook was babbling. We were on a table in a white flowing tent where the warm face and body towels, aromatherapy, mood and expertise of the technicians made this an unforgettable experience. (I have to return from my reverie to finish this review) I have stayed in five star hotels at other locations for the amenities but I consider this to be a five star experience. It all depends on your definition of luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were at the El Silencio for 2 nights in december and it was a great stay considering the busy time of the year. The place is ideally located for all the activities in Arenal, the receptionist is so helpful and happily organised all our activities for us. A great place to eat is La Chuzo in town which also serves amazing coffee. We loved our villa, which was spacious and did everything we needed. We also made full use of the spa and hot springs, both were complimentary for us!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurants and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent our last night at Silencio del Campo and would have longer had we known more about it. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully furnished, the bed super comfy and there are thermal pools right on the grounds, so you don't have to go to one of the cheesy overprices spas in the area! Perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here (2 adults + 2 kids) for four nights in December. Unfortunately it rained most days and we only saw a part of the volcano on the last day (it's truly spectacular), yet we had a great time at this hotel. We stayed in Cabin/Cottage #3. The Cottages are really nice and have all the amenitied you need (safe, big shower, comfy queen-sized beds) and have a/c. Note that cottages 1-4 are closer to the road and there is a little bit of noise from the passing cars. Other cottages are further back.
The location of this hotel is really convenient....in between La Fortuna and the Tobacon hot springs. The pool area, spa area and the private hot springs are really nice and - to be honest - we almost enjoyed them more than paying for the hot springs at Tobacon as they are far less crowded.
The staff at the hotel is very friendly and accomodating. We also enjoyed a massage and again, the quality of the service was great. We also recommend the restaurant - while small, the quality of the food is good.
There are three convenient parking areas on property closely located to each of the cottages. Yes, there is a big hotel next to the property but it didn't bother us.
Note that on Saturday night there was a party across the street (near Baldi) and loud music was playing throughout the night...not sure if this is a regular Saturday night occurrence. Again, the fact that our cottage was closer to the road probably made this more of a hnderance to us.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and return to it myself.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are towards the road. There are 24 (?) cottages...the higher the number, the further back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just loved the cute and huge individual cottages with greenery all around the place. The grounds are very well-kept and the staff was extremely friendly. They helped make dinner reservations during the busy Christmas season. Their restaurant opens at 7 am, but since we had to leave for our Skytram tours early, they allowed us to eat our b'fast at 6:30 am. That was extremely nice of them. The b'fast was satisfying.

The hotel is about a 10-15 mins drive from downtown but we had our own car so we could drive there for shopping and dining. Also, note that the Sky Adventures park is a 35-40 mins drive from the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel for families as well as couples since there is a lot of privacy, if one wants it. The thermal springs are a little disappointing... ..they have 3-4 of them at the back. Maybe, I would have liked them if I hadn't visited Tabacon a day earlier.

Overall, a fantastic experience! Would visit them in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was pouring rain our whole stay in Arenal which made our stay not so enjoyable but the hotel itself is great. Your room is really your own little house. They are quite big and kept clean. The staff was helpful and I really can't think of anything bad to say. I didn't fall is love but it's definitely a decent place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.