We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and peaceful ambience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and peaceful ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just loved the cute and huge individual cottages with greenery all around the place. The grounds are very well-kept and the staff was extremely friendly. They helped make dinner reservations during the busy Christmas season. Their restaurant opens at 7 am, but since we had to leave for our Skytram tours early, they allowed us to eat our b'fast at 6:30 am. That was extremely nice of them. The b'fast was satisfying.

The hotel is about a 10-15 mins drive from downtown but we had our own car so we could drive there for shopping and dining. Also, note that the Sky Adventures park is a 35-40 mins drive from the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel for families as well as couples since there is a lot of privacy, if one wants it. The thermal springs are a little disappointing... ..they have 3-4 of them at the back. Maybe, I would have liked them if I hadn't visited Tabacon a day earlier.

Overall, a fantastic experience! Would visit them in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    210
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
447
587
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was pouring rain our whole stay in Arenal which made our stay not so enjoyable but the hotel itself is great. Your room is really your own little house. They are quite big and kept clean. The staff was helpful and I really can't think of anything bad to say. I didn't fall is love but it's definitely a decent place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in July. We really liked having our own little "casita" and found the room to be very comfortable. The staff were incredibly welcoming and always trying to make sure they helped us with whatever we needed. For example, my husband got sick from eating something weird when we went out and when I asked the friendly waiter in the restaurant if I could get some toast, he insisted on finding alka selter and asked whether we needed a doctor. The service here really distinguished this place from any other hotel at which I've stayed.

Having the hot springs at the hotel was a major factor in our choice to stay here-- we went in at least once/day. It was wonderfully relaxing! And the pina coladas at the bar next to the hot springs were the best I've ever had (of course putting in fresh picked pineapple makes a huge difference).

The one part I wasn't that thrilled with was the massage. We got a couples massage on our first or second night. I found the pressure of the massage to be overwhelming and wasn't sure how to communicate that to the massage therapist. She did not seem to speak English, but it seems like she should have been able to read my body language and painful gasps of breath. I ended up being sore for two days after the massage... I probably should have tried to be more vocal about it, but I think she should have been better at reading my body language (I have gotten around 10 other deep tissue massages in the United States, so I have a sense of what to expect).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We found Silencio del Campo to be a wonderful base to explore the Arenal area. The rooms, little cottages, are clean, cozy and well appointed (though the tvs are old, there is cable). The beds are comfortable, and the showers strong and warm. The hotel is well located, right by the volcano (which we never saw fully given the constant low clouds) and not far from La Fortuna (which is not a very nice town, so not much to see there). The best thing about the hotel are the beautifully designed hot springs and the gardens, it makes it a pleasure to be there. The bartender makes a very nice 'tico cairinha' with rum instead of cachaca, which is great. The spa, while expensive, is also lovely. On the minus side: the hotel restaurant is small (very small and limited menu) and there is no room service. On several occasions, there weren't enough tables for all the guests who wanted to eat there. That said, the breakfast (included in he room rate) was cooked to order and very nice. It rains a lot in arenal, so be prepared. The hotel has plenty of umbrellas, but at times there werent enough. Staff was very nice and attentive. Recommended!

Room Tip: While some reviewers said the rooms closer to the road are loud, we stayed in one and had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My Fiance and I stayed at Silencio for the first few days of our Costa Rican vacation this December. After reading all of the rave TripAdvisor reviews, this place did NOT disappoint!

First, the service: After having a hard time with flight schedules on the way to Costa Rica, Elio at Silencio rearranged all of our excursions and activities on the spot. They were nothing but helpful and responsive at all times, by phone and by e-mail. We scheduled a Canyoneering tour through Desafio (aaaamazing - highly recommend) and Elio gave a discount for booking through the hotel. He was just great.

The grounds are clean, quaint and well-maintained. The highlight is absolutely the hot springs on the property. We had originally planned to go to the Eco Termales hot springs one evening, but ended up canceling dur to the secluded springs on the property.

We were pleased with the food choices. There are traditional Costa Rican dishes, as well as others for the more picky eaters (pancakes, quesadillas, burgers, etc).

Room Tip: The higher #, the more secluded you are. All are great, as the lower #'s are closer to reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a return trip to this hotel, having last been there 2 or 3 years ago. They have updated their thermal pools and built a new spa on the other side of the duck pond. All are great improvements, and we loved staying in their new pools, rather than going to Baldi or Tabacon. Restaurant food has also improved for dinner. Cabinas are still the same charming places to stay. Overall, a big thumbs up!

Room Tip: Try to stay at one of the cabinas back from the road to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved staying here, except for the rain. The separate units were comfortable, well maintained and having your own little patio was very nice.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The grounds were well kept and very nice - loved the hot springs and spa.

The breakfast was only average, but all the other meals we ate here were very good and the wait staff terrific.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.