We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel...Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Family of 4 spent 2 nights here. Liked the location, grounds were tidy and clean and staff were friendly and helpful. We ate at restaurant both nights and food was better than expected. Tasted great and prices reasonable. Nice to see different menus for both nights. Didn't like the space ship looking hotel next door but at least it is hidden best as possible!! Can't believe something like that can be built there.
Got a free mini facial with our 2 night stay -nice touch. Great hot springs - seemed to be hardly used.
Overall, yes we would return.

Room Tip: Noisy rooms are close to restaurant/reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    960
    204
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
412
549
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Mu husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The grounds were lush and beautiful and the staff were friendly. Elio helped us book our tours (ziplining and white water rafting) and they were terrific--lots of fun and the companies had good regard for safety. We enjoyed the hot springs (and loved that they were never crowded) and the many birds that visit the property. Food at the hotel (including the free breakfast) was quite good. The villas were spacious and comfortable but we always felt that they were very dimly lit and a bit damp-feeling (just because of the overall humidity in the area). We were glad for the free Wifi. There were a few issues with bugs (ants on the front door and a dead bug trapped the melted wax on a candle) but nothing major. Overall, a really lovely experience and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Lovely place to stay. It was nice having your own "cabin". Very roomy and the hot springs were a surprising bonus although the last night we were there it was way too hot to get in to. Not sure why.
Complimentary breakfast was wonderful. You had a choice of five items off a menu plus juice, fruit and coffee. As other reviewers mentioned, the staff would put out fruit for the birds and you could just sit there and watch all the different species have at it.
Lunch and dinner were great too.
Front desk was very helpful in planning excursions.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road (lower numbered rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to Costa Rica. We found this hotel to be very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The staff at the front desk were very helpful in arranging for tours and spa treatments. The included breakfast was very good, and included a plate of fresh fruit before the entree. The staff put fruit on a tree outside of the restaurant, so you were able to see lots of birds while dining. The hot springs were nice to have on site, and we did not even bother to visit any of the other hot springs in the area. Our villa was very spacious and clean, although the water in the shower did not seem to get quite as hot as I usually prefer. During our stay the volcano was covered by clouds, until our last morning, where we finally got to see it. Really great view from outside our villa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A lovely little resort in the shadow of one of the big monstronsity hotels. The cabinas were lovely, the grounds beautiful and the hot pools were delightfully semi-private. The food was good and the staff put out fruit outside the dining room which attracted lots of beautifully colourful birds. We even saw 2 or 3 toucans on the property during our stay.

The staff was great as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Even though it was rainy it was never dull. Great staff - we were there to celebrate a bday and they got a cake and were very sweet! The villas are lovely, clean and spacious and the grounds are so pretty, littered with gorgeous trees and quaint pathways. The Spa onsite is amazing too - couples massage and our own personal hot springs to enjoy - really cannot say enough about this hotel, it was a pleasure to stay there, we want to go back!!! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I, stayed for one night, and got to see the volcano 98% clear, very lucky. Great villas with all service and amenities to have a great time Recommended 100% Don't miss the national park !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
Luxury, Pool, F...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
Boutique, Luxur...
Show More
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#8 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Arenal Kioro
Arenal Kioro
#10 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.