We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Arenal Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Paso Robles, California
1 review
“Great Arenal Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very reasonably price accomondations for a family of four. Having a nicely appointed cabin lesseneds the concern about noise when traveling with a family. The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious. Breakfast was included and served in an open air dining room.
The hot springs were a pleasure for both a pre-breakfast dip & a late evening relaxer. There were several small pools and a large one for kids & adults alike.
All the cabins have a great view of the volcano.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    208
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
436
573
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Tgus place is a little gem. They have their own hot springs and pool and you don't need to go to Baldi or Tabacon to experience hot springs. Although they are not as elaborate as the other two they are private to the hotel guests and very quiet. The grounds are gorgeous and it was like living in a bird sanctuary, amazing The people are great and very helpful. Food is average but priced well. They don't hold you captive and charge high prices like other places.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great location, great staff, great facilities, reasonable restaurant prices, very good included breakfast ,great hot springs, Awesome view of the volcano from every cabin, Couldn't ask for more. For the price we were more than happy with the facility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent two days at El Silencio del Campo which turned out to be a pleasant surprise. For far less per night than some of the other resorts, this place offers your own "house" with a view of Arenal and hot springs. The grounds were exceptionally clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Our package included breakfast with a view of the local birds eating the fruit placed on a tree nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of Arenal and if you want the most quiet, ask for the ones further from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

No matter how nice a place is, you will always find some miserable person complaining about something. Sure enough, there were a couple idiots with negative things to say about this place. What a shame, because this is one hell of a beautiful place. The individual cabins / villas or whatever you want to call them were awesome. Great A/C, clean, large, private and set in a lush garden with awesome volcanic pools. They are situated close to town (if you have a car), and right across from the Baldi Hot Springs (worth a visit). I highly recommend El Silencio del Campo.

Breakfast was awesome (and included).

Room Tip: try to stay in the middle or the back of the property, so you are closer to the hot springs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week for 2 nights (Nov. 1-2) while visiting the Arenal area. The rooms are very nice and the restaurant was excellent. We ate there for dinner both nights. I recommend the chicken salad with avocados! But, what really sets this hotel apart are the Hot Springs, the spa and the service.

If you are going to stay here, make sure to allow time to spend at the hot springs on the property. There are 5 different pools and they're wonderful. There are other hot springs in the area, but these are beautiful and relaxing and right on the grounds of the hotel. There's also a very nice little bar right beside the pools. At this time of the year, it wasn't crowded at all and it was wonderful to come back to the pools after a morning of zip-lining.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were offered a free 30-minute facial for each room, and it was wonderful. The spa is beautiful and serene, and we ended up having facials for everyone in our group!

The people at the hotel - everyone from the front desk to the restaurant to the bar - could not have been nicer. They were helpful from everything from booking tours to directions to helping with whatever we needed.

We were hoping to see the volcano from the rooms, but the skies only cleared for a few minutes right after our zip line tour, so we couldn't take advantage of the volcano views at the hotel. This is my second time to Arenal, and I'm not convinced the volcano has a top - just clouds.

But, despite the volcano's disappearing act, the hotel was lovely and I would recommend it for any stay in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the property are closer to the restaurant and rooms in the back are closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I'm very delinquent in writing this post but my husband and I stayed here for several nights in February 2012. The grounds BEAUTIFUL! The Hot Springs AMAZING! The staff WONDERFUL-- from the front desk to the night security. We had a very early transfer from this hotel to go white water rafting and the night security staff (who didn't speak great English - about as good as my Spanish) made sure everything was OK, offered to get us something for breakfast and just sat with us - in the dark - to make sure all was good. We appreciated that so much! You cannot go wrong - it was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.