We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet in natural surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful quiet in natural surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Tgus place is a little gem. They have their own hot springs and pool and you don't need to go to Baldi or Tabacon to experience hot springs. Although they are not as elaborate as the other two they are private to the hotel guests and very quiet. The grounds are gorgeous and it was like living in a bird sanctuary, amazing The people are great and very helpful. Food is average but priced well. They don't hold you captive and charge high prices like other places.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    236
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
486
655
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great location, great staff, great facilities, reasonable restaurant prices, very good included breakfast ,great hot springs, Awesome view of the volcano from every cabin, Couldn't ask for more. For the price we were more than happy with the facility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent two days at El Silencio del Campo which turned out to be a pleasant surprise. For far less per night than some of the other resorts, this place offers your own "house" with a view of Arenal and hot springs. The grounds were exceptionally clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Our package included breakfast with a view of the local birds eating the fruit placed on a tree nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of Arenal and if you want the most quiet, ask for the ones further from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

No matter how nice a place is, you will always find some miserable person complaining about something. Sure enough, there were a couple idiots with negative things to say about this place. What a shame, because this is one hell of a beautiful place. The individual cabins / villas or whatever you want to call them were awesome. Great A/C, clean, large, private and set in a lush garden with awesome volcanic pools. They are situated close to town (if you have a car), and right across from the Baldi Hot Springs (worth a visit). I highly recommend El Silencio del Campo.

Breakfast was awesome (and included).

Room Tip: try to stay in the middle or the back of the property, so you are closer to the hot springs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week for 2 nights (Nov. 1-2) while visiting the Arenal area. The rooms are very nice and the restaurant was excellent. We ate there for dinner both nights. I recommend the chicken salad with avocados! But, what really sets this hotel apart are the Hot Springs, the spa and the service.

If you are going to stay here, make sure to allow time to spend at the hot springs on the property. There are 5 different pools and they're wonderful. There are other hot springs in the area, but these are beautiful and relaxing and right on the grounds of the hotel. There's also a very nice little bar right beside the pools. At this time of the year, it wasn't crowded at all and it was wonderful to come back to the pools after a morning of zip-lining.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were offered a free 30-minute facial for each room, and it was wonderful. The spa is beautiful and serene, and we ended up having facials for everyone in our group!

The people at the hotel - everyone from the front desk to the restaurant to the bar - could not have been nicer. They were helpful from everything from booking tours to directions to helping with whatever we needed.

We were hoping to see the volcano from the rooms, but the skies only cleared for a few minutes right after our zip line tour, so we couldn't take advantage of the volcano views at the hotel. This is my second time to Arenal, and I'm not convinced the volcano has a top - just clouds.

But, despite the volcano's disappearing act, the hotel was lovely and I would recommend it for any stay in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the property are closer to the restaurant and rooms in the back are closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I'm very delinquent in writing this post but my husband and I stayed here for several nights in February 2012. The grounds BEAUTIFUL! The Hot Springs AMAZING! The staff WONDERFUL-- from the front desk to the night security. We had a very early transfer from this hotel to go white water rafting and the night security staff (who didn't speak great English - about as good as my Spanish) made sure everything was OK, offered to get us something for breakfast and just sat with us - in the dark - to make sure all was good. We appreciated that so much! You cannot go wrong - it was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What an amazing experience. The website and photos on any sites Do not do this place justice, really you have to come here to experience the ambience. Welcome drink on arrival, extremely helpful and friendly in all aspects. Casita much more beautiful than we expected. Immaculate and great facility beds very comfortable. The on site springs were amazing, so peaceful it was like being in our own 5 star resort. Breakfast was lovely, and together with the service what more can you ask for. Weather a little wet so didn't get a full view of the volcano, so more reason to go back again. We only stayed two nights and wish we had stayed longer. Even a free 30 min facial in the spa, this was so good. Unfortunately we were leaving the next day in the morning, so could not have more treatments. Thank you to Larson and Alberto the bar and waiting staff, you made our stay so enjoyable we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,684 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.