We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

We stayed at the property about the same time as other recent reviewers. The innkeepers are truly lovely people, the property is meticulously kept. Because it rained most of our stay we did not use the pool, but it would've been a little creepy anyway because construction workers working on the monstrosity next door would've been looking right down on top of you. This project has been the subject of much discussion on Trip Advisor related to the El Silencio and as of early November it appears the exterior is pretty much done, and the work should be moving indoors, cutting down the noise. The highrise is the antithesis of the El Silencio and I doubt they would get away with something like this in the US. Anyway, I won't repeat all the good things others have written about this property, other than to write they are all true, and even with the construction underway we would still stay there again, mainly because of Luis and his staff. They are great.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    211
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
448
587
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

We initially found this small resort of private cabins on www.arenal.net and booked a cabin for three nights during a rainy (but nice) stay. Even with the ugly gray and enormous hotel being built next door, this place was awesome. At times, the well-manicured and meticulously landscaped gardens looked surreal, and the woman at the front desk, another woman in the restaurant who made breakfast, and the other staff were all pretty friendly.

In addition to A/C, there was also a blow dryer and cable TV in our cabin. Someone greeted us with drinks within the first five minutes we got there. A tiny black dog named Tiki roams the grounds and follows you around, which was cute. There were other various touches, like the (cheesy but still nice) towel designs of hearts and swans, sprinkled with flower petals, each day.

Toward the rear of the grounds, it looked like more construction was to be done -- this place may get bigger, which may or may not be good. For now, the size and its surroundings were pretty ideal, and its location on the main road between Tabacon and the town center of La Fortuna was convenient.

I'd stay here again if I ever returned.

  • Liked — gardens, cabins, staff, breakfast, location, overall atmosphere
  • Disliked — hotel construction next door
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

I can't say enough good things about this place. The location is excellent, the service is prompt and impeccable, and the grounds are beautiful and sparkling clean. Luis Diego and Katya, the owners of this property, are always on hand to provide personal attention and service. The rest of the staff is excellent too: from Josue in the dining room, to the cooks and maids. Everyone goes the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and taken care of. We ate many meals at the restaurant and found the food to be fresh, home-cooked, and very good. Breakfast is free every morning, and fresh local fruit is provided. My husband and I spent a fabulous honeymoon here and would definitely return. Tours can be easily arranged from the front desk, and the staff will tell you which ones are the better bargains.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, beautiful surroundings, quality of service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

As a pretty frugal budget traveler, this hotel has to be one of the best valued hotels I have ever stayed at. We decided to stay here based on reviews from tripadvisor.com and our expectations were exceeded.

The single room cabins are very large and clean. The site was fantastic with greenery all around. Included an appropriate sized pool and restaurant where they serve free breakfast. Initially, when we checked in, the clerk typically turns on the hot water for the cabin but he forgot - no big deal, when it was brought to their attention, they quickly fixed the problem.

The staff is knowledgable and attentive. Alex was quite helpful - he told us the owners there require many of the staff to go on the touristy excursions so that they would be able to give authentic recommendations. All of his recommendations were right on target. They would schedule the excursion, make all the phone calls, bill it to my room, and just ask us to meet in the lobby at a designated time. Quite convenient and just paid for all of our excursions + hotel stay at the end.

Breakfast was wonderful - you get a choice of the typical plate or pancakes (or both). Since we stayed for 4 nights, a little more variety would have been nice but I am guessing if I had asked, they would have probably made whatever I wanted for breakfast. Always a good start to our days to have that nice big breakfast.

Overall, an excellent hotel and a great value! I would (and have) recommended this hotel to all travelers!

  • Liked — Clean, spacious room with friendly, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

This place is amazing. The staff is so nice and friendly (helped if you spoke a little Spanish). The wait staff in the little restaurant was great. Food was top notch. We were a group of 8 25 year olds and we loved this place

The pool and surrounding area is beautiful. On some days we had the whole pool to ourselves. We saw the full volcano every day we were there - very lucky!

We went into town a few nights and had a great time. We did 2 excursions. Canopy Tour and Waterfall repelling. Both were great experiences!

Overall ... A++++ for this place, it is a tropical getaway!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

We loved this hotel. It is quaint and clean. We had a view of the volcano (when not shrouded in clouds) and saw lava from our front porch. All of the rooms were in separate bungalows - each has a porch with a table and chairs. The dining area is open to the outside and is lovely. Their food was great and the dining and kitchen staff were lovely in accomodating us and our 18 month old son. The hotel is small and is run by a family with some additional staff - they were so nice as to entertain our son while we took in a glass of wine in the evening. This family also runs the eco hot springs next door - where you can have a nice dinner and sit in one of three or four??? springs. They are more remote and not commercialized like the neighboring Tabacon hot springs. We cannot say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

I stayed at Hotel Silencio del Campo from September 22-25 with my wife and three year old. The hotel is very nice and the owners are very helpful. The cabins are very spacious and clean. The pool is awesome also. The gardens surrounding are beautifully upkept. Free breakfast every morning was incredibly delicious. Construction next door did not bother us because we were up already when they began and were out all day. Also, construction is starting on hotel premises of thermal hoy springs slated for December. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — beauty and cleanliness
  • Disliked — small ants
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.