We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View of Arenal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Montechiari to your Saves list
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 mts norte del Banco Nacional | Barrio Sinai. Entrada a mano izquierda., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 5194-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great View of Arenal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were here for 3 nights in April 22nd to 24th, the hotel was picturesque, set in lovely grounds, it was very tranquil and quite. The room was basic, clean, with a fridge, the bed was comfortable, the hotel was in a great location for us to do a hiking tour to Volcano Arenal and to visit the hot springs and close to the town where the shops and restaurants were. The negative points were that there wasn't a bar to sit and have a drink in the evening and we could have done with either complimentary water or tea & coffee as there was no shop within the hotel to purchase any provisions (the nearest shop was only about a 5 min walk) it would have been nice to be able to purchase a cold drink & snack whist lounging by the pool. The breakfast was ok except they cook the toast then keep it warm they could have done with a toaster. We also felt that the sun loungers needed a mattress of some kind as they were very uncomfortable just lying on the wooden slats. We would recommend you take a torch when walking in the evening to the town/restaurants although there were street lights they weren't that bright and the pavement was uneven. That said we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    50
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Will love each day you spend here in this cottage. We were 4 of us with two kids and they gave us 3 queen sized beds in a nice cottage which was v. comfortable at an economical price. Don't speak much English yet very friendly staff, helpful and happy people. They have a large heart and will keep serving you with fresh breakfast even if you go past their breakfast time. A cost effective and a cheerful place that will make you feel happy for sure :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The rooms are very simple but absolutely stunning. Everything is made from jungle hardwoods and I believe produced onsite. The pool was nice and they have a larger one being built. The whole property is landscaped with gorgeous flowers and fruit trees and you have an amazing view of Mount Arenal when the weather cooperates.
The included breakfast was delicious. It included fresh fruit, made to order eggs, pintos gallos, salchichos, pancakes and toast with juice and coffee.
The staff was amazing. In particular was Freddy. He did not speak very much English, but he showed us around the complex and helped me out a few times always with a smile. Overall I paid about what it costs for a super 8 and I felt as is I was staying at one of those several hundred a night hotels. I would stay here again any day.

Room Tip: I was in cabin 14 which was the furthest from the main lobby and my window looked directly at Arenal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I would not consider staying anywhere else in La Fortuna. The view of the volcano is perfect, I have always had a comfortable bed, the owners are charming, the gardens are beautiful, and I enjoy the Tico breakfasts. (Some writers grumbled about cold eggs. Just ask, and you will get hot eggs. If you come late to breakfast, the steam tables may be cold, but I had no trouble getting warm food.) The small swimming pool is good for a refreshing dip (at tropical water temperature.)

I really enjoyed being able to walk into town, an easy stroll, even for an eighty-plus year old like me.

I did read in the room in the evening with no problem, but I do like the suggestion of the reviewer who found a head lamp good for night time reading. It would be good to have wifi in the cabins, but the downside would be that I might spend more time on the internet than one should while on vacation.

I stayed here quite a few years ago when it was called El Sesteo and have watched it grow over the years. I am delighted to see owner Daisy's success.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The grounds of this hotel are stunning. We absolutely loved our stay here. The bungalows are adorable. The lush unique foliage was incredible. Whoever does the landscaping is very talented. There are great views of the volcano. Downtown La Fortuna is within walking distance so you have access to restaurants, the park and grocery stores. We even saw a SLOTH on the hotel grounds. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the open air dining room. Overall the staff was very accommodating and helpful in helping us making travel arrangements and scheduling activities. We would definitely stay here again. It was a special experience for our family.
Much love to the people of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapa, Estonia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel 2 days in March. I booked some months earlier. When arrived and checked in, nice reception girl showed us our cottage. Its number was 15. We realized, that it was like winning in Lotto: we got cottage with best view from window to the Arenal volcano, not to wall of next room..From the window we saw also bed of pineapples and some cows eating grass, cane and wild banana leaves. Room was clean, spacious, bed comfy, shower worked well. Breakfast was rice and beans, egg, juice and coffee like always in CR. Location of this property is good, very quiet. As we had rented car, was easy to drive anywhere. Good value for money. Recommend warmly. Go there and relax.

Room Tip: If you are lucky, you will get a cottage with view to the volcano from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in March and was very pleased with the choice.

La Fortuna has many expensive resort type hotels out of town, so if you want the flexibility of eating at different places and buying from supermarkets without incurring a lot of taxi fares this is an excellent option.

It is about 7-10 minutes walk from the square in the centre of La Fortuna and set in nice gardens with a small pool and a great view of the volcano (if it isn't shrouded in cloud) . The standalone wooden bungalows are very spacious and offer air-con, a TV and fridge plus a HUGE shower. They are very clean and comfortable and cannot be faulted.

The breakfast is buffet style, which for the price is good. They offer the Costa Rican staple which is rice and beans, scrambled egg, toast, pancakes and fruit. Juice, coffee and tea is also included.

Wi-fi is provided at reception which we used to search for tours. The very friendly people in reception were then more than happy to call up places to book for you. They even helped me haggle down the price of a tour as they knew it could be got for less elsewhere.

I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking to stay in La Fortuna.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenal Montechiari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Address: 400 mts norte del Banco Nacional | Barrio Sinai. Entrada a mano izquierda., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 5194-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Montechiari 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Montechiari Hotel is very close to the beautiful Town La Fortuna. The Arenal Volcano that is one of the most active volcano in the world. The hotel is surrounded of lush gardens and a spectacular view of the Volcano. Special for ecoturism, culture and adventure lovers. We are located 400 mts north from the Banco Nacional in La Fortuna, San Carlos, offers you access to main services as banks, souvenirs, chemistries, ATM´S, etc we do offer you the perfect combination of peace with nature and services close to us that would give you a pleasure vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arenal Montechiari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Montechiari Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Montechiari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.