We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, amazing host.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Montechiari to your Saves list
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 mts norte del Banco Nacional | Barrio Sinai. Entrada a mano izquierda., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 5194-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience, amazing host.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After 3 nights with my wife here, we can comfortably say that we deeply recommend this place.
Perfect location, 500 meters from downtown and all the restaurants.
Rooms are big. Shower is good.
Has aircon and refrigerator.
Breakfast is good and contains fresh fruits, eggs pancakes, toasts, rice and beans and an unlimited amount of coffee.
The pool is very nice and clean and has a very nice chilling area around it.

The host, Sergio, was amazing and sat with us for at least 2 hours in total during our stay to help us choose the attractions and plan our stay.
He even guided us for the rest of our trip in Costa Rica and he's very knowledgable and kind.

Summary: totally recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    51
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had 3 rooms. We really enjoyed our stay and liked this authentic family run inn very much. It wasn't perfect, but was quiet and charming with very clean rooms and grounds and excellent view of the volcano which is close by. We had sunny weather so that helped a lot :) The manager at the front desk was incredibly helpful organizing anything we needed or wanted to do. He was really great! Breakfast was basic but filling and delicious and many happy faces. Gallo Pinto, toast, eggs, pancakes and the standard costa rican fruit combo, papaya, watermelon and pineapple. they serve breakfast at 7, but if you're like me and get up early (well worth experiencing sunrise) you can swing by the kitchen for early coffee. We were there the week of Santa Semana so the place was bustling with both foreign and local tourists. The pool is small and calm, even with the hotel bustling, never more than a 2-3 families there at a time, seemed like. The small grounds and garden are very pretty.

Things we didn't like...My room didn't have anywhere to hang anything, no hooks or bar for towels or clothes. Another room we had did have a closet-type hanging bar in the bathroom. There were some shelves though. Even though it is very close to town, about a ten minute walk, we soon grew tired of the trip. If you have a car, it's of no issue. We ended up getting a taxi a few times for 2 dollars, but seemed a bit foolish. very safe in town, we walked back from dinner in the dark a couple times, no worries at all, just helps to have a flashlight. Hot water is supplied by solar, so best hot water is when the sun is shining on the heaters, late morning through afternoon and into evening on sunny days. early morning equaled cool water for my room. it was so hot out most of the time that it really didn't matter that much. But the thing i missed the most and it would be a simple improvement is any type of chair that has a cushion. All the chairs are hardwood and really nicely made, but after a couple days, could use some padding, especially the wooden chaises by the pool.

Room Tip: room 15 has a great unobstructed view of the volcano and being one of the 3 rooms furthest from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lovely grounds, cute bungalows, air-conditioned office area with wi-fi access (wi-fi access also available in the breakfast area), nice pool, great view of Arenal volcano (if you are lucky enough to see it – lucky us; we were!), wonderful bird-watching (they leave fruit out in the mornings, which attracts the birds) within easy walking-distance of the center of town, but it feels far from being in the center. Only a few small disappointments – the breakfast was very good and hearty – fruit, coffee, gallo pinto (seasoned beans and rice), eggs, toast, as well as pancakes (nice for our 5-year old), but their orange juice was “fake” – flavored and sugary – the only time at a hotel in Costa Rica that we experienced that; also, the hot water for the shower was spotty; and, finally, the staff was pleasant-enough, but not really friendly like we seemed to experience at all of the other places we stayed. Overall, though, this hotel is a good value. In La Fortuna, we especially appreciated the “Macrobiotica” store – a vitamin/health-food store of sorts where we could get some packaged foods (granola bars, cookies, and nuts) without the preservatives in most packaged foods. (The big “natural” brand in Costa Rica, btw, seems to be “Bio-land.”) We also liked La Cascada restaurant in town, an easy walk. We didn’t have a car and could easily walk to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during a 2 week tour of Costa Rica and fell in love with this place.

The views of the Arenal Volcano are fantastic and you are just far enough out of the small town for peace and quiet. it is only a few minutes walk to all the bars and restaurants etc and we felt perfectly safe walking around the area.
The lodges are very rustic / basic but are perfectly adequate for a few days stay. We are well travelled from 3 - 5 star accommodation all over the world and i am very fussy were i sleep but the rooms were clean and comfortable. We dont use tv's while we are away or room telephones etc as we dont feel the need. In any case you were seconds away from the reception area if you needed anything. The lighting is a little dim at night inside the cabins as there aren't any bedside lamps etc but we had head torches as we are avid readers so managed fine. The bathrooms are large and there is a fridge in the room.
The breakfasts are served opposite the garden under a little open sided cabana with choice of fruit, toast, eggs, omelette etc not large but again sufficient.

The highlight for us was the owner Daisy who was like a friend rather than an owner and while we were there took a personal interest in us and other guests showing us around her beautiful gardens and explaining about the different birds and iguanas etc. This may have been because we showed an avid interest in both the wildlife and her garden, but nothing seemed to much trouble for her. On one day our tour collection was late and she even went off on her own accord and rang the tour people up to chase them up without us asking her to. We are also aware that she helped other guests with similar problems and also seemed to us to go the extra mile.

The place has a nice pool and there are some cabins still being built to one side but this does not detract from the established areas.

Yes small improvements could be made but for us the pros certainly out way the cons and Daisy is clearly trying to establish a good and efficient holiday location from which to tour this beautiful country.

Best bits - the garden and birdlife, seeing large and i mean large iguanas hanging from the trees , views of the volcano and the relaxed and quiet atmosphere.


Would we go back again - yes without doubt.
Many thanks Daisy for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

+
Daisy was like a mom(Thank you)
Good location
Nice garden
A pool
Cute cabin
Hot water
Clean
Private cabin
A lots of birds
Wifi
Safe area
Ac
-
No safe in the room
No tv,fridge, coffe maker in the room
Terribel bed(feels like it was broken)
No wifi in the room
No new towels and sheets for the 4 days we was staying
Bad lightning in the room
Nobody but daisy spoke english

I would stay here again:-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loess Hills
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in one of the cabins situated along a paved path from the parking. The cabin itself was nicely furnished and included a fridge, AC, and TV. The bathroom had plenty of space. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and include a swimming pool. The entire compound sits within a 15-minute walk to La Fortuna’s central plaza. In short: comfortable accommodation, friendly hosts, and beautiful locale.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Very rustic charm from outside, but that is as far as it goes, I had two rooms for family staying two nights, the cabin was cute and clean, but we had no hot water for the one cabin for both days, so cold showers. The TV remote did not work, the lighting inside was like having a 40 watt bulb for the cabin and washroom. You get two towels, no hand towel or facecloth, unless you ask, then it's a big production to get anything. The one cabin had one towel for two people. The bathroom shower is large, but hot water is an issue, and the lighting is pathetic. The toilet paper you have to ask for, nothing seems to go smoothly nor does housekeeping check to ensure everything is in place or working. The breakfast are simple and the 2nd day no meat with breakfast, as they had no bacon, ham or sausage. I bought o the attention of Daisy, all I got was sorry. No compensation for inadequate rooms and stay. If you like sleeping in a glorified garden shed with rock hard mattress this place is for you.
The gardens and landscaping is very nice, with plenty of birds to view. The pool is very nice but limited seating.
I would not recommend this facility unless you like paying for a camping adventure with the rates they charge.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenal Montechiari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Address: 400 mts norte del Banco Nacional | Barrio Sinai. Entrada a mano izquierda., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 5194-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Montechiari 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Montechiari Hotel is very close to the beautiful Town La Fortuna. The Arenal Volcano that is one of the most active volcano in the world. The hotel is surrounded of lush gardens and a spectacular view of the Volcano. Special for ecoturism, culture and adventure lovers. We are located 400 mts north from the Banco Nacional in La Fortuna, San Carlos, offers you access to main services as banks, souvenirs, chemistries, ATM´S, etc we do offer you the perfect combination of peace with nature and services close to us that would give you a pleasure vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arenal Montechiari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Montechiari Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Montechiari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.