We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Montechiari to your Saves list
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 mts norte del Banco Nacional | Barrio Sinai. Entrada a mano izquierda., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 5194-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during a 2 week tour of Costa Rica and fell in love with this place.

The views of the Arenal Volcano are fantastic and you are just far enough out of the small town for peace and quiet. it is only a few minutes walk to all the bars and restaurants etc and we felt perfectly safe walking around the area.
The lodges are very rustic / basic but are perfectly adequate for a few days stay. We are well travelled from 3 - 5 star accommodation all over the world and i am very fussy were i sleep but the rooms were clean and comfortable. We dont use tv's while we are away or room telephones etc as we dont feel the need. In any case you were seconds away from the reception area if you needed anything. The lighting is a little dim at night inside the cabins as there aren't any bedside lamps etc but we had head torches as we are avid readers so managed fine. The bathrooms are large and there is a fridge in the room.
The breakfasts are served opposite the garden under a little open sided cabana with choice of fruit, toast, eggs, omelette etc not large but again sufficient.

The highlight for us was the owner Daisy who was like a friend rather than an owner and while we were there took a personal interest in us and other guests showing us around her beautiful gardens and explaining about the different birds and iguanas etc. This may have been because we showed an avid interest in both the wildlife and her garden, but nothing seemed to much trouble for her. On one day our tour collection was late and she even went off on her own accord and rang the tour people up to chase them up without us asking her to. We are also aware that she helped other guests with similar problems and also seemed to us to go the extra mile.

The place has a nice pool and there are some cabins still being built to one side but this does not detract from the established areas.

Yes small improvements could be made but for us the pros certainly out way the cons and Daisy is clearly trying to establish a good and efficient holiday location from which to tour this beautiful country.

Best bits - the garden and birdlife, seeing large and i mean large iguanas hanging from the trees , views of the volcano and the relaxed and quiet atmosphere.


Would we go back again - yes without doubt.
Many thanks Daisy for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    47
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

+
Daisy was like a mom(Thank you)
Good location
Nice garden
A pool
Cute cabin
Hot water
Clean
Private cabin
A lots of birds
Wifi
Safe area
Ac
-
No safe in the room
No tv,fridge, coffe maker in the room
Terribel bed(feels like it was broken)
No wifi in the room
No new towels and sheets for the 4 days we was staying
Bad lightning in the room
Nobody but daisy spoke english

I would stay here again:-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loess Hills
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in one of the cabins situated along a paved path from the parking. The cabin itself was nicely furnished and included a fridge, AC, and TV. The bathroom had plenty of space. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and include a swimming pool. The entire compound sits within a 15-minute walk to La Fortuna’s central plaza. In short: comfortable accommodation, friendly hosts, and beautiful locale.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Very rustic charm from outside, but that is as far as it goes, I had two rooms for family staying two nights, the cabin was cute and clean, but we had no hot water for the one cabin for both days, so cold showers. The TV remote did not work, the lighting inside was like having a 40 watt bulb for the cabin and washroom. You get two towels, no hand towel or facecloth, unless you ask, then it's a big production to get anything. The one cabin had one towel for two people. The bathroom shower is large, but hot water is an issue, and the lighting is pathetic. The toilet paper you have to ask for, nothing seems to go smoothly nor does housekeeping check to ensure everything is in place or working. The breakfast are simple and the 2nd day no meat with breakfast, as they had no bacon, ham or sausage. I bought o the attention of Daisy, all I got was sorry. No compensation for inadequate rooms and stay. If you like sleeping in a glorified garden shed with rock hard mattress this place is for you.
The gardens and landscaping is very nice, with plenty of birds to view. The pool is very nice but limited seating.
I would not recommend this facility unless you like paying for a camping adventure with the rates they charge.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our travel agent booked us here for 3 nights this past Christmas Holiday. Upon arrival we were aware that it was a very basic, minimal place, however we had no idea how uncomfortable and primitive it was. Lighting in the rooms is horrible, towels and sheets, very thin and old. Bed, sloped and poor mattress. No furniture except for a portable refrigerator. We came back from a day trip and there was No running water at all. The air-conditioner in our room, turned it self off every 20 minutes. When we asked for another room, they were of no help. The breakfast was poor and no wi-fi, except for the office, which was closed early. In addition there are no safes in the room to lock your valuables. Our stay was so bad we stayed only one night and moved to another location in town which for another $100 was night and day difference, complete with natural hot springs.
Surprised other ratings were so high, the local authenticity did not make up for it lacking the basics. Can not recommend.

Room Tip: why do you have to ask for a room with hot water, shouldn't all rooms have hot water?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Good value for the money paid. Gardens and view are amazing.
Downside: no hot water in some rooms. I was told the water heater works using solar panels, which don't work well during cloudy days. Make sure your room has 24-hr hot water.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with hot water 24 hrs. Some rooms don't always have hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Owner Daisy and her family run the property management, very friendly people and extremely helpful in advising and guiding us all thru our stay. The property has a very good view of the Volcano and convenient to town. The garden and the pool are maintained very well and reflect the tropical feel of Costa Rica and Arenal area very well. The room was very basic, no telephone or internet in the room, basic amenities and bathroom accessories. Could hear the rain, water, bugs and outside noise all night. Wireless was available in the office area only. Access to the property was thru an unpaved road. Breakfast was served hot eggs, pancakes, fruit slices and beans/rice with juice and coffee. Towels smelled like toasted bread and stale.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenal Montechiari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Address: 400 mts norte del Banco Nacional | Barrio Sinai. Entrada a mano izquierda., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 5194-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Montechiari 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Montechiari Hotel is very close to the beautiful Town La Fortuna. The Arenal Volcano that is one of the most active volcano in the world. The hotel is surrounded of lush gardens and a spectacular view of the Volcano. Special for ecoturism, culture and adventure lovers. We are located 400 mts north from the Banco Nacional in La Fortuna, San Carlos, offers you access to main services as banks, souvenirs, chemistries, ATM´S, etc we do offer you the perfect combination of peace with nature and services close to us that would give you a pleasure vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arenal Montechiari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Montechiari Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Montechiari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.