We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you stay in La Fortuna this is the place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Real to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Real
Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 8055, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you stay in La Fortuna this is the place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you are on a budget this is a great place. Our room was spacious and had views of Volcan Arenal. There is a clean, decent pool and the grounds are well manicured. Lots of birds and iguanas. The town is a very short walk but feels miles away. Yes you have to walk a couple of blocks for breakfast but it was not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    54
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
73
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We arrived pretty late from an all day travel, but were greeted with a welcome drink and reception staff happy to answer our multitude of questions, which included him phoning a hot springs to check the price and a tour company to reconfirm our pick up time. We had booked none of these tours through the hotel. We also put some clothes in for washing that evening, and received them the next day. But check the price, because the price the guy told us at reception was higher than the price advertised in the room, so it can be confusing. Apparently they forgot to change the ads in the rooms...

Location is also very good, just one block back from the main street and close to a number of Sodas, shops and supermaket. This means it is nice and quiet at night.

Windows are screened which means you can leave the window open without fear of bugs, which is useful if like us you are in a non-air con room.

Matress was a bit saggy, and double bed a bit small. There was also a single bed in our room which we used for suitcase storage.

The curtains let in quite a bit of light, so these could be improved. We saw one cockroach, but we also saw these at one other hotel on our trip.

As with many hotels in Costa Rica/Panama, the room did not have many places to hang wet clothes which we find odd considering the kinds of activities people do here.

The gardener showed us the sloth and some other animals, he was very nice. We did not use the pool but looked inviting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Very good and friendly service, nice and clean rooms with good (hot) showers. Two queen size beds that fitted two adults and two kids without problems.
The garden is really great, lots of birds, big iguanas, flowers and nice trees alongside the small river.
The pool, although small, is a nice hangout for the kids.
Two minutes walk to the central plaza in town.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

It's on a great location. The service was awesome, the room was big, clean and nice decorated. Hotel staff is very courteous and helpful.
You can see all kinds of animals and birds on the back yard including sloths. If I go to la fortuna again, I will definitely stay there. Recommended for Costa Ricans and foreign tourists.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hotel Monte Real is beautiful! It's set off the road. Once you enter, there's beautiful, lush landscaping and multiple varieties of plants and trees, all with signs so you can identify what's what. There's a beautiful pool area (very clean and great temperature). The river runs behind the property so you can sit and enjoy nature, a picnic perhaps? The rooms are gorgeous and clean. Comfortable beds, great shower, balcony overlooking the landscape. Danny helped us in the reception and answered all of our questions. Breakfast is included at a restaurant down the road. It's nice to have that covered so you can just take care of the rest of your day. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights in March. It was perfect. Very clean, and spacious rooms with refrigerator, a/c and 2 private balconies. Beautiful gardens, perfectly landscaped with iguanas, birds, a brook, and pool. Good breakfast just 1 minute from hotel. Everything we needed was a very short walk. Even though you were close to town the hotel was very quiet and private. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here as part of G Adventures "Costa Rica Quest" tour. Hotel is right in the town, very clean, and nicely-decorated. Beautiful grounds, and there was a sloth living in one of the trees! No complaints, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 8055, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.