We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Real to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Real
Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 8055, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A friendly family owned hotel. Close enough to downtown but still quite. Nice hot showers, clean rooms and a clean pool. Lime and coconut trees surround the area. Breakfast is included at soda down the street. One morning we had to leave early and the soda was nice enough to prepare our meal to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    54
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
73
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a good option in La Fortuna. The hotels on the main strip are pretty dingy for the most part and really over priced so we were happy to come across this little place. Its tucked away from the main street, is very well maintained and is a great spot for kids. They have a really nice little pool, a beautiful setting next to a river and a beautiful little balcony to relax on at night. There are two things about this place though that really made it stand out from the rest. 1. Daniel,the owners son. He went over and beyond to help people get the most out of their trip. 2. The complimentary breakfasts. They offered free breakfast a restaurant down the street (owned by their extended family). The breakfast was ready within 5 minutes, and offered not only a choice of food but great choices including ham, bacon, eggs, friut, cheese etc....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at the Monte Real in late May. This was a nice find on a quiet street an easy stroll from downtown La Fortuna. My room was on the ground floor so I was glad to have AC. The room was clean and comfortable. Had a big bathroom, plenty of places to hang clothes as I needed to wash out a few things. I didn't try the pool but it looked good. The grounds were nicely landscaped, giving the complex a feeling of quiet serenity. Overall, this place is an excellent value. La Fortuna is a small town with a lot of tourists passing through, but still manages to be interesting and genuine. The restaurant where you got breakfast was down the street. They had delicious fruit smoothies. The blackberry was fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We enjoyed the comfortable room in a beautifully maintained garden setting, complete with a resident (two or three) toed sloth. A very welcoming, quiet place but handy to the interesting town. Breakfast was excellent a short walk down the street to the restaurant.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Nicely designed modern rooms with swimming pool and gardens and river and great view of the volcano on a clear day. Run by a very nice and helpful Costa Rican family and the gardener helped us spot wildlife in the trees. You get a ticket to have breakfast in a lovely soda a few meters left of the hotel.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Breakfast served in soda El Rio and we had dinner in Soda Visquez just around the corner served by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived in Fortuna and pulled in here because it looked so clean and quiet, and there was parking for our car. We couldn't have been happier. It is run by a very charming family andthey speak English. Everything about the room was perfect, a view of the volcanoe, a strong, hot shower, comfortable beds, a security safe in the room,even a guide for the TV channels was provided so we didn't have to surf thru dozens to find what we wanted. That was a first for anywhere we've been! Most importantly the A/C was new and quiet and worked great!
They provide vouchers for a full breakfast at the small cafe down the street, which was also excellent. There is a small pool and beautifully landscaped grounds with a creek running right behind the property. We will stop there again when we pass thru La Fortuna. Also liked the little town a lot, and is convenient for touring the area.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have A/C, worth the extra cost if it's hot. downstairs they have ceiling fans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel was very clean and neat, asking if you wanted a view of Volcan Arenal at a higher price. Either way you can receive a ticket for free breakfast just up the street. Centrally located and quiet. I stayed in the older rooms being budget conscious, but they were more than adequate for my needs with ceiling fan. The pool and grounds were beautiful.

Room Tip: You can choose from a room in the newer buildings with a view of the volcano or in the older few roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 8055, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.