We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monte Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 8055, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our hotel room had an excellent view of the Arenal Volcano. Since it's light so early in the morning, we were up and noticed an excellent view of the volcano. But back to the hotel...this hotel was great. Our Superior room had a balcony, air conditioning, a refrigerator, TV with English channels, 2 beds and nicely done bathroom. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and the value was great as well. In the reception area, there are 2 computers for public use so that was nice. The hotel is located one street over from the main street of La Fortuna. Breakfast was included and was at a soda just up the street. Not more than a 3 minute walk. The food was great there too. This hotel was just the perfect place for us to stay. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor facing the volcano offer spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    49
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
68
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Monte Real and loved it. The room itself had a nice view of the surrounding area (even from the ground floor), was clean, and was very well maintained. The owners were extremely helpful on helping guide us toward the best activities in the area. They even helped to direct us around a roadblock that would have held us up on a particular drive. Above and beyond what was expected! Great place, would highly recommend!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights towards the end of May 2012. I wanted to stay outside of town, he wanted to be in town and while this was not originally my first choice, it turned out great. It's only a couple blocks off the main streets in town so things are very walkable (we didn't have a car, but there is a parking lot). We stayed in a room towards the back of the property, next to the stream so all I heard at night was the a/c and the stream that runs along the backside of the property. We paid $77/night for a room with a/c (yes, we used it), tv (didn't use it), and two double beds. This includes breakfast which you walk about a block down the street to a local soda to eat (three breakfast options). Bathroom was nice and big with a huge shower and everything was clean. For an 'in town' property the grounds were really pretty and well-maintained and with the help of a very friendly groundskeeper we saw a sloth, iguanas and all kinds of birds without even leaving the property. The pool is smallish but we had it to ourselves both nights and it was great after hiking. Front desk staff were all helpful with varying levels of English but we speak pretty bad Spanish so between the two all was ok. Without a car we asked about getting to the Natl Park at Arenal and the hotel has a twice-daily shuttle (am and pm) you can book that was cheaper than a taxi for us - $11 and they drop you off at the front gates and come pick you up three hours later. Note - that you still have to pay the entrance fee into the park so a tour with transportation and park fees included might be cheaper we just didn't really look into tours for the short time we had. (Separate review on the Natl Park) The front desk did recommend the Cerro Chatto hike as well which is not something I would jump into lightly again. They were good for restaurant recommendations and sent us to El Jardin which is right across the street from Don Rufino's which is in all the guidebooks. El Jardin had great food and was much cheaper than Don Rufino's.

Room Tip: I think the 2nd floor rooms may have better views. I liked being on the ground floor at the very bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We first had our hearts set on staying an the La Fortuna Hotel, but it was full. We found a travel agent in Playa Flamingo who searched for a place for us- and we were amazingly lucky that she found this place. What a find! Perfect- clean, quiet, well located, near the main areas of town but just far away to be quiet. We had a room with a view of part of the volcano and grounds of this lovely place. We used the pool, took numerous walks just on the premises as it was so lovely.The grounds keeper and son helped to see wildlife we would have missed otherwise, just on their property!- a sloth!!!!, giant iguana up in the trees, # birds. Outstanding.
I /we would have just loved to stay longer. We lucked out with the weather and had glorious views all around. The staff were helpful, with their english and our bits of spanish it went well.
Would go again and love to stay longer. We had top floor room in second building which I think might be better overall. We had to walk up the street for a most fabulous breakfast that was included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This hotel was fantastic - immaculate, spacious room, beautiful gardens, friendly owners, and a great location. The hotel has a secure parking lot and is close to restaurants and supermarket.
We stayed in room #9, had 2 double beds, good shower, fridge, and a great view of the volcano from the balcony. Very comfortable and clean room.
We were given breakfast vouchers for a soda about 2 blocks down the street - the breakfast was fantastic - your choice from 3 different options. The staff at the soda were great. The 'typical' breakfast was very filling and delicious - a great start to a day of hiking.

We did not take any tours while there as we had our own vehicle. We spent an afternoon hiking from the hotel to the Catarata La Fortuna - just over a 1 hour walk to get there. Be prepared to walk uphill for this time and have good shoes & plenty of water.

Overall, this hotel was awesome and we would highly recommend it to everyone.
La Fortuna is a great place to visit - enjoyed every bit of it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odijk
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Beds where ok. Airco was very noisy. We paid voor a superior room, but there was no view at all. I doubt any of the superior rooms have a view of the volcano. The swimming pool is very shallow. You can hear noise from the street / music from a nearby location. The place is clean, but not worth the money they charge for the room. Breakfast is in another location in town and you just get a coupon for that.

In short, wouldn't recommend staying here. If you got a car, take one of the other places outside Fortuna for a nicer view. If your stuck to public transport, pick another place in La Fortuna to get more out of your buck.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at The Hotel Monte Real on the 2nd leg of our Costa Rica adventure. We stayed in a Junior Suite as it is called and were pleasantly surprised. The owner is very friendly and helpful to advising on local destinations. The room was spacious, had all the amenities advertised and was super clean. We also very much enjoyed the included breakfast at the Soda (family restaurant) 1 block away all the while having fantastic views of the Arenal volcano.
Also the flora, birds and river behind the hotel was an added bonus it was nice to listen to and stroll around in the morning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15. It had a nice balcony, was on 2nd floor, quiet and private.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 8055, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.