We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Green

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Green to your Saves list
Hotel Arenal Green
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Arenal Green was our first stop in Costa Rica and it was wonderful!

The staff was very helpful and accommodating. They helped us book tours, gave us recommendations for places to eat and called taxis for us. Our zip-lining tour was five minutes from the hotel and Baldi Hot Springs was a short cab ride away.

The room we stayed in was great! Very clean with air-conditioning and a mini refrigerator. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom and a TV in the room.

We decided to stay here instead of staying at one of the resorts and we are glad we did. It was a great start to our Costa Rica trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    96
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
79
178
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Hotel Arenal Green is a lovely hotel in a beautiful place. While not cheap, it is more reasonable than other places nearby. You can take a taxi or walk to town. The rooms are comfortable and have A/C. They serve basic, tasty Tico breakfasts of rice, beans, etc. The coffee drinkers in our crowd especially enjoyed their morning cup here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Cosy private cabins, well equipped with A/C, flat screen cable tv, wi-fi, refrigerator and a nice deck looking over the lush vegetation in the gardens. Very friendly staff and excellent service at this family-run hotel, you can really feel how hard they try to make your stay special. Choice of breakfasts, smoothies and fresh juices also available. Also a great location, a short drive from La Fortuna and near the waterfall and trail to Cerro Chato. A highlight of our stay was a massage at their own spa set in the rain forest overlooking the river - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

First off, this hotel is beautiful and the staff is exemplary. We spent three nights here as the first leg of a two week stay in Costa Rica and we are very pleased we did. Our room was surrounded by lush rainforest trees and came with a volcano view. Melvin is very attentive and accommodating. He made us feel like family and we didn't want to say good bye. Ask for a hammock if your room does not already have one and don't forget to tip!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed in Arenal Green with a friend inApril. The cabins are cosy and clean - we shared our bathroom with a lot of ants but it was to be expected! Great value for money and the service is excellent. It's family run and the father and son were very welcoming and helpful. They are also able to arrange any tours that you decide to do. We had a car, but it is within walking distance into La Fortuna, though I would imagine it would be a good 20minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were traveling with husband, wife and two older children so we needed 3 beds. Found a nice room at Arenal Green (on line) and booked the large room with 3 beds - paid in advance. When we got to Arenal Green we were placed in a very small room with 2 double beds. So we went back to the desk and explained that we had booked the large room with 3 beds and a tiny room with 2 small beds would not work for us. After a few more minutes of discussion they put us in the room we had booked. That was fine until the second day when we were told we had to move because they had booked our room and the others were coming that day. More discussions and finally they agreed to move us into 2 rooms but we had to hurry because the new guests would be here soon. Packed everything up and moved to 2 new small rooms. Later that day we met the nice people in our old room and they told us they had booked the big room about the same time as we did ( 2 months before the visit) and had arrived 1 day ago and were put into a small room with 2 tiny beds - 4 adults. They reported "very cramped and we had to leave the luggage outside on the deck - just no room for it inside".
When we got home I called 'Booking.com' and explained the situation. They contacted Arenal Green and were told that the 'bug man' had come early that month and the room was being sprayed for bugs and that is why we had to change rooms. So not true. Never saw a 'bug guy' and as soon as we left the big room the maids were outside the door ready to cleaned it. Then the 4 adults moved from their tiny room. The big room was never empty and I believe that they do this on a regular basis. They have 1 big room and several tiny rooms. So they show the big room on-line and hope when you arrive - that you will take a small room for the same price. If there are only two adults - No Problem but the 'old bait and switch' is alive and well at Arenal Green. Otherwise a nice little place. We won't use Booking.com again.

Room Tip: Don't count on getting the large room even if you book it in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed here on a family trip to Costa Rica in 2012- very charming, clean, and the grounds are kept immaculate! Each cabin has its own front porch. The hotel serves breakfast in the morning. Location is good to get to other sites around Arenal - in particular the waterfall hike in the park up the road. The street is very quiet and secluded, we enjoyed walking outside around the property. I would recommend it to anyone traveling in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
4.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#13 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
4.0 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Green

Address: 1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Green 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arenal Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Green Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.