We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arenal Hotel with an awesome view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Green

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arenal Green to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arenal Green
1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Arenal Hotel with an awesome view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel was set in a wonderful area.Very close to the National Park and hanging bridges area. Very picturesqu. It sits on top of a mountain overlooking the Arenal Volcano. We were lucky enought to stay in one of the hilltop casitas. we had a great sitting area totally enclosed in glass that looked straight at the volcano. Awesome views. You are greeted every evening around 4:30 by the resident Macaw; Stephania! What a beauty! Really the only negative to this place was the lack of water pressure....but the water was hot which was a plus! Don't let the one lane brick road up the mountain intimidate you but be prepared and get there before dark!!! There is no lighting and it is a straight up curvy, onelaned switchback road.

Room Tip: Ask for the hilltop casitas, we stayed in 102 and it was great. Did hear from others that the honey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    81
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
153
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and our copy of the Lonely Planet we were excited to stay here. It definitely fell short of our expectations compared to what we had read. The cabinas were pretty basic, not very clean, musty smelling, not well maintained and lacked character. It was also really quite noisy and you could hear neighbours very clearly on both sides. Only a few of the cabinas would actually offer a view of the volcano (when it's not clouded over). When we were there, the restaurant was actually closed down and only served breakfast. The place had somewhat of a deserted feel, and is more than a 20 minute walk outside of town. On the positive, it is a 40 or so minute walk to the Catarata Waterfalls, and there are some neat galleries close by. Other than that there is not too much else close by (no restaurants, or stores etc), so if you don't have a car, then you're walking into town any time you need anything. All-in-all it was our least favourite place that we stayed in Costa Rica (out of 6 different places, including basic hostels). The hot water was certainly nice though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I loved that each room was its own wooden cabin. It had everything you needed: porch, fridge, sink, big table to put your things, spacious shower (hot water), good bed, and A/C (which we didn't even need). I was surprised to see a tv and dvd player too - def. no time for that!
The grounds are nice as well, like staying in a garden. Price was great for what you got. Close enough to walk to the town and to the waterfall. Although the walk to the waterfall is about 2.5km and mostly uphill! It took us about an hour and we were regretting not taking a cab instead! But the waterfall is 100% worth it - beautiful!!
My only con was that there was a rooster nearby that started crowing around 5am and would continously crow for hours!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I liked the location because it was close enough to walk to the waterfall/volcano entrance and close to the town center. The walk to the town was about 20 min or a short inexpensive cab ride. The rooms are nice and kept clean. It also had probably the best shower we had in Costa Rica. Good pressure, constant temperature and very big. The breakfast was also very good, maybe the best we had in Costa Rica as well. The staff was great and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Arenal Green. The best thing about this place is the friendly staff. The rooms are rustic, but meet pretty much all your needs - and they were very clean! I didn't see much in the previous reviews about the bathroom, so I will fill in the gap here. They are actually quite large for a tiny cabin - again very clean. The shower is huge and hot water was never an issue. Lighting wasn't great however. There were a few burnt out lights that were not fixed during our stay, but not a big deal really. The beds were OK, but we've slept better elsewhere. We had a car, so didn't have any issue being too far from town. If you don't have a car, it might require some $$ for taxis though. The price is great overall.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Springs, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at Arenal Green. They have small but roomy cabins with view of the volcano (when not covered by clouds). First let me say this Monica is a gem! She runs the front desk and is extremely helpful! She helped us greatly with tours and transportation and lots of general questions. The hotel is about 25 minute walk to La Fortuna town and about 30-35 minute walk mainly uphill to the La Fortuna waterfall.

We stayed in Cabin eight which is very nice for couples. There are basic necessities including a sink and fridge. The shower is spacious and there is ample air conditioning. The bed however is a little hard but thats ok. Every morning at least one rooster crows about 5-5:30 which lets you know its time to wake up. I found it kind of amusing since I own chickens myself but they aren't quite so ambitious.

The grounds are manicured and there are lots of hummingbirds in the area around a couple bushes mostly. We also were delighted to find a pineapple plant growing next to our cabin. Also there is a creek/stream with a path to the back of the property.

Breakfast is fantastic with two choices of traditional or american (with bacon...yum), served every morning. Oh yeah, WI-FI signal was basically non-existent in our Cabin, but once in the lobby area was great of course. All in all a nice place for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: For couples cabin 8 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Better late than never... My partner and I stayed here mid 2012 in a cabin set towards the back of the property. Accommodation was comfortable, clean and cool. Bar fridge, sink, large bathroom, and a new TV (barely used as were out and about often). Our hosts were generous with their time and information. An extremely generous lift into town here and there, while certainly never expected, was very much appreciated. However, we both enjoyed the walk several times in and out of the town centre (for some it may be a bit far and a bit sticky - but we enjoyed the scenery!). Tours/activities booked through the hotel were great - headed to the animal sanctuary and of course the hot springs. Overall I just wish our stay in Arenal had been longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Arenal Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Green

Address: 1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Arenal Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Green Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.