We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins in farmland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Green

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arenal Green to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arenal Green
1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Atenas, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cabins in farmland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed for the weekend and enjoyed the little time we were there. Cabins are about a 25 minute walk from La Fortuna, situated in the surrounding farmland. The breakfast is included and very good. Pretty river behind the grounds with a small waterfall maybe 5 feet. Lots of interesting bug sounds and a great view of the stars at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    81
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
153
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a great 2-night stay in November at Arenal Green! Wish we could have stayed longer. Very secluded and quiet (we did hear the rooster, but it didn't bother us). The cabin was basic, but very clean and cozy. The woodwork in the cabin was beautiful, and we spent a lot of time just lounging in the hammock on our porch, looking at the volcano during the day, and the stars at night.

Breakfast was tasty, basic typical food, with good coffee and juice. The location of the hotel was ideal for going to Cerro Chato (which is much harder to hike than you think it is!! And we are young and workout/hike regularly) and La Fortuna. We spent an evening at Paradise Hot Springs, which we also recommend, particularly during the low season.

Overall, our experience at Arenal Green was VERY positive, and we will absolutely be going back. Monica, at the front desk, was so friendly and helpful, suggesting several soda's in La Fortuna.

The ONE and only negative thing I could say (and it was only a minor negative point) was that one night we went to the front desk to try to have the hotel book our tickets to the hot springs. There was a younger boy (teenage?) working there, and he was not exactly friendly. He ended up ignoring us while he played on the computer, then ignored us again when our Spanish skills were not so on-par (he spoke no English). It was fine, and we booked the hot springs ourselves for the same price, but still.

That little incident was so minor that it didn't at all take away from our amazing experience at this hotel, and we are very much looking forward to a longer stay there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The highlight of Arenal Green was the staff. We rented a cell phone for our vacation which didn't get service at the hotel, so the staff let us use their phone and also helped us call around to book the different activities we did in Arenal. Breakfast (pretty large compared with some of the other hotel breakfasts) is included with the hotel rate, and the rooms are clean and decent for a budget traveler. The one drawback was that a [very loud] nearby rooster started at 3:30 AM and continued through the early morning, just thought I would note that for light sleepers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel Arenal Green is exactly as promised - not too fancy, clean, quiet and peaceful. I recently stayed there for two nights. It was very affordable. The breakfast was quite tasty. The staff was very friendly. The location was outside of La Fortuna, but very close to the downtown. You definitely need a car to stay there. The restaurant was only operational for breakfast, but the staff pointed us in the direction for a great meal..

High points - Hot water, rustic but cute rooms, good view, nice front patio, great staff
Down sides - Definitely need a car, no nearby restaurants

Overall, I really enjoyed the place. Recommendation - Don't buy the tours directly from the hotel. They are extra.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A friend and I spent three nights in this hotel. We stayed in a cute little wood cabin that was clean, comfortable and next to a beautiful garden. The staff, especially Monica, was extremely kind and helpful in spite of our numerous questions and requests. Breakfast was tasty and filling. The neighborhood rooster takes his job very seriously and begins crowing around 2:30am, or so. I would recommend ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed two nights in cabin #5, and had a great experience. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the included breakfasts are tasty. Our cabin was basic, clean, and comfortable, with a mini-fridge, coffeemaker, a/c, and flatscreen with cable (which we didn't use). The cabins are nestled in greenery along a short garden path and are fairly close together, so you get a little noise bleed, but not much. There's plenty of parking and the road leads to Catarata La Fortuna, which is a nice destination for days when Arenal is shrouded in clouds. You can walk into town, but it takes a good 20-30 minutes. It's a great location for being outside of town but not in a far-flung lodge. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the furthest cabin at Arenal Green for four nights. The cabins may look basic in their design, but they contain a large TV with cable, a fridge, an A/C and a ceiling fan. The cabin was clean and was kept clean during the whole stay. The front desk was very helpful and nice. The breakfast was OK. They tried to accommodate our eating preferences and even packed our food when we had to leave.
Overall a great stay and a great value for money considering the alternatives.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Arenal Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Green

Address: 1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Arenal Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Green Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.