We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Green

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arenal Green to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arenal Green
1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel Arenal Green is exactly as promised - not too fancy, clean, quiet and peaceful. I recently stayed there for two nights. It was very affordable. The breakfast was quite tasty. The staff was very friendly. The location was outside of La Fortuna, but very close to the downtown. You definitely need a car to stay there. The restaurant was only operational for breakfast, but the staff pointed us in the direction for a great meal..

High points - Hot water, rustic but cute rooms, good view, nice front patio, great staff
Down sides - Definitely need a car, no nearby restaurants

Overall, I really enjoyed the place. Recommendation - Don't buy the tours directly from the hotel. They are extra.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    82
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
152
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A friend and I spent three nights in this hotel. We stayed in a cute little wood cabin that was clean, comfortable and next to a beautiful garden. The staff, especially Monica, was extremely kind and helpful in spite of our numerous questions and requests. Breakfast was tasty and filling. The neighborhood rooster takes his job very seriously and begins crowing around 2:30am, or so. I would recommend ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed two nights in cabin #5, and had a great experience. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the included breakfasts are tasty. Our cabin was basic, clean, and comfortable, with a mini-fridge, coffeemaker, a/c, and flatscreen with cable (which we didn't use). The cabins are nestled in greenery along a short garden path and are fairly close together, so you get a little noise bleed, but not much. There's plenty of parking and the road leads to Catarata La Fortuna, which is a nice destination for days when Arenal is shrouded in clouds. You can walk into town, but it takes a good 20-30 minutes. It's a great location for being outside of town but not in a far-flung lodge. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the furthest cabin at Arenal Green for four nights. The cabins may look basic in their design, but they contain a large TV with cable, a fridge, an A/C and a ceiling fan. The cabin was clean and was kept clean during the whole stay. The front desk was very helpful and nice. The breakfast was OK. They tried to accommodate our eating preferences and even packed our food when we had to leave.
Overall a great stay and a great value for money considering the alternatives.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a well maintained, family run hotel with comfortable cabins and a really good breakfast. We had Cabins 5 and 7, and #7 included a huge deck, outdoor kitchen, and hammocks. Also three beds, for larger families. Really nice! No pools, but we visited El Salto which is a local watering hole within walking distance, and the town is also very close by, for restaurants, souveniers, etc. We also visits The Springs Resort for two days which has beautiful grounds and warm spring-fed pools to enjoy, swim-up bars, etc. Arenal Green was a great home base for the start of our Costa Rica adventure. Thanks, Monica and Hermon!

Room Tip: Cabin #7 has the extra bed and a huge outdoor patio with kitchen, hammocks, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in Cabin 8, Spacious and cozy cabin has excellent A/C, fan and a brand new Samsung flat TV, I think it was 42 inch. The family who owns the place lives on the grounds they really do know what service is about. The food is pretty good there too. You could walk to town but it would be a little long, thus car or taxi is needed, I don't know what the taxi fare is but it can't be too bad at all. Of course in town also had some good restaurant and even Sushi.

Room Tip: Cabins 7 and 8 are across from the rest of the cabins via a foot bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My friends and I just spent four days at Arenal Green and we left filled with emotion. We have were treated as well as family and it was hard to say goodbye. Aside from it being a little off the beaten path, Hermon, Monica, and the natural atmosphere made it an extremely worth while experience. I wouldn't second guess returning to them when I am back in Costa Rica. Everything from their hospitality (which was topped when they prepared little goodie-bags for an hour before breakfast was to be served because our van service was changed to pick us up earlier than expected) to their friendliness and concern for our trip.

Some finer points:
- Hermon and his daughter Monica both spoke fine English!
- The food and drink prepared on site we're amazing. Some of the best we had while in La Fortuna!
- The cabins are roomy and personal.
- The grounds are beautiful and the stream in the back is extremely secluded and beautiful.
- Walk to town is about a half hour (if you feel adventurous), otherwise a taxi is like 2,500 Collones ($5)
- Everyone always had a smile on their faces!
- And lastly, the tico food prepared on site was just phenomenal!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Arenal Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Green

Address: 1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Arenal Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Green Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.