We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Green

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Green to your Saves list
Hotel Arenal Green
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Richmond, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfy in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a well maintained, family run hotel with comfortable cabins and a really good breakfast. We had Cabins 5 and 7, and #7 included a huge deck, outdoor kitchen, and hammocks. Also three beds, for larger families. Really nice! No pools, but we visited El Salto which is a local watering hole within walking distance, and the town is also very close by, for restaurants, souveniers, etc. We also visits The Springs Resort for two days which has beautiful grounds and warm spring-fed pools to enjoy, swim-up bars, etc. Arenal Green was a great home base for the start of our Costa Rica adventure. Thanks, Monica and Hermon!

Room Tip: Cabin #7 has the extra bed and a huge outdoor patio with kitchen, hammocks, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    85
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
72
162
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in Cabin 8, Spacious and cozy cabin has excellent A/C, fan and a brand new Samsung flat TV, I think it was 42 inch. The family who owns the place lives on the grounds they really do know what service is about. The food is pretty good there too. You could walk to town but it would be a little long, thus car or taxi is needed, I don't know what the taxi fare is but it can't be too bad at all. Of course in town also had some good restaurant and even Sushi.

Room Tip: Cabins 7 and 8 are across from the rest of the cabins via a foot bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My friends and I just spent four days at Arenal Green and we left filled with emotion. We have were treated as well as family and it was hard to say goodbye. Aside from it being a little off the beaten path, Hermon, Monica, and the natural atmosphere made it an extremely worth while experience. I wouldn't second guess returning to them when I am back in Costa Rica. Everything from their hospitality (which was topped when they prepared little goodie-bags for an hour before breakfast was to be served because our van service was changed to pick us up earlier than expected) to their friendliness and concern for our trip.

Some finer points:
- Hermon and his daughter Monica both spoke fine English!
- The food and drink prepared on site we're amazing. Some of the best we had while in La Fortuna!
- The cabins are roomy and personal.
- The grounds are beautiful and the stream in the back is extremely secluded and beautiful.
- Walk to town is about a half hour (if you feel adventurous), otherwise a taxi is like 2,500 Collones ($5)
- Everyone always had a smile on their faces!
- And lastly, the tico food prepared on site was just phenomenal!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and 4 yo daughter mid May and had a wonderful time. Monica, owner's daughter, was very accommodating and our daughter loved playing with her son. Very nice views, immaculate, very good location, and good food. We had reserved Rm number 8 as suggested here, but she offered Villa #7 instead as it was a lot larger and more sleeping options. There is a patio area complete with kitchenette, bathroom, and table, and best of all, two hammocks. We were fascinated by the sounds of the animals and birds and ended up hanging out in the hammocks at 3am! When else are we going to be awakened by the sounds of a howler monkey? Carpe Diem.
We used Walter, their driver for all of our transportation needs as we really hit it off with him and he is also a tour guide, very knowledgeable.
It is not a luxury resort, kinda rustic, but a very comfortable, hospitable and o great value for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Villa number 7 offers ample space and sleep options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived at Arenal Green on Monday, May 21st at around 6 pm. We were greeted by Ana (an employee that works evenings), we were received with a cocktail and shown our cabin (#6). The cabin was nice, clean, there were some bugs in the bathroom, but after I killed them there were no more problems (it is Costa Rica... there are bugs and lots of wildlife). We ate at the restaurant, William (the cook) prepared a nice meal, very tasty.

The whole property is kept immaculate. Be ready to be waken up by the birds at around 5 am, loved it. Lots of birds around the property.

Breakfast was good, only hotel in Costa Rica (out of 4 different ones we stayed at) that offered 3 options for breakfast, typical Costa Rican (Gallo Pinto); fruits or American style. Monica, the daughter of the owner, helped us with directions around the area (work on that smile Monica). Then we met German and he is very friendly and courteous.

Overall very, very good experience. It is not a resort, there's no pool, but it is well worth the stay for what you pay for,

Room Tip: The last 2 cabins on other side of walkway bridge have a direct view of volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Family of four, stayed in cabin two. Great view of volcano!!!! Walked the street for an hour before breakfast. Local feel, just outside of town. Close to everything. Breakfast was GREAT. Cabin was VERY tiny, but really it was all we needed with two beds, sink and fridge. Bathroom was clean! Spent any time we were there on the porch.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the "secluded cabins", not worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend and his family, including a young child. We all loved this place. We had one of the larger villas which had an open patio, table and chairs, two hammocks, and a kitchen with pots and pans. We also had another smaller villa with a cute smaller patio and table and chairs. Both were very nice, clean, and had air conditioning. The hotel also offers massages practically in the middle of the rainforest in their backyard which was very unique. Very friendly family-run business. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenal Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Green

Address: 1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Green 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Arenal Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Green Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.