We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Green to your Saves list
Hotel Arenal Green
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived at Arenal Green on Monday, May 21st at around 6 pm. We were greeted by Ana (an employee that works evenings), we were received with a cocktail and shown our cabin (#6). The cabin was nice, clean, there were some bugs in the bathroom, but after I killed them there were no more problems (it is Costa Rica... there are bugs and lots of wildlife). We ate at the restaurant, William (the cook) prepared a nice meal, very tasty.

The whole property is kept immaculate. Be ready to be waken up by the birds at around 5 am, loved it. Lots of birds around the property.

Breakfast was good, only hotel in Costa Rica (out of 4 different ones we stayed at) that offered 3 options for breakfast, typical Costa Rican (Gallo Pinto); fruits or American style. Monica, the daughter of the owner, helped us with directions around the area (work on that smile Monica). Then we met German and he is very friendly and courteous.

Overall very, very good experience. It is not a resort, there's no pool, but it is well worth the stay for what you pay for,

Room Tip: The last 2 cabins on other side of walkway bridge have a direct view of volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    86
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
72
162
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Family of four, stayed in cabin two. Great view of volcano!!!! Walked the street for an hour before breakfast. Local feel, just outside of town. Close to everything. Breakfast was GREAT. Cabin was VERY tiny, but really it was all we needed with two beds, sink and fridge. Bathroom was clean! Spent any time we were there on the porch.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the "secluded cabins", not worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend and his family, including a young child. We all loved this place. We had one of the larger villas which had an open patio, table and chairs, two hammocks, and a kitchen with pots and pans. We also had another smaller villa with a cute smaller patio and table and chairs. Both were very nice, clean, and had air conditioning. The hotel also offers massages practically in the middle of the rainforest in their backyard which was very unique. Very friendly family-run business. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

On my second trip to La Fortuna, I was taken by Arenal Green.

The combination of tranquility, privacy, beauty, nature, access to volcano/waterfall, singing birds on property made for a fantastic experience. This beautiful family run oasis is an excellent option for a traveler looking for a good value with an intimate view of the volcano, waking up to singing birds, proximity to the watering-hole and La Fortuna waterfall. But it's really the personal touches and positive energy of the father/owner, daughter and the rest of the Arenal Green team that was most moving.

The folks at Arenal Green had a sincere interest in our group, going out of the way to ensure that we would enjoy our time in La Fortuna. For example, between the hotsprings, waterfalls, the nearby waterhole - we got wet a LOT and the folks at arenal green seemed to anticipate this and had fresh towels in the room twice a day. The included breakfast was quite good and they did a great job of accomodating our vegetarian request.

We stayed in the Villa (# 7) which is slightly different that the rest of the units. This unit in particular was awesome. It is an excellent place to accommodate 5 people in a comfortable cabin-like setting. While our room had 3 queen beds inside, our place had an outside kitchen area with hammocks and tables that could easily accommodate 10+ people. It was amazing and we spent a good amount of time in this area. My father, who would prefer a "low-risk" accomodation like Marriott and tends to be an indoor kind of guy, said this was his favorite place in Costa Rica (and we stayed in very costly luxury hotels) and I think it had a lot to do with the private outdoor kitchen and dining area. Also, this unit had the best hot shower of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica.

Overall, this place has many nice touches, we had a great experience and I would love to go back!

Room Tip: If you have 5 people or 6 people, check out Villa #7 - it may be the best value for a family that si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was the first stop of a tour of Costa Rica. After a lengthy drive from the aeroport in San Jose, the hotel was a welcome sight. It is tucked away down an unpaved driveway. There is security 24 hrs a day. The staff was absolutely amazing. From the drive up until the final checkout everyone--every day was fantastic. The lobby area is open and clean and very assessible. David explaned the facility and was very helpful with our tours and sightseeing around the area. The room was just as shown on the site including the plants in the bathroom.
We had a junior suite and it overlooked the volcano. We enjoyed the little sitting area outside our room at both sunup and sundown. The hot spring pool was wonderful and we also enjoyed the swim up bar.
The only issue is that the rooms are adjoined and you can hear everything next door. Fortunately we were on the same schedule and so rarely impeded on each other with noise. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My review refers only to the secluded cabin that is offered in the woods (number 9) and not the other room/cabins.
The thing is that this cabin, although advertised and quite pricey, is not yet complete. There is no electricity (i.e. light or outlets) in the room, and whatever power there is comes from a car battery that can't last the night. Also, the shower is an outdoor one (which was fine for us, and actually quite an experience). These basic conditions would have been OK, had the hotel been upfront about it and they not charged a hefty price for that cabin.
Granted, the cabin is located at a beautiful spot, and the property is well maintained and has great views (hence the 3rd star, otherwise I would have given it 1-2 stars), but at the end of the day it felt like camping and not like the expensive cabin it was.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here for our first two nights in Costa Rica and had our first dinner here. Everything was very clean, we had hot water, air, great view of the volcano from our cabin and a comfy hammock. We enjoyed the breakfast tipico each morning along with some strong coffee. There was a dog and I'm not sure if she belonged there, but I named her baby and she escorted us everwhere we went. There was also a horse that sought shelter from the rain on our patio which was very funny to wake up to.

We stayed here becuase of the reviews but were a little disappointed that we never go to met German. I decided dthat on our next trip we will hopefully get the chance to met him!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenal Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Green

Address: 1km oeste de la entrada a Catarata Rio Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Green 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Arenal Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Green Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.