We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended Resort in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended Resort in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Beautiful hotel! The Jr. Suites are large with excellent, full views of Arenal Volcano. Upon arrival, you are greeted with a delicious tropical drink and the reception staff are very welcoming and accommodating.

The grounds are meticulously maintained, very lush with beautiful flowers and birds. Staff with golf carts are always at the ready to provide a convenient ride from your suite to the reception or lobby areas. One feels very safe at the Resort knowing that security is a high priority.

The Resort is very clean, located off the main road, and is very quiet for sitting on the patio to admire the view. The concierge (Edward) is extremely knowledgeable of the area (and beyond). We received excellent ideas and were not pressured into any “group” tours. Directions to various sites were exact and very helpful.

The swimming pool with a wet bar was available for a leisurely dip and was surrounded by lush gardens.

We would highly recommend this Resort!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiker_Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Dear friend, thank you very much for being in our hotel, for us you are part of our family and we want you to know that you will always be welcome here.
hope to see you very soon to serve you with pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Arenal Springs Resort was a beautiful! The grounds, the rooms, the view. I think the part we enjoyed most might have been sitting on our front porch every evening drinking Costa Rican rum and waiting to see the volcano. The pool was warm and had a swim up bar. The only draw-back was the resort was too far from town to walk and we were too cheap to pay for a taxi more than once. (but we were aware that it was outside of town before we went) The staff was very gracious. They had free internet use and you could use the front office phone for a very reasonable rate. Gina, in the Barrill bar was supper sweet!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear friends, thank you very much for being in our hotel, for us you are part of our family and we want you to know that you will always be welcome here.
hope to see you very soon to serve you with pleasure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We were there with another couple for 3 nights. The resort is beautiful. The grounds are breath taking. The staff is so nice. They will go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

Rooms - were fine. They were clean and maid service had our rooms cleaned by early afternoon. The rooms have mini bar, hair dryer, safe, coffee maker, shampoo BUT no body lotion. Room maintenance was very good. We had a problem with our light bulb and they responded within 15 minutes. Each room has a balcony with a view of the volcano. It is difficult to see the tip of the volcano because of the clouds. The resort is beautiful.

Restaurant - They have a complimentary breakfast each morning. You can go there for lunch and dinner but you have to pay for it...UNLESS you are have an all-inclusive package that includes breakfast, lunch and dinner. We were on the all inclusive package and was given meal tickets at check in. When we used the meal tickets in the restaurant, we werel seated in a area that is not serviced by anyone. so we did not get waited on for a long time. We were totally ignored by the personnel. We noticed that the paying guests were seated in a different area and received lots of attention. Once we got their attention, they were nice but they ignored us again. We had to go up and get our drinks at the bar. The paying guests received lots of service.
The food was fine. The breakfast buffet was better than the lunch or dinner. There is an omelette station and I was a happy camper when the chef made me egg white omelettes.. Lunch and dinner menu is the same and it is not cheap, $15 for a hamburger. We ate in La fortuna at the Bali Springs restaurant and it was very good.

Bar - there are 2 bars, one at pool and another next to the lobby. the drinks range from $6 to $8 each.. If you want to save money, go to La Fortuna and go to the local grocery store and buy your liquor, water soda there. The swim up bar was not very well attended. I love talking to people at the swim up bar. The only people at the swim up bar was my husband, my self and our friends. We were there for 3 nights and never noticed anyone else there.. The pool water at athe swim up bar is spring fed and the water is very warm. Can't stay in the water to long. If you are looking for a refreshing swim, you will be disappointed but if you want to soak in warm water to relax your muslce, you will be happy.There is no night entertainment or gym. I am a runner so I ran the property many times. One round trip around the property and side streets is one mile according to my GPS. There is free internet service with two teminals in the lobby.

La Fortuna. - $10 cab ride each way.Nice quiet town with restaurants and gift shops. The merchants do not hassle you and they will not bargain for prices like in Mexico. What you see is what you pay in La Fortuna.

We booked our entire trip on line with Pacific Trade Winds. It was an all inclusive package that included hotels, transfers, meals, and excursion. Our trip went perfect! We never encountered any problems. Pacfic Trade Winds is located in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calicocat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the here for part of our honeymoon. Our room was large and lovely with an amazing view of the volcano. The food was fantastic and the service was impeccable. We really enjoyed the pool.
The only negative was that the king size bed in our room was not very comfortable - I think it was old.
I would definitely recommend to a friend and will stay again on future trips to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MABL21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

After driving through narrow hair pin roads from Torguguero we arrived at lovely Aranel Springs Resort, which was part of our Caravan Tour. We had to walk a short way to our room for our stay. Actually each bungalow had two separate bedrooms. The clean bathroom is really unique with open ceiling for sunlight and rain in the stand alone tiled shower area. Stones from the Arenal area is used for the walls and plants are growing in the top. There was plenty of hot water for our showers. Once again we were requested to not put paper in the toilets.
The bedroom had beautiful beamed ceilings and picture window sliding glass doors to see the volcano from our beds!!! We also had a nice private front porch with patio furniture to use when enjoying the view of the volcano. Unfortuanately we did not see the volcano clearly during our visit. The pool here is actually a large natural hot springs pool, used for soaking, not really for swimming. There is a swim up bar area, so it's a great place for relaxing. It was especially beautiful at night and I was sorry I didn't get a picture of it. It is lovely to look at while dining in the Ti-Cain Restaurant. Behind the pool is a vegetable garden where guests are invited in to look and enjoy the plants.
Voltive candles in the bathroom and shower area and nice thick towels. No lotion here, only shampoo and conditioner. The beds were hard and the pillows were flat. They supplied bottled water for us. The lighting was good, but it took a bit of effort to figure it out. There is also a fan in the room. The air conditioning worked fine.
Their web site has a very good review of this place and a history of the Volcano. It was really a pleasure to stay here.

Arenal Springs Resort is like a huge garden with little cabins sprinkled around in cul de sacs.
There were banana plants growing outside our room, red caned palms and bird of paradise to name only a few things.
The Ti-Cain dining room had open air dining - and it provided a beautiful view of the volcano and the pool as it was perched up on a hill.
For one of our dinners we went to a salad bar buffet that was served to us. Then we had pumpkin soup. Entree was fish with tartar sauce, beef with mushrooms and gravy, baby potatoes, steamed veggies, spinach in cream sauce over noodles, great tortilla chips that were fresh, light and warm served with...............black beans and rice!!! Again fresh pineapple and watermelon, rolls and butter. Dessert was banana splits. Fresh bananas from Costa Rica..... Yum, and of course, delicious coffee.
Breakfast was included here and it too provided lots of fresh pineapple, watermelon and papaya. There is an omelette bar here and an abundance of choices of breakfast items.
This place was originally a cattle ranch and now there are horses for horse back riding in the stables at the entrance to the property. If you ever get the opportunity to stay here you will really enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The chalet-style accomodation has a lot of glass on one side in order to view the volcano better but still felt private because of the beautiful landscaping. It was quiet and very clean. There was a good free breakfast and the dinners were tasty. Best, though, was the pool with water from the hot springs, which made your skin feel very soft. The shower was great and almost felt like you were outside. The room was not very big, and the beds were not very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nor18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights

Pros:
- The staff was really nice
- Good breakfast
- Per the staff the pool is not a hot springs but heated to about a hot spring heat. Either way the pool was very nice!
- shuttle that will take you to your room, so you don't have to walk the distance
- 2 computers hooked up with internet at the reception, no wifi outside of the reception area.

Cons:
- don't book tours through the hotel (very expensive), make the trip to town and book
- PAPER THIN walls

I would recommend this place to my friends. I wish the weather would have cleared up we would have had an amazing view of the volcanoes.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MITravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 68 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#12 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#8 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing