We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and Service, but unfortunately volcano not active during our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Activity tickets
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay and Service, but unfortunately volcano not active during our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Me and my husband decided on Costa Rica for our honeymoon after going through tons of places. We felt it will be a perfect balance of beaches and forests. Also Dec 1st to 15th is a great time for the country as it does not rain as much and peak season in most places begin Dec 15th. After our long and tiring flight from New York City to San Jose, CR, we immediately took a private ride to Hotel Arenal Springs Resort, La Fortuna which we had booked through arenal.net . It cost us $130 but we felt we saved over staying the night in San Jose and then taking a shuttle. It turned out to be a very wise decision as it was just a 3 hour ride and when we reached Arenal Springs we were immediately welcome with a nice mixed fruit cocktail and were guided to our very comfy Junior Suite room.

Arenal Springs had provided us with a great 4 night stay package for around $731 with a Junior Suite room of Volcano view, breakfast buffet on all mornings, a bottle of wine, 2 romantic dinners and a 45min Swedish massage for the two of us. We had liked the honeymoon package deal and asked for a mixture as we wanted to stay for 4 nights and wanted to eat in La Fortuna town one night. I am very thankful to Miguel Munera for the great deal. He works out something that suits your requirement, so do talk to him about what you are looking for in your stay (meals, tours, spa etc.).

The room was excellent with a vocalno view from the balcony as well as the bathroom. It is absolutely breathtaking in the morning. Also room service was great and everything was very clean. They offered a ride from the room to the reception or restaurant if it was raining or say you are too tired to walk, which we never felt as the walk is also beautiful. You'll come across humming birds outside your balcony and throughout the place. They are everywhere! It was so beautiful. The restaurant ambience and service is also great. People are very polite, friendly and always smiling.

We also took some tours through them for which we payed extra. We advice you to decide on them once you are there as the weather is quite unpredictable especially when we were there in December. Edward was a great help with the tours.The ones we took were Venado Caverns and Volcano Hike. We were also ineterested in Rio Celeste but it was raining one day so we were short of time. One evening we also walked to the Frogs and Snake Nature park which is at a 5min walk from the resort - we absolutely loved that too! The one day it rained we just took our Swedish massage and hanged out in their hot spring pool having drinks and had a good afternoon nap. It was very very relaxing. We highly recommend Swedish massage, it cost us $35 per person with the package which was great. That evening we spent in La Fortuna town. The hotel offers a taxi for $20.

We absolutely enjoyed every bit of our stay. The only part we feel the resort can improve on is the dinner options. It mostly has pasta and rice beans. You will have enough options if you are there for 2 days, but with our 4 night stay we had to repeat our orders. Breakfast buffet was great though, we still miss their Pinto with curry sauce.

Apart from this one thing that no one told us, which has nothing to do with the resort experience, is that the volcano is active only certain months of the year. We could only see smoke coming of the craters. There was no lava. So if you can, try and time your visit to when it is active. But watching the volcano and the craters by itself was also quite pleasant.

Hope our experience review helped answer some of your questions!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    474
    93
    19
    7
See reviews for
431
677
25
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Having taken the red-eye from SFO, immediately followed by 4+ hrs. in a private van culminating in our first "Costa Rican massage" , we arrived at our oasis, the Arenal Springs Resort, dazed, but immediately greeted by warm smiles, refreshed by a topical drink, and thrilled with our first sighting of the volcano.
We were traveling with our three grown children and shared adjoining volcano-view rooms in the same bungalow for three nights during the first leg of an 11 day trip. Though there were daily showers we thoroughly enjoyed the incredibly landscaped grounds and appreciated the placards identifying the botanical names of unfamiliar tropical plants.
The service was great, and we especially appreciated concierge Edward's wealth of knowledge and quick-witted humor. The Arenal Springs resort proved to be the best value among the remaining hotels in the same price range during our stay in Costa Rica. Curiously, the 5 yr. old resort was not listed in any of our guidebooks including the only 2011 edition we traveled with, but that may be the reason it's such a great value for the price.
We weren't thrilled with our one evening meal at the restaurant; found the service sluggish and food mediocre, so chose to eat dinner elsewhere. The view of the glorious grounds more than compensated for any short-comings at breakfast. The spring-fed pool was great, but being of only average height, I could not take advantage of the "shoulder massage" provided by the waterfall that instead thrust me into "drown mode." Perhaps a "platform" could be affixed to the bottom of the pool for those of us so challenged.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at Arenal Springs Resort for 4 nights. Loved the grounds, the cabins were clean, spacious, and very peaceful. We enjoyed some of our afternoons reading in the rocking chairs. We were not impressed with the food at the restaurant, although the service at the restaurant was always excellent (and everywhere at the hotel). I would have liked to have a shuttle service into town since we did not have a car and a taxi ride was $20 round trip, thus, we stayed on the grouds alot in the evening and there was not much for entertainment. The hot springs pool is suspect, one evening we went for a dip and the water was lukewarm (not likely for a true volcanic hot spring) and there was no mineral taste or smell which I would expect from true hot springs. I would stay again, but might try another hotel if available for variety with shuttle or get my own car.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

This is a great place to stay near Arenal. First, the service was the friendliest I have ever experienced. You get a free welcome drink (juice) when you arrive, and they drive you around in golf carts. Right outside our balcony we saw birds that the are the object of guided tours, including parakeets and toucans. The pool, with swim-up bar, seemed nice but we did not get to try it due to the weather. The staff arranged our two adventures (white water rafting and volcano hike), and the buses picked us up at the hotel, which made things very easy. Breakfast was included in our room price, and the food quality and selection were decent. The only minus was our one dinner at the restaurant. The prices were high, and two of the meals were awful. My daughter's trenderloin was tough and grizzly (not sure how that is possible) and my son's beef dish was also tough and mostly inedible. Maybe if you stay away from the beef you'd be okay, but it's still going to be costly compared to other options. If you have a car I would exit the resort and go left about 12 minutes to Fortuna, which is a friendly and safe little town with plenty of restaurants as well as souvenirs, liquor stores, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Beautiful grounds with a great view of the Volcano. We loved having a little bungalow and relaxing on the rocking chairs on the front porch. The hot springs (pool) was a great way to wind down the day before a wonderful meal in the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We had a great Stay, Arenal Spring Resort was a great place to stay, very friendly staff and good food ...overall good value. We enjoyed our stay, food here is much better and prices are quite reasonable for service. We went to Baldi hot spring/tabacon.,.but the hot spring fed pool was the best, comfortable and free!!

I would certainly recommend this place.
:)
Nitin

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We absolutely love our little cabin and the shower is AMAZING! The volcano view is great and the hot springs with hot bar is amazing! And the restaurant is wonderful as well!

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.