We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great job Arenal Springs Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Orange County
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great job Arenal Springs Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

After a long day of travel we arrived and were greeted with wonderful tasting fruit smoothies. The hotel staff was on the ball, friendly and curtious from the minute we arrived to the second we left (they even helped hunt for a missing blanket of one of our 6 year old travelers!)

The first night we arrived it was clear and we were able to see the peak of the volcano, we also saw a family of Howler Monkeys that calls the resort home and even a poisonous red dart frog!

I would not reccomend the resort for meals except breakfast (breakfast is inlcuded and tasty!) Our dinner there was below average and the $20 round trip van ride to La Fortuna for dinners was well worth it as the food was great! Ask Celine for his reccomendations of eating establishements in La Fotuna.

The rooms were nice sized (5 in a room), clean and cute comes to mind.

The real treat of Costa Rica are its people. They were all so friendly, polite and I felt more safe there than most places I have visited in the United States.

Celine is a gem of the resort as he reccomended some very fun activities for a large group of 10 with 4 young kids ages 5,6,7 and 8.

Our favorite activity was the zip lines at the Los Lagos resort. Antonio runs a safety first and freindly ship with the zip lines. There is also a lot of other fun things to do there with kids and it is close to the the Arenal Springs Resort. (note we were glad we didint stay at the Los Lagos as it was fun to visit but real busy and not as neat, clear or freindly as the Arenal Springs)

We didnt enjoy the boat safari as much as some of the others I have read. Travel time to the safari was a little much and while we saw lots of wild life (camen, "Jesus Crist Lizards", sloths and monkeys) we were left wishing we had stayed closer to the resort and Arenal as it was so amazing!

All in all we loved the hotel minus the dinner food. We wished we would have stayed there longer!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    408
    82
    16
    7
See reviews for
387
587
23
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Some reviews say more about the author than the hotel and this is one of them. Plus points - the setting with its views of Arenal volcano, the rooms were all a good size, well appointed, clean, in a garden layout, all very perfect ...
.. but just a bit too tidy, crisp and efficient for me. Apart from the views, the hotel could have been anywhere. The layout of the bungalows made it feel as if you were staying on a housing estate, with cars parked outside every cabin. Although all cabins have an aspect that faces the volcano, cabins on one side of the road had much better views (over their garden area) than those on the other (which had to look across the raod, past, possibly, two parked 4WD). The pool was small for a hotel of this size.
Objectively, the hotel scored highly on all rankings. It seemed heavily used by American tours and I suppose it met their needs well - but the hotel lacked character for me, and there's no ranking to describe this aspect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Arenal Springs was a good pick and a great value for the price. The rooms are nice, new, spacious and clean. Props to the A/C working at full force - we stayed at 3 hotels on our trip and this was the only one with A/C that really cooled the room. The staff was great and accommodating. The concierge did a great job booking activities for us and helping us out. Free internet was clutch. The view of the volcano was magnificent.

I totally recommend staying at the hotel, but suggest that aside from the breakfast, which was good, to skip the restaurant for lunch and dinner. There are better options in La Fortuna and on the main road. Arenal Springs is great for families and those who plan to be out hiking all day. The pool area was small and packed with children, so not ideal for a romantic get-away or for those looking to relax.

Overall its a good pick.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I've only been to Hawaii once, but all I could think was that this resort was as beautiful as Hawaii at a fraction of the price! The whole place is a garden paradise! Flowers were blooming everywhere! Butterflies and hummingbirds were our entertainment at the amazing breakfast buffet. The rooms are large as well as the bathrooms. Each "duplex-like" room has a private garden patio. Ours had bananas growing right outside our door. There is a great view of the volcano although it is on the opposite side from where you can see the lava flow. The pool area is beautiful. The restaurant serves fantastic food but it is a little pricey, $15-$30 for entrees. Over all, it was my favorite of the places we stayed in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We recently came back from Costa Rica and we had such a great time, we travel with Vacation Super Deals (see their website for great deals) and we stayed in a great resort called Arenal Springs, a well-deserved 4**** Resort with a great staff, services and a beautiful room and ground.

Vacation super deals gave us a great car (new) automatic with insurance, unlimited mileages and taxes as well as pick up and drop off at airport (Liberia), furthermore, we were very surprised by the timing, no errors, right there on time and very sweet people!

We started our vacation with a great 3*** Hotel in Samara beach, seconds from the ocean, king size bed, great food and very nice pool and amenities, we then met with Vacation super deals guide in Samara, Ricardo, who is a very knowledgeable guide and gave us a great Ocean Kayaking tour to Chora Island, and offer us fruits, drinks and all snorkeling equipment in the island, a great time, too short (about 4 hours)

Then we had a great time with Selim (Vacation Super Deals Director of operation in Costa Rica), who welcomed us in Arenal, where we had a super time, the time of our life with guided tours included in our package like horseback to the waterfall, private guided hike to Arenal Volcano, and much more...

We have only one word for you: Go and have a blast with this great company which is amongst the cheapest vacation package in Costa Rica and will blow you away with the services and all of the things included for such a ridiculous price!!!

http://www.vacationsuperdeals.com

xoxo
Mike & Betsy

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

The Arenal Springs Resort exceeded our expectations. One of the best aspects of this hotel is the view of the volcano. We could lay in our bed, look out the huge window and look directly at the volcano. Unfortunately during out stay, we did not see the volcano erupt, it was still a great view. The service at the hotel was first rate! From the check in with Ruth to the wait staff at the restaurant. Everyone was always very gracious and eager to help. The breakfast that was included in our stay was a pleasant surprise. The selection was extensive with cereals, breads, fresh fruit, made to order omelettes or eggs, and at least three other hot entrees. We did eat dinner at the hotel one night and it was equally good.
One of the unique features of the room was the "outdoor" shower, while fully enclosed, the roof did not completely cover the edge of the wall allowing for water to run down a rock wall. Our daughter thought that this one one of the "coolest" showers ever!

Our travel agency, Costa Rica Travel 4 You was outstanding. The tours booked through Defario travel were on time and always provided a knowledgeable guide. I highly recommend the Cano Negro River tour, we saw a huge assortment of animals.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I recommend staying in room number 1 or 2... they had amazing views of the volcano with nothing blocking us... we stayed here as part of an all inclusive tour package

Pros:
- Amazing views of the volcano
- Friendly staff
- Really good food
- Cheap cab ride away to town (hot springs, restaurants, bars, shops)

Cons:
- Not very many people in the hotel if you are looking for a social scene
- Far from the airport but so is everything in Costa Rica
- No alarm clock so bring one with you
- Beds were a little hard but not too bad

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.