We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were on our honeymoon in Costa Rica and this was the first hotel we stayed. It was fabulous, great service, great rooms, we got a room with a volcano view, and overall our experience was simply amazing. Loved this place. Def worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    419
    84
    17
    7
See reviews for
396
608
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed at Arenal Springs Resort for 2 nights a little more than a week ago. We booked transportation from the San Jose airport through the hotel and had a nice, scenic 2 1/2-3 hour ride. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were given a refreshing welcome drink. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful in calling for taxi rides, as we did not have our own car. Our room was located close to pools and restaurants. It was clean and airconditioning worked great. Views of the volcano were fantastic and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous. There are several pools, with various temperatures. Due to a storm a few days earlier, wi-fi was only available in the lobby (no big deal....it was a vacation after all). Hotel is about 10 minutes away from La Fortuna and taxi costs $12 each way. Free breakfast was included. There was a good selection of food and it was really delicious. I only drink cold (iced) coffee and they even made a special drink for me! We took a taxi again the next day to go to Arenal volcano national park (pricey at $25 each way, but the dirt road there and back was really, really rough and filled with potholes (ditches) and we did a lot of swerving back and forth and we were glad that we weren't driving. We especially enjoyed the geothermal hot springs (which felt great after a day of hiking at Arenal). We also ate dinner in the upstairs restaurant one night. Food was very good and wasn't really any more expensive than what we paid downtown (especially figuring in another taxi ride). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We arrived just before a major storm hit that blew out the power and computer system. However we were not able to go to our room because it was not ready and still being cleaned. We were in a small group of 8 requiring 4 rooms with prior reservations and there seemed to be some discussion about the rooms. Once in our room the power went out along with the phone lines. I am surprised there is not back up system and were were told that cash was needed at the bar. The drinks and food is pricy for what you get. I had the buffet dinner which was so so. The morning meal was good but the line was very long for eggs cooked to order with only one chef.
The environment was great the pools warm and clean. The view of the volcano was great and the tropical plants lush. However I would not go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We traveled to Arenal with 3 young children (ages 4, 6 & 8) and had a great experience here.

The grounds are beautiful and spacious, with a ton of room to run around, and you have an amazing view of the volcano. The pools are great, some are warm, some hot, and some cold - the kids loved exploring all of the different choices around the property. The rooms are large and clean and have 2 queen beds, a mini fridge and plenty of room to be comfortable, and the AC works great. Breakfast was included and had great options for the kids.

Arenal Springs Resort is also in a great location, and you can easily drive into La Fortuna in 10 minutes where there are many choices for eating & activities.

I am giving this only 4 stars instead of 5 for 2 reasons - 1) The internet was super sketchy in the room and just a little better by the pool, and 2) while the staff was there to help with activities planning, I don't think that they went out of their way to be friendly or helpful. They will only really acknowledge you if you initiate it.

Overall I would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever return to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool and common areas are convenient, but also far enough that you wont get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

This resort is set in a spectacular property. Each room is surrounded by lovely flowers and has a great view of the volcano. Unfortunately, it rained pretty much every day we were there and we could not see the mountain clearly except on rare occasions. They had had a major storm moves through the area the day before we arrived, and lightning had struck their communications center. Apparently this resulted in a fire that had short-circuited many of the boards. Because of this, they did not have Wi-Fi, which caused substantial consternation to many of the guests. However given the unexpected and very costly damage, it is not surprising that it took them several days to fix the problem. By the time we left, there was WiFi access in the reception area, but not in the individual rooms. I am inclined to give them the benefit of the conditions. The best feature of the resort is the access to a volcanic spring that brings in natural water at about 101°F. The soaking pools were inviting and fabulous. We faced two problems. The first was that the on-site restaurants were quite expensive and the range of dishes available to us (as vegetarians) was somewhat limited. The town is 7 km away and a $12 ride by taxi each way, which meant that we were reluctant to go to town for every meal. The second is that if your room is one of the high numbers (anything over 300), the walk to the reception area and the pools is long and the wait for the somewhat unreliable shuttles was sometimes quite long. A strange feature of many of the places we stayed in Costa Rica was that they do not like to flush toilet paper. One has to throw the toilet paper, even if it is soiled, into a garbage can which is emptied every day. However, to walk into a bathroom knowing that the garbage can is full of dirty old toilet paper was disconcerting. This is, however, not unique to this resort. Overall, this is a very lovely setting, with great service and comfortable rooms. Our suggestion, especially for older folk who may find it difficult to walk long distances, is to insist on a room in the 100s – 300s.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This place is pretty awesome! Great hot springs, good food, beautiful backdrop of Arenal. Downsides are that the beds are quite uncomfortable, the food and drinks are fairly expensive, and they encourage you to place your toilet paper in the garbage rather than the toilet which just seems a little hard to get on board with. ;-)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Arenal Springs Resort is a very well maintained property. The landscaping is fantastic with beautiful flowers and trees all around. The rooms are spacious and well lit with a reasonable bathroom featuring an indoor / outdoor shower (covered). Wifi coverage was pretty good, and the room AC unit worked quite well. Our rooms faced the Arenal volcano, although while we were there in August, we never really saw the top of the volcano due to clouds. Each room has parking outside it for people who were driving. I liked the fact that our rooms were a little bit of a walk away from the main building. It made the rooms we stayed in very quiet, and private, and we also got a chance to walk to the rooms in the evening after dinner. They also have golf carts that can be used to get a ride to the room if you like.

The resort has three pools, each with different water temperature, and a kiddie pool for the little ones. The hot water from the hot springs in the first pool is very relaxing. From there, one can walk over to the main pool which is nice and warm, and has a bar area to get drinks or food. The last pool has cold water, and is refreshing to cool off in.

The resort is about 7 Km from the city center, so you are really limited with a choice of two restaurants - local cuisine or Italian to go to at the resort. They do also have a sushi bar or burgers that you can get by the pool, and the friendly staff is very willing to bring food from any of the eating places to either of the restaurants, if some of you want to eat from the restaurant menu, and others want to eat from one of the other menus.

The breakfast is included, and is really good. Fresh made tortillas, eggs made to order, fresh fruit, and a number of other choices make this a pretty nice way to start the day. The restaurant faces the pool area and the volcano, so the views are pretty good as well.

The gentleman at the Italian restaurant was very friendly. He gave us suggestions on what local desserts we should try while in Costa Rica and also some things we should look for like local fruit, and ice cream shops.

This was by far the best hotel we stayed in out of the three we stayed in while visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.