We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding day couldn't be better !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Wall Township, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding day couldn't be better !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had our wedding on July 24, and needless to say we couldn't have picked a better place. Miguel and his entire staff had done the perfect job in preparing for our big day! We were treated like royalty. All amenities were better then expected. Even during the downpours there was beauty to behold on the mountain!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for visiting us and thank you for sharing your comments, blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    402
    79
    16
    7
See reviews for
380
578
23
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I'd first like to start off by saying that the staff at Arenal Springs Resort & Spa is so gracious and accomodating. From the moment we arrived and were greeted at the entrance with refreshments to the moment we checked out, they were all polite, happy and helpful.

We arranged with Miguel Avila and Romario Abadia to have a surprise 25th wedding anniversary vow renewal ceremony and they did a wonderful job of setting up a beautiful area of the hotel grounds with rose petals and a tropical flower arrangement from flowers growing right in the resort.

The rooms were comfortable with great views.

We had a fabulous time and would definiely visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for visiting us and thank you for sharing your comments, blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I'm going to start by stating that this review is for "Arenal Springs Resort & Spa." There is another hotel very near this one called "The Springs Resort & Spa" and I'm positive some of the reviews people have written here are for that hotel. VERY CONFUSING. We tried to GPS Arenal Springs Resort & Spa and it doesn't come up. We called the hotel and they told us to GPS the hotel next to them which is "Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens". That worked, and when you get to the driveway you just bear right to go into Arenal Springs Resort & Spa. We were staying for 3 nights and upon arriving we were given a welcome drink which was very nice. We were given a room in the 500 block, about as far as you can get from the reception area, pool, restaurant etc. We had a car which we could park right in front of our room so it totally didn't matter. If we didn't have a car it still wouldn't have been to far to walk. If walking is a problem you could call for a cart to pick you up. All the rooms seemed to be pretty much the same. Two rooms to a unit. (Think duplex.) We were able to hear the family next door, not too bad and every night by 9:00 everything got very quiet. All the units are single level. Our room was very spacious with high ceilings. The bath room was really nice with a lot of plants which were automatically watered when it rained. The room was very clean and had a fridge with free bottled water and several other items to drink for free also, but no refills. (When it's gone it's gone.) We totally enjoyed the different birds right in front of our place including a resident hummingbird. I got some really nice pictures of him. On the second day I went to our door and looked out, I was dumb founded at the sight of Arenal Volcano. It was so large and so close. The first day there were a lot of clouds so we couldn't see it and had no idea it was so close. We did take a nice hike that day at Arenal Nat. Park. The pool and hot springs were very nice. There were assorted lizards and birds everyday by the pool. One afternoon a Jesus Christ lizard ran right across a narrow part of the pool! Really neat to see so close up. A free buffet breakfast was included and it really was very good, lots of fresh fruit and anything else you could possibly think of for breakfast. The only thing on the negative side was the large number of flies and other assorted flying bugs at breakfast. You had to be on CONSTANT guard when eating to keep them off your food. I got pancakes one morning and there was one person ahead of me getting syrup, she uncapped the syrup bottle and instantly 3 fairly large flying critters committed suicide by diving in the syrup bottle. It really happened in a matter of seconds. Kind of killed my desire for syrup. The eating area is open air so I don't know what they can do about the bugs if anything. I personally would rather put up with the bugs than to have them spraying poisons. We never ate dinner at the resort, we ate in a different place each night in La Fortuna. All in all it was a very nice place and I would go back in a minute. One last thing to add is the staff were all wonderful and happy to please, in every way possible to make for a great stay.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the place. All rooms face the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for visiting us and thank you for sharing your comments, blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I had selected Arenal Springs Resort as our hotel because our flight was due to arrive early in the morning (we traveled on a red-eye flight), and I wanted to have wonderful hot springs right at the hotel in case we were too tired to venture outside that day. It was the perfect choice! The hot pools were wonderful, the grounds beautiful, and the staff was as helpful and friendly as they could be! We loved the swim up bar, and spent 3-4 hours just relaxing there. We spent the first and second afternoons right there at the hotel, and don't have even one negative comment to make. Despite the rainy and cloudy weather, the volcano peeped it's top out of the clouds a few times, and the heavy rain only happened at night. Our canyoneering adventure with Desafio Adventure Company, and ziplining with Sky Trek were unhindered by the weather and were both fabulous - also highly recommended!

Room Tip: We requested and stayed in the first row (100's) because we wanted to be as close to the hot poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for visiting us and thank you for sharing your comments, blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We traveled as a family to the property and had a fantastic time. Loved the pools and waterfalls! fantastic breakfast buffet each morning. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The property was stunning with lots flowers and birds. Loved the bathroom in our room.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the property although quiet it was certainly a walk to the pool area and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Beautiful grounds. Clean and comfortable room. Friendly staff. Decent food (although was surprised to find it to be an American style buffet--not sure if that was necessary). Hot springs were fine, nothing too special. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The grounds were immaculate. The rooms were spacious, air conditioned and comfortable. The hotel restaurant had lovely views of the volcano and the food was good. We stayed at the top of the property and it was very quiet there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.