We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay with 3 kids in Arenal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Activity tickets
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay with 3 kids in Arenal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Arenal Springs Resort. Our favorite things were: the grounds, the free mini-bar items, the wonderful breakfast each morning that comes with the room, the tranquility. My daughter celebrated her 7th birthday there and the staff went above and beyond to make her an AMAZING volcano cake!!! The concierge who I think is named Ramo or Ramon?? was just INCREDIBLE. We also sent her for the Children's Chocolate Massage in the hotel spa. Martha at the spa was just great with her! The ONLY reason I don't give the hotel 5 stars is because I thought the beds were pretty uncomfortable. I hope they upgrade them soon...I would love to return!

Room Tip: Odd number rooms have a lawn in front, which is good for kids. the 100s-300s are closer to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    481
    93
    19
    7
See reviews for
434
688
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and would have extended if we could have. The fruit trees and flowers on the property are lovely (they have some of them named so you know what you are looking at). The whole family loved the pools with the waterfalls and the hot springs pools!!!! Swim up bar has great food and drinks. Staff was friendly. We went in early July and the weather was great. The fog cleared so that we could see the volcano clearly. I think all the cabins face the volcano... with chairs and a good cup of CR coffee....great!
The bathroom showers are HUGE with live plants drinking in the sun and shower water/mist...nice touch. Beds are a bit hard for my husband, but fine for me.

Would HIGHLY recommend the walk through the swinging bridges. It is beautiful, with monkeys , frogs and a waterfall. You are inside the canopy and at some points looking down on to huge trees. I think it was about $20 some to get in so take your time and walk quietly (get away from any loud groups of people!). At entrance there is a café with a good view (we did not eat).
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We loved all the nature , flaura & fauna at this hotel. But we especially loved soaking in the hot mineral springs every day.
Beautiful songbirds sang for us in the morning and we even saw colorful macaws at the entrance.
The wifi was iffy in the room but worked well in the reception area.
The prices in the gift shop were good compared with prices we saw elsewhere.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our group of 8 stayed here for 4 nights at the end of June. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were welcomed with a cold glass of juice and went through the check-in process. However, we were less than enthused about having to wear ID bands during the stay. Golf carts and drivers were provided to help us get our bags to our room. We were in the 300 block and our rooms faced the grassy common area, which is preferable to facing the road/parking areas. Rooms were serviceable and basic. We did get a small bottle or red wine, a few beers, and sodas in our mini fridge. You do have to leave your room key in a certain slot to keep the electricity and aircon on, but the aircon worked well and cooled the room quickly whenever we entered. The included breakfast was good, but would get boring if you had an extended stay. The pool areas were great with the large heated pool with swim up bar and smaller hot spring pools which were more secluded.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for groups and families with older children. I might hesitate to recommend for honeymooners or couples looking for romance. The set-up of the hotel doesn’t lend itself to much privacy and the rooms are certainly not romantic. Additionally there was a large tour group of high-schoolers staying at the resort while we were there, which would certainly put a damper on my honeymoon. I should also add that there was Wi-Fi available in the room, but it was spotty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Spent 3 nights here in July. Our "junior suite" was really just a relatively small hotel room with 2 queen beds and not much more space. Shower was cool with the rocks. We also had a bit of a bug issue in the bathroom on our last night (they may have been tiny ants). Check in was great and greeters with the fruit punch were very friendly. The front desk staff was courteous/polite but not overtly friendly. Main concierge was quite knowledgeable but the "back up" guy was less informed which caused some confusion on booking tours and the entire tour/site seeing info gathering. Loved the hot springs and the swim up bar was nice. Pretty quite this time of year so great. Had dinner in the main restaurant and was disappointed with the quality of the food and service - what was on the menu and what was served didn't seem to correlate and when we asked the wait staff, pretty much got blown off, and the chicken was overcooked. For the price, we expected better. Breakfast had lots of selections and was very good but they have a bee problem with them swarming on/around anything sweet (think bees literally all over the syrup pitchers) and lots of flies when eating. The open environment is great but need fans or something to disperse the bugs - became pretty unappetizing at times. Overall, I'm going with a 4 for the landscape/hot springs but just a 3 on accommodations/service.

Room Tip: Believe all rooms have a volcano view. We were in the first row so didn't have to look over oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We really enjoyed this first stop of 3 places on our honeymoon. The hotel arranged for private transfer for us from the airport to the hotel, and they were even able to change it for us at the last minute when our flight times changed. We were greeted by a friendly driver and the hotel had even packed a cooler for us to enjoy water, soda, or beer on the 3-hour drive. Upon arrival, we found beautiful towel arrangements, flowers, and wine on our bed for our honeymoon. We liked how Eco-friendly the hotel was as well. The key card operated the air conditioning so it wasn't running all the time, and they had separate containers for recycling. The room was beautiful, the views of the volcano were amazing, and the hot springs and swim-up bar were just what we needed after a day of travel. Beautiful grounds with tropical flowers surrounded the springs, and we even saw a large iguana at one of the springs!

The buffet breakfast had many options to choose from, so even my picky eater of a husband could enjoy it. Some of the breakfast foods were a little bland, but we just had to try different things to find what we liked. We also really appreciated the help of Edward, who helped us decide what tours to take and booked them for us. We appreciated his honesty about what was worth spending money on and what wasn't, which often came down to what the weather was like that day. Dinner at the main restaurant was also good-- we both got pasta dishes that had good flavor, and was better than some of the food we had tried in town. Overall, great service, comfortable room, beautiful views, and relaxing hot springs. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with volcano views. We did, and though we were farther from the main breakfast room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the Springs for 3 nights during July, 2014. Although our room faced the volcano, we never even saw it there because it was so rainy and foggy. Bring an umbrella if you are going in July. The grounds of the hotel are immaculate and the staff is incredibly friendly. The hot springs are beautiful. And unlike other hotels in the area, only hotel guests get to use the hot springs. The hot springs weren't crowded, especially after dark (which year round, it gets dark at 6:30PM). The rooms are nice, have a safe and a really unique shower -rain water from outside trickles along an inside rock wall in the shower. The breakfast buffet is included in your room price and was incredible- made to order omelets and a wide variety of breakfast food. There isn't any drawer space in the room. It was so rainy that pretty much any clothes that get wet, stay wet --we used the hotel laundry service to dry our clothes. We did have an issue with teeny tiny bugs (which I believe goes with the whole tropical rain forest area) and staff tried to address it. You basically have your own private bungalow --yours may be a 5-7 minute walk to the front desk but they are very prompt about picking you up in a golf cart if you want. We tried the hotel Italian restaurant but found it just fair. We really liked eating dinner at the swim up Sushi Bar which also had great quesadillas (but don't order the nachos- they were not good). Not much to do there after dark except hang out in the hot springs/bar which was nice.

Room Tip: Room numbers lower than 500 are closer to the pool/front desk/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.