We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Awesome time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came to Costa Rica on our 10 year anniversary. This stay has been relaxing and enjoyable. The staff is friendly and accommodating. My wife called a few days early to check on things and asked for the best room and they gave it to us. 903&904 have the best views. It is the farthest walk - but well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    395
    80
    15
    7
See reviews for
370
570
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel had the most amazing views ever in all of Costa Rica! The reviews I had read before hand prepared me for a great hotel, but once we got there, we realized the hotel was actually excellent!! The rooms/cabins are amazing and comfortable. The rooms face the volcano which provides amazing views and stunning scenery. Floor to ceiling windows provide a great way to watch nature and relax. The chairs outside to sit and relax in are a welcome addition to the little deck at the back. THe beds were comfy and the bathroom modern and clean. A great touch is the plants that are in the planters in the shower which get watered when it rains as the rain is drained into the planters which is very clever.

THe grounds are just beautiful! The pools are very clean and warm, as are the hot tubs and deck chairs. The yoga deck was a place I used quite a lot and I appreciated how the mats were laid out and there were towels to be used at each mat should you need it. It was a very peaceful deck from which I could practice and gaze at the volcano. It made everything very serene. The swim up sushi bar is a nice addition as well.

Computer/Internet access was quick and there was almost always a computer free.
The restaurant had a varied and pretty decent breakfast in the morning, and lunch and dinner menus were simple but delicious.
I would definetly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to stay in Arenal.

Room Tip: Alll the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were at Arenal Springs Resort from August 13-17th. We can't say enough about how nice and accommodating the staff was. The food at the restaurant was nice and the breakfast was very good. All of the eateries are open air and adding to the charm - but include insects. The hot springs and the pool were great. All of the grounds are very well maintained with beautiful views of the volcano and gardens. There was wireless internet in the rooms which was really convenient. Definitely make friends with the concierge. All most of the excursions include transport which is a good thing since the town is a little ways away. You can get to town using a taxi but it will be around $20.00 round trip.
Overall, a great place to be. Can't say enough good things about Arenal Springs.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have a slightly nicer view of the grounds but makes for a longer walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here from 10-13 August 2013. The reviews we read leading up to the trip made Arenal Springs sound like a great place to visit, so our expectations were pretty high. By the end of our stay our expectations were not only met, they were exceeded.

First off, the facilities are so gorgeous! Right under the Arenal volcano. There really is nothing like waking up and sitting on the porch of your private little bungalow, drinking Costa Rican coffee, watching the humming birds, and catching a glimpse of Arenal. (Mornings seem to be the best time to view the volcano, as it tends to get obstructed by some clouds later in the day) The room was very nice, although the bed was too hard for my taste. The shower was nice and big. And there were even two complimentary Imperials waiting for us in our room's fridge.

But far better than our room were the hot springs. I mean, that's really the reason to come here. The hot mineral water really is great for your skin (mine honestly still feels moisturized, a week later). And the pools are so relaxing after a day's activities (zipline canopy tours, nature hikes, whitewater rafting, you name it Arenal has it). I've never been more relaxed than sitting in the hot springs pool, at the wet bar, downing some freezing cold inexpensive Imperials.

All of the staff was extremely pleasant, and I couldn't find one that didn't speak at least a moderate amount of English. Most of the front desk and restaurant staff are fluent in English. We were trying to use Spanish as much as possible while we were there (which wasn't a whole lot), and the staff was even great helping us with some of the words were forgot.

We pre-paid for breakfast and dinners (lunches we took while out and about). The breakfast was not bad at all. On par with other 4 star hotel breakfast buffets (and the fresh fruit was much better than most). Most dinners were just mediocre (steak had WAY too much salt on it). But the atmosphere was relaxing, and the staff was helpful, and the drinks were pretty cheap, so dinners at the resort turned out mostly good.

All in all, I would highly recommend Arenal Springs Resort! I'm actually jealous knowing that people are sitting in the hot springs right now, and I'm not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A special shout out to Miguel who handled our hotel reservation as well as our airport transfers. Communication was quick and detailed. We were able to arrange our transportation to San Jose without any fuss. Miguel was professional and polite. It is nice to see a hotel that values the customer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My best friend and I went to Costa Rica this past July to celebrate our birthdays. We picked our hotels solely based on the reviews from trip advisor and we had the best experiences! The hotel was great. Each room has a view of the volcano and it's stunning. The staff is really helpful and accommodating. The springs are relaxing and the swim up bar was a lot of fun. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Costa Rica. My only complaint was that we didn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Each room is it's own little bungalow. The rooms in the 800s are in the back which can make for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights and loved it! The grounds are beautiful: lush foliage, thermal pools with swim up bar, yoga deck and spa. The restaurant is excellent: moderately expensive with great service and good food. (Yes, there were flies at the morning breakfast, but you are in the rainforest and the restaurant is open-air!) The accommodations are amazing: we woke up to a direct view of volcano each morning and could sit in the rocking chairs on the porch to soak up more of the sights and sounds. The staff was responsive to any request. Pacific Trade Winds arranged our stay and coordinated two excellent tours for us: Hanging Bridges and the Arenal Volcano Natural History and Nature Tour. We took taxis into La Fortuna as the resort is not in walking distance; it was nice to be outside of the town. I highly recommend Arenal Springs Resort and Spa and would love to return some day!

Room Tip: It seems that each room has a view of the volcano so I don't think you could go wrong with any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.