We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Activity tickets
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mediocre for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Surprised they stopped breakfast at 9:30, closed the bar at 9:30 also. Housing was in a development setting, not a boutique affair at all. BBQ ribs tasted like cooked ham on a bone. All the food should have been MUCH better for their high prices. Felt rushed by the waiter. Pillows hard as rocks. Rooms smallish considering you'r in your own home.

Room Tip: They are in this gridded housing development setting. Just get one close to the restaurant so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    477
    93
    19
    7
See reviews for
431
681
25
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights of our 9 night stay in Costa Rica. We really enjoyed this resort, particularly the hot springs. They are in a very natural setting, and the some of them are hotter than others. Along with our 2 kids, ages 11 and 13, we enjoyed trying them all! One evening we even ate dinner at the swim up bar. (fantastic because the kids could swim around while we waited for our order. The food was very good at both the swim up bar and the restaurant. We had the breakfast buffet and ate dinner at the restaurant or swim up bar every night we were there. One of the waiters, Rodrigo, was very charming and helped our boys practice their Spanish! Our room (arranged in duplexes) felt very private due to a vast number of flowering plants between us and our neighbor. We were located near the back, farthest from the pool and restaurant, but we enjoyed the downhill stroll or called a golf cart if it was raining (only took a few minutes to arrive). We never heard the neighbor when were were inside the room. The only suggestion that I would have for this place would be to either replace all of the mattresses (extremely firm) with softer ones or add a mattress topper to them all. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 700's building near the back, which was very quiet and private. However, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

July 2013
Beautiful place, beautiful grounds. Bungalows are spacious and clean and nicely decorated. Pool and hot springs pool are not to be missed. Breakfast has a large selection and restaurant offers a good selection for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

After a 5 hour plane ride from New York's JFK, my family and I had to take a 5 hour bumpy van ride to The Springs Resort and Spa. However, once we got here it was well worth it. The architecture is set up for admiration of the volcano. And, we even watched Tucans and other exotic animals while eating an authentic lunch at the top of this wonderful cloud forest. The foliage is beautiful, and there are many pools and secret hot tubs placed around the property. It's a great hotel for exploring. While at the resort I highly recommend tubing down the rapids for the thrill seeking traveler. The only downfall is getting around. Anyone who comes here must be able to walk up and down hills to endure this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We just returned from 5 days in Costa Rica, 3 of which were spent at Arenal Springs. I am very pleased to say that this hotel far exceeded our expectations! From the beginning, Erlyn in reservations was an enormous help in arranging our trip. She booked everything for us in advance and helped us decide on activities - from transportation from the airport, to hiking the volcano and getting spa treatments. It always seemed that the activities she selected were the best ones (we compared zip lining and hiking experiences with travelers from other hotels, and ours always seemed to have been much more enjoyable and less "touristy"). The entire staff is extremely helpful and customer service is clearly a priority at this hotel. We mentioned when making the reservation that we were celebrating my boyfriend's birthday, and were greeted with wine and a birthday cake when we arrived! It seems that many of the "little things" have been considered here and there is an obvious focus on making guests' experiences a pleasant one. Mostly, it was a GREAT deal when we considered what we paid. The level of service

We stayed in one of the standard rooms. We found it impeccably clean, spacious, and well-equipped. All rooms have a great view of the volcano with large sliding glass doors. The open-air shower is beautiful and it's lovely to shower in the morning while feeling the cool breeze and listening to the sounds of the rainforest! I would recommend keeping the bathroom door closed as it is open-air and otherwise prevents the room from cooling down when the AC is turned on. We had neighbors both nights and had no problems with noise - while we could hear them at times (especially with the bathroom door open), any noise was generally covered up by rain and wildlife sounds. The rooms are arranged so that the beds are furthest from the neighbors' rooms and there is quite a lot of space in between, so we didn't find this to be a big problem at all.

I will say this...this is a "resort" property frequented by tourists. There are a lot of Americans, families, and golf carts taking people to their rooms. If you are looking for an extremely "authentic" or "rustic" Costa Rican experience, this is probably not the place for you. I'm also not sure that it would be best if you are looking for privacy and romantic seclusion, though we certainly found it romantic enough. With all of that said, we avoided the hotel restaurant completely and managed to find fantastic local restaurants in La Fortuna (well worth the $10 taxi ride!). We also found that many of our guides were more than happy to speak Spanish (we're both fluent) and make restaurant/sightseeing recommendations for those looking for an authentic experience. If you're looking for a balance between the comfortable "resort" experience and a true dip into the local culture, I would highly recommend this hotel. It was nice to return there at the end of each day, and made a great "home base" for our travels.

A couple final things to note:

- This is Costa Rica. There are bugs, it rains a lot, the wifi isn't great, and the AC shuts off when you leave the room. If you want an ultra-plush resort experience, go to the Four Seasons in the Caribbean.
- The spa was fantastic with professional staff and very reasonable prices. Highly recommended!
- During our trip (late July) it rained most afternoons from about 4:00 onwards. As another reviewer suggested, waking up early allows you to get a lot done in the morning and be back at the resort by the time the rain starts, if you are trying to avoid it.
- Hotel restaurant prices are steep and we heard that the food wasn't great. You can get a "casado" (plate of the day) at a local restaurant for about $5. Even with the $10-each-way taxi ride, we found this to be well worth it.
- Drinks at the bar were very reasonably priced!
- If you're in decent shape, do the volcano hike and La Fortuna waterfall. The hike is easy (about 2 miles and mostly flat) and the waterfall is a steep climb up and down, but both are worth it for the amazing views!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Arenal is very good hotel, although it ia a 3 stars, it really looks like 4 stars. We stayed for two nights, room is biiiig, clean, modern, bathroom and room view is the volcano, priceless. The rooms are like individual villas, all with volcano view. The breakfast is included, buffet style with omellet, waffle stations. Fresh fruits, juices, you name it. The hotel is located in the area, like 5 minutes from la fortuna, where all the tours pick you up.We rented a car for the whole week, but we used tour transportation for free. The staff very nice, in Costa Rica, people helps you with everything, tours, meals, etc. We even ordered meal room service with the hotel restaurant, they do not charge additional cost for that. Very good meal for dinner. They also has natural hot springs 37 C degrees. Preatty facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I need to make full disclosure here. I do not do all inclusives and I did not want to stay at this property, but as part of a group did not get to choose. Arrangements were made by someone else for a one night stay that included buffet dinner and buffet breakfast.

The plusses:

The staff is outstanding. Every single member of the staff from check in to house keeping to waitstaff at bar and restaurant was professional, helpful and pleasant.

The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Beer, sodas and bottled water were complementary (at least the first round but a charge for restocking). Beds were super comfortable.

Landscaping is beautiful. Hot springs and cooler swimming pools are available. Swim up bar a nice extra.

The cons:

The food was just average which is why I don't do all inclusive resorts. Even the best AI foods seem to be lacking. We were in Costa Rica for 5 weeks, and the fruit on the buffets was the worst we had anywhere. The pineapple must not have been ripe for it wasn't sweet at all. I know cooking for large groups and buffets is not easy, and usually the food is mediocre which was the case here. Dinner wasn't worth it. Breakfast was a bit better but skip the buffet pan of scrambled eggs and head to the omlet bar for fresh eggs.

Location is a bit farther from La Fortuna that we had hoped so a taxi ride to town for good food is a bit more expensive. We did make the trip to town twice, and the best meals we had were at a little soda with cooked to order meals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.