We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful and absolutely wonderful people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Activity tickets
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Absolutely Beautiful and absolutely wonderful people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This resort is amazing! The staff were awesome and catered to our every need or want. The food was good. The hot springs bar was super fun. They helped us organize our adventures and made suggestions. Everything that was recommended was spot on! I hope to one day come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    522
    98
    20
    7
See reviews for
479
723
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Travelocity at a 50% discount. I was jaw-dropped at the level of service that was provided for the price we paid. The morning breakfast was served in the main restaurant, which was a very nice place and afforded a great view of Arenal while we ate. The staff was very helpful, running needed supplies to our room upon request, and even picking us up in their golf carts when we were going to miss our tour.
The hotel itself seems to be very new, and it shows. The rooms and facilities were immaculate. All of the rooms are in duplex buildings that face Arenal. A pleasant suprise were the hot spring pools. The largest one has a swim-up bar, and the smaller hotter ones have waterfalls, jets, etc.
The amenities and service offered here were well worth the price we paid. I highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

First of all- Shout out to Edward who booked any and all day activities. He provided a wealth of information about the area and what we could get into, even off the beaten path.
Shout out to Eric- our awesome bartender who whipped up his own specialty cocktails for us!

Arenal Springs was our first stop after staying in San Jose and picking up our rental car the night before. The drive was long but scenic, not bored for a second, but we were definitely relieved to finally arrive at Arenal Springs! So beautiful. The grounds were immaculate and the staff welcomed us in with a cold towel and papaya juice cocktail (nectar of the gods!). The place is set on an incline so that every bungalow gets an ideal view of the volcano. But please people, don't have unrealistic expectations to see the volcano in full the entire time your there. Your in the rainforest. We booked a room with a queen bed through a travel agent and when we walked in there were 2 queen beds, which was totally unexpected. When we expressed our concerns that we were celebrating our anniversary and did not plan on using separate beds, they upgraded us to a master suite with indoor rock pool, outdoor shower and huge tub with no questions asked. Customer service- check. It was a wonderful resort and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Room 512 was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful resort! The rooms were great and the bathroom was wonderful! The bathrooms had plants in the showers and when it rained, the rain ran down a stone wall into the plants....we want this bathroom at home! The grounds were beautiful and each room, which was attached to one other room, had it's own private garden area; with rocking chairs on the porch with a view of the volcano. The food and service was good. The only annoyance was when we went to have our meals. Our trip was all-inclusive and it seems that there was some confusion each and every time we went to eat. We had to wear yellow bands at this resort and we assumed this identified what we would be doing or getting during our stay. The first night there we were handed a large menu, but a few minutes later the hostess came and took it from us and handed us a smaller menu to chose from when she found out we were all-inclusive, that was a little awkward. We felt at times as if the staff at the restaurant were a little annoyed with us because we didn't have "tickets" that they kept asking for. So I explain all of this to say...maybe there should be more of an explanation to the tourist as to how to handle meals when it's all-inclusive and/or talk to the staff about being a little more patient or trained on how to handle this situation. Breakfast each day was wonderful, as it was a buffet and had lots to chose from; and our other meals were tasty too. All of this aside...it is a beautiful resort and the side trips of ziplining and Safari ride down the river was great! We loved our guides! The pool(s) and hot spring(s) were to die for and are a must when you visit here. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a beautiful place! The rooms are like cottages (duplexes). I would really give it a 4 !/2 star. The rooms are separated by a door so if you have noisy neighbors you get noise. We were lucky and had quiet ones. The bathroom also is 'open'--their are plants in the shower (big shower) with a corrugated plastic roof with a slight space. It is really beautiful and elegant but not great to keep out the noise. Your choice is beautiful ambiance or quiet. It was very quiet for us. Every once in a while we would hear a critter noise. There are porches with chairs and a table so you can sit outside and enjoy the views. There is also a large pool and 3 large hot springs to use. The hot springs are hotter at the top and flow down and get cooler with a bar and sushi bar in the coolest. Everything in the room is stocked once, to include the refrigerator with 2 cokes, 2 beers, and 2 waters. This also includes one tiny bottle of shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. They also provide an aroma candle and 2 other candles for ambiance. It is by far the best resort we have be in here in Costa Rica and the view of Arenal is wonderful.

Room Tip: We were in a junior suite on the end of the street and it was extremely quiet. (212)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is true that every room has a view of the volcano. Don't confuse this hotel with The Springs Arenal....which is an ultra luxury hotel. Our overall impression is as follows:

Pros:
-beautiful well kept grounds with flowering orchards etc everywhere
-really wondeful breakfast part of the room rate
-hot springs at the hotel were wonderful- beautifully done with stones and waterfalls. Three levels of hotsprings ith different temperatures.
- the pool area was very nice and included a swim up bar.
-rooms were ok and the shower was pretty neat with the plants
-stocked fridge was nice

Cons:
-not very helpful front desk staff
-noisy rooms-poor sound insulation. We also happened to have noisy neighbours and complained to the fron desk. The front desk staff didn't really help. The did not offer for us to chnge rooms and were very dismissive.
-hard beds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a very nice resort. The property is well kept. There are multiple hot spring pools at different temperatures and there is also a swim up bar at the large pool. We had unit 502 for three nights which had two rocking chairs on the porch and a nice view of the volcano. The weather was mostly clear and we were fortunate to see the volcano each day discharging steam. Our room had two comfortable beds and a nice big shower. There was a refrigerator with complementary beverages when we arrived the first day. There is a closet with shelves, a table and bench in the room. The ac and fan worked well. There is a golf cart that can drive you or you can walk the property. Our room was in a good location to walk. The main restaurant was very good and the service was good, prices were not bad for a resort. It is an open restaurant with some windows. Breakfast contained scrambled eggs on the buffet or fresh made eggs or omelets, a meat, sides, cereal, fruit and juice. You can also order sushi by the big pool. The property was nice and attracted birds and many hummingbirds were seen. There are some computers in the lobby for use and a small gift shop. There is a spa on the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#3 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,758 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.