We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place--very peaceful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place--very peaceful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a beautiful place! The rooms are like cottages (duplexes). I would really give it a 4 !/2 star. The rooms are separated by a door so if you have noisy neighbors you get noise. We were lucky and had quiet ones. The bathroom also is 'open'--their are plants in the shower (big shower) with a corrugated plastic roof with a slight space. It is really beautiful and elegant but not great to keep out the noise. Your choice is beautiful ambiance or quiet. It was very quiet for us. Every once in a while we would hear a critter noise. There are porches with chairs and a table so you can sit outside and enjoy the views. There is also a large pool and 3 large hot springs to use. The hot springs are hotter at the top and flow down and get cooler with a bar and sushi bar in the coolest. Everything in the room is stocked once, to include the refrigerator with 2 cokes, 2 beers, and 2 waters. This also includes one tiny bottle of shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. They also provide an aroma candle and 2 other candles for ambiance. It is by far the best resort we have be in here in Costa Rica and the view of Arenal is wonderful.

Room Tip: We were in a junior suite on the end of the street and it was extremely quiet. (212)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    752
    394
    80
    15
    7
See reviews for
368
568
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is true that every room has a view of the volcano. Don't confuse this hotel with The Springs Arenal....which is an ultra luxury hotel. Our overall impression is as follows:

Pros:
-beautiful well kept grounds with flowering orchards etc everywhere
-really wondeful breakfast part of the room rate
-hot springs at the hotel were wonderful- beautifully done with stones and waterfalls. Three levels of hotsprings ith different temperatures.
- the pool area was very nice and included a swim up bar.
-rooms were ok and the shower was pretty neat with the plants
-stocked fridge was nice

Cons:
-not very helpful front desk staff
-noisy rooms-poor sound insulation. We also happened to have noisy neighbours and complained to the fron desk. The front desk staff didn't really help. The did not offer for us to chnge rooms and were very dismissive.
-hard beds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a very nice resort. The property is well kept. There are multiple hot spring pools at different temperatures and there is also a swim up bar at the large pool. We had unit 502 for three nights which had two rocking chairs on the porch and a nice view of the volcano. The weather was mostly clear and we were fortunate to see the volcano each day discharging steam. Our room had two comfortable beds and a nice big shower. There was a refrigerator with complementary beverages when we arrived the first day. There is a closet with shelves, a table and bench in the room. The ac and fan worked well. There is a golf cart that can drive you or you can walk the property. Our room was in a good location to walk. The main restaurant was very good and the service was good, prices were not bad for a resort. It is an open restaurant with some windows. Breakfast contained scrambled eggs on the buffet or fresh made eggs or omelets, a meat, sides, cereal, fruit and juice. You can also order sushi by the big pool. The property was nice and attracted birds and many hummingbirds were seen. There are some computers in the lobby for use and a small gift shop. There is a spa on the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed three nights in June. Great for families--my picky five-year-old found a lot to eat at the breakfast buffet. Pools were really clean and uncrowded, staff was friendly. Stuck at the onsite restaurant because it's far from town, but when we split entrees it was relatively affordable. Amazing flowers, tons of birds, saw a basilisk running across the pool.

Room Tip: All rooms have terrific volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was the absolute highlight of our trip to Costa Rica! Every turn was like walking into a postcard. You couldn't beat the beautiful rooms. Perfect amount of privacy, and spectacular views of the Arenal volcano. The beds were so comfortable. I slept like a baby.

The grounds are relaxing. Take a day to spend by the pool or hang out in the hammock. You owe it to yourself! We highly enjoyed the hot springs and the fresh water pool was refreshing when the day got hotter.

The staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming. when we first arrived, it was late and there were cold fruit drinks waiting for us. We were taken to our room by golf cart and given great advice on excursions to take based on our preferences.

The breakfasts were filling and a good mix of authentic Costa Rican food and North American staples. You won't be hungry after your meal. Oh, and you also have a view of the volcano while enjoying your coffee.

I would like to give constructive criticism but I really don't have anything negative to say. I wish I could have stayed longer. The grounds were nice and quiet at night and there were lots of people there of every age. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: every room will give you a good view of the volcano, but to avoid the clouds that will sometimes hid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao Pessoa, PB
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good return for the price paid. Beautiful sightseeing by the Arenal Volcano skirts. lots of birds and wild fauna around. quick and abundant golf-cart resort transportation within premises. well trainned cordial and smily staff. Clean and comfortable accomodation in bungalos. Well kept resort premises. Peaceful place to rest. Excelent thermal hot water pools. Well prepared not pricey drinks at wet bar by the main pool. The hotel restaurant though is not that good and food is a bit expensive as well as the wine list is limited and expensive. Ideal place for a couple on holidays. Thermal pools open time deserve to run until late night instead of closing down by 10pm.

Room Tip: Get a single story bungalo as those are cheaper but equally quiet and accesible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Our family enjoyed our stay at this Eco-friendly hotel. The mineral hit springs were the highlight of the trip as they have multiple to choose from. The breakfast buffet was good with the most sweet pineapple every day. The views of the Arenal volcano were beautiful from our room and location was convenient for doing activities. Trip to town via taxi was a bit pricey but very convenient. Food was pretty good at the swim-up bar and restaurant but very expensive. Drinks at the bar were very good- they made virgin pina coladas and daquiris that my kids loved! Overall a decent location whilst in Arenal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.