We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort with hot springs included” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort with hot springs included”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This resort has amazing views of Arenal volcano. Our room faced it, with two chairs out front to appreciate it in comfort. We received a warm welcome by staff, and were shown to a very spacious, comfortable room (the beds are hard but clean and comfortable). The "rock garden" shower was a fun touch.

What really makes this place great are the grounds - very beautifully maintained - and the attentive staff. Also, the "hot springs" are included in your stay. It does have an old school, condo resort feel. We took the horseback riding tour of the volcano and enjoyed it. We would return and recommend it to our friends as a great option in the Arenal area. I agree with other reviewers that dinner is overpriced for what you get, but not a bad option if you're looking for convenience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    722
    376
    77
    15
    7
See reviews for
338
555
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

What a beautiful complex. The shrubbery, flowers, large grassy areas and views of Arenal are spectacular. Walking the grounds is wonderful experience. The pool layout is an architectural masterpiece. Several hot spring pools with jets in addition to cooler water pools. It is true that the rooms are not "suites" and there are no chairs or dresser drawers and the mattresses are very firm, but all that is trumped by the beauty and peacefulness of the property. Our service was very good. There are two "suites" per casita. Each with their own marked parking space. The casitas are layed out on parallel streets. The first street (closest to the pool, spa and restaurant has rooms numbered in the 100s and 200s. The 100s are on one side of the street and the 200s on the other. It is advertised that all rooms have views of Arenal. I suspect that is so, but some views are much better than others. Many are partially obstructed by vegetation. The casitas with numbers in the 200s, 400s, 600s have a view that includes the street, the parked cars and other casitas. The casitas with numbers in the 100s, 300s, 500s don't have streets and parked cars in view. We asked for a room near the pool and with a view. As I walked the grounds I came to the conclusion that we had the best location in the complex. Room 108. It has an unobstructed view of Arenal which includes a large grassy area and beautiful flora. You can also see part of the pool and spa. Next door to us in the same building is room 107.. Their view appears obstructed by foliage. Room 106 has a view partially obstructed by a ramada. Room 105 appears to have a much better view of grassy area and volcano, but it also includes a view of restaurant (which is not bad.) In summary I would recommend avoiding the rooms in the 200s, 400s, and 600s. If you can get room 108, you will be very pleased. The higher the room number the farther the walk to the pools and restaurant.
Breakfast was very pleasant in the open air dining room. Service was very good. Eggs/omelets made to order with a selection of beans/rice, sausage, fried bananas, plantains, pineapple, watermelon, yogurt, cereal, juices. Everything was very good, except for the bread. I expected a nice selection of breads fresh out of a good bakery, but what they had was like Wonder bread-either white or wheat--disappointing for such a nice place and such a nice breakfast setup. Beautiful views from the dining room. If you want photos of Arenal you need to pay attention. It can be perfectly clear for a minute or two, then get clouded over very quickly. All in all a wonderful place to stay. We enjoyed the natural hot springs (94-103 degrees F) both in the evening and the next morning after breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 108 has the best view and is closest to pools and spa. Avoid rooms in the 200s, 400s, 600s...T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Arenal was a great place to stay. Very safe, clean, well maintained grounds. The hot springs and pool were very refreshing and the swim up bar was very convenient. The restaurant food was okay, what you would expect when making mass amounts of food for everyone. It was great that the breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room. We signed up for zip lining and volcano hike through the hotel and both went very smoothly, I would recommend using their services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This property was beautiful! Awesome view, clean rooms, gorgeous pool and hot springs,delicious breakfast, friendly staff.
The only negative was the lack of ceiling fans and that the air conditioning only works when you are in the room.
My family and I would definetely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VIRGINIA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We just spent three nights at Arenal Springs Resort. While the staff were very pleasant and the view was outstanding, our initial impression was disappointment. The resort complex looks like a Florida retirement condo/duplex community with a boxy layout of paved streets, yellow curbs, and asphalt driveways. Our "junior suite" was just a standard sized hotel room with two queen beds, a closet with perhaps six hangars, no drawers for clothes, no seating, a nice bathroom, and a little front porch with two rocking chairs...facing the Arenal Volcano. That view was a plus.
There is a yoga room, but no yoga instructor for classes. The thermal springs are small and right next to the swimming pools, that vary in temperature. All in a cluster; I had fantasized the springs and pools more spread out in the tropical environment.The swim-up bar was refreshing.
There is construction going on at the entry. I imagine it will look much more appealing in the future.

Room Tip: I suppose the duplex layout might be a good choice for a family who wants two bedrooms, two baths an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our family spent 5 days at the Arenal Springs Resort and Spa. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are clean. The beds are as hard as concrete. The food at the restaurant is ok. The springs are very nice. The wet bar staff was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We arrived at 1:00 am and the lobby was closed. The employee working took us to our room and registered us from our room. He was extremely helpful. Rooms our clean. The refrigerator was stocked with 2 beers, 2 waters, and 2 sodas- complimentary. The breakfast buffet was included and each day a few items are different which was nice. The grounds are beautiful- flowers, birds, thermal/ hot springs. Food ( sushi, hamburgers, sandwiches, quesadillas, etc) are available for lunch and dinner at the bar in the pool which is a nice alternative to the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.