We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
1 review
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Our overall stay here was ok! The staff are very nice and are keen to help. However the food isn't very good , it's over priced and very greasy. The breakfast buffet is nice apart from the million bugs flying around the food which put me off. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms aren't very clean if I'm being honest, we found numerous bugs and geckos in room and found gecko feces in sink many times, you can hear everything next door at neighbours , and the beds are way too hard ! One thing that did annoy us is we requested a wake up call one morning for 830 Am and were woken up at 630 Am, wasn't very happy. Overall our experience was average , I wouldn't rush back at all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    425
    86
    17
    7
See reviews for
399
612
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful view of the Volcano! The pools were great, hot springs very relaxing. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Grounds and pools were kept very well, and clean. The only thing that was a little uncomfortable was the beds, they were hard. But we really had a great time and would recommend it for the relaxing pools, beautiful plants and trees on the well manicured grounds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a great hotel in the Arenal area. Every room has a view of the volcano set as small houses with 2 rooms in each. Pools are great and well maintained. To me the grounds were the true selling point. Every " house" has its own lawn and garden. And the property is landscaped beautifully. The staff was very attentive and most were bilingual. And the hotel is working to a zero carbon footprint (you can help by donating to a tree planting). The only "miss" was the bed. A bit hard.

I highly recommend checking them out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in April 2013 and the resort is lovely. The pools/springs are great, the rooms are nice (though we could sometimes hear the people next door - this wasnt an issue for us but it could be if you get noisy neighbours or are particularly bothered by this) and you have a fantastic view of the volcano. The restaurant is fine - we did have a few issues with the consistency of the food but one of the waiters who had served us the previous night sorted out the issues and was very apologetic. It is also quite pricey for what you get, but that is expected in resorts. The staff at reception would go out of their way to help in any way they could. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely go back

Room Tip: We stayed in 612 and had a fantastic view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amazing view. The staff were excellent. The pools were the neatest I've seen. Super clean. We were sitting at breakfast May 1,13 and the volcano erupted for the first time since 2010 and we watched from our seats. The beds are super hard but the hot springs soak away any stiffness. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a BEAUTIFUL location! Phenomenal landscaping, quiet and dark at night, secluded porches and hot tubs, good breakfast, helpful staff (spoke English well and were patient with our limited Spanish). Anything we asked for, they quickly got for us or helped us with. Beautiful pools and hot springs. Out of all the hotels we saw, this was one of the best!!!
Downsides: I would bring ear plugs if the birds singing at 5am will bother you but they didn't bother us. The beds were a pretty firm for our liking. To get to town it's about $10-12 one way so we went and bought bread for PB&J since the restraunt is delicious but a little pricy (average $15-30/meal).
We booked through Pacific Trade Winds and with the resort, they took care of EVERYTHING!

Room Tip: We stayed in 203 which was right by the "road" but also close to the entrance and pool so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

On our recent trip to Costa Rica we spent a few nights at the Arenal Springs Resort. For the money this was a very nice place to stay. The rooms are small duplexes spread throughout the resort so they seem very private. The rooms were a little tight on space but still had plenty of space. The rooms have all of the necessary amenities to keep you comfortable. Every room has a great view of the Arenal Volcano. There was only one morning that we could see the entire Volcano and it was impressive. Unfortunately it is not currently active, it just smokes a little at the top but it is still picturesque.
The restaurant at Arenal Springs is good...nothing extraordinary. The breakfast buffet was really good with a lot of local flair. The dinner menu provides a lot of choices but is rather expensive and the food is average. If you are traveling with kids make sure to ask for the bar menu, it has more kid friendly foods. Like a lot of the other reviews suggest, a quick ride into La Fortuna will give you a lot of restaurant choices at much better pricing. Our driver had suggested Las Brasitas in La Fortuna, it was a good choice. I was a little wary of getting a Taxi into town until I discovered that the taxi is actually contracted by the resort. They will bring you into town and when you're ready to go back you call the resort and they come get you, it cost us $12 each way but it was a nice safe way to travel. Don't forget to try Pops for Ice Cream on a hot day.
The grounds at Arenal Springs are beautiful and well maintained. The pools are certainly a focal point; whether you want to cool off or relax in the hot springs...it is a very nice setup.
There are many places to stay in the Arenal/La Fortuna area, this resort is certainly one I would recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.