We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best natural hotel in Arenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best natural hotel in Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was staying in this hotel for 3 nights and I just loved it!!!! it has a lot of nature, you can see birds, plants, animals and it also has a little river with some fish... I really enjoyed my time there, the service is really nice and the rates are not that bad, but definitely it is not cheap, it is close to Baldi also, which are the natural waters. The food of the restaurant is so good. Be sure to have one massage session, you will enjoy it and be relaxed after it. I really recommend this amazing hotel and you can see the volcano with lava at night...

Room Tip: Get the rooms with view to the volcano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    402
    79
    16
    7
See reviews for
380
578
23
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Arenal Springs March 2-6...The resort is very well landscaped and well kept. Our room was 203, and I LOVED the bathroom! This is a place to relax and not a place for "night life" but perfect for relaxation...especially after any day trips. The food is very good, servers are great, especially Dago and Erich...they are awesome. We did "meals included" and were given a limited menu (or buffet) for our lunch and dinner dining. It is resort pricing for alcohol and meals, but we had great food during our stay.(sushi was yummy-we tried it one afternoon) Breakfast is a variety of breakfast items (pancakes, rice/beans, sausages, scrambled eggs), fresh fruit, omelet station, pastries and cereals-nicely presented and plentiful.
The green house is impressive and fun to check out at the back of the property (for any gardeners)
We had a couples massage at the spa on march 3...my husband and I agreed that their interpetation of swedish massage is different than the swedish massage in the United States...they were okay. (We scored much better and much less expensive on the beaches on Guanacaste so save your money and get twice as many...they are AWESOME!)
By far, the hot springs were the best...very clean, different heat levels, and so relaxing!
We did not see any sun, as it rained throughout our stay (shocker in the rainforest!) and one day was unusually chilly (but still warm to us new englanders) but the tropical flowers and plants were still gorgeous...
The staff is exceptional and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Arenal Springs Resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNEAPOLIS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Arenal Springs resort. We greatly enjoyed our stay!

Check in:
We arrived before the official check in time as we had taken a shuttle from San Jose. We were greeted warmly with an umbrella as it was raining, and escorted to the check in area. They quickly found an available room for us. We had a delicious welcome drink prior to riding on the golf cart to our room. The resort has beautiful grounds, the flowers are amazing! The staff are so very friendly and helpful.

Room:
We were in room 601. It was a nice location as it was not part of the large rows of rooms, having a field next to it. The views are breathtaking of the volcano and surrounding areas. The room and bathroom were CLEAN,CLEAN, CLEAN!! The room itself is very comfortable, having 2 beds, fridge, large closet, and a safe. Our family of 4 fit comfortably and didn´t feel crowded. The 2 chairs outside on the patio were comfortable and very relaxing. The bathroom was really cool with the plants in the shower. There was good lighting in both the bathroom and the room area. The air conditioning and ceiling fan cooled the room quickly. The only thing missing was a drying rack as the line in the shower was small and the plants got in the way. We used some of the hangers from the closet and put them out on the patio in hopes of drying faster. Keep in mind that you are in a tropical area and there are ants around... if you are lucky you may get a peek of a gecko or two! The walk to and from the pool and breakfast area is fairly easy. There is always the option to call a golf cart for a ride.

Pools:
Were amazing!! We never felt over crowded when we were in the pool area, always being able to find chairs. The springs were so very relaxing, as was the thermal pool. The fresh water pool was refreshing on a warm day!

Food:
Breakfast was very good and plentiful, having a variety of choices. They had an omelet bar with a variety of things to add. They also made fried eggs there and an egg white omelet. There was fruit, cereal, potatoes, meat, eggs, pancakes, french toast, and yogurt. Something for everyone in our group. We also ate here for dinner and lunch one day. The food was ok, but a bit pricey.

Activities:
There are MANY tours that will come to the hotel and pick you up. We went white water rafting and farm tour, which was SO MUCH FUN! We also did a hiking tour of the volcano and a 1/2 day fishing trip on Lake Arenal. Getting a taxi is super easy to get into La Fortuna. It was @ $12.00 each way. We ate a few meals in the local ¨sodas¨ and greatly enjoyed the local feel. The food was delicious!

Overall we had a fantastic time! We would definetly recommend the Arenal Springs Resort. We will be back!

Room Tip: We liked being a little separated from the larger groups of cabanas as it was a little more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We recently stayed at this resort and my family loved it. It was amazing from its beautiful views of the volcano as well as the well manicured grounds, to the cabins that are inviting and the hot springs. Their hot springs are magnificent - you never want to get out. Especially since they have a swim up bar that serves all kinds of tropical drinks along with snacks and they have a great sushi bar. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the whole resort was relaxing, beautiful and clean. We really enjoyed our stay here. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I think that no matter where you stay in this resort, you will have a great view of the volcano and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was there for two nights on March. The accomodations are amazing, the food is really good and personnel is very kind. I really would recommend this hotel and of course I'll be back to Arenal Springs in the future. The thermal waters are DELICIOUS, the hotel is clean everywhere and the view of Arenal Volcano is fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This resort is in a beautiful setting with each room facing the Arenal volcano. The staff are super friendly and could not be more helpful. With two pools and several smaller hot springs, you can be comfortable no matter what the weather is like. The only issue is that La Fortuna is the closest town but not easily accessible. So you are forced to eat at the hotel, which can be a bit pricey depending on your choices. We stayed for five days which was far too long because there are no evening activities either at the hotel or nearby. This is not the hotel's fault, however, but it is not the place for a lengthy stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

What an amazing experience! Arenal is the place to stay when visiting Arenal Volcano area. The hotel and its grounds area simple wounderful, this place is a must to stay for all kinds of visitors. The staff couldn't be nicer. You will enjoy this place 100% .

Room Tip: If you are on your honeymoon book the new suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.