We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wounderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Southampton, New York
1 review
“Wounderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

What an amazing experience! Arenal is the place to stay when visiting Arenal Volcano area. The hotel and its grounds area simple wounderful, this place is a must to stay for all kinds of visitors. The staff couldn't be nicer. You will enjoy this place 100% .

Room Tip: If you are on your honeymoon book the new suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    419
    84
    17
    7
See reviews for
396
608
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My two daughters and I stayed for 3 nights in March . Our unit was pleasant , comfortable, and clean, but my daughters were initially concerned that they looked to be the only people under age 65 . It does seem that a lot of tours use this hotel as a base. The breakfast was generous and quite good, but the disadvantage of the area is that you are stuck at your resort to eat unless you take a cab. We did have one unfortunate experience with a cab driver who quoted one price to go the the Falls and wait for us, then demanded much more. Be sure that you have an agreed upon price. We spent the money for a day pass to the Springs Resort hot springs, and they were great, especially the pools at the bottom with a slide and lush landscaping . They also have a good zoo with rescued animals , and it's worth a look. We enjoyed being woken up by singing birds each morning. I recommend this hotel, but be careful with the cab drivers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited Arenal Springs with our 3 young children in early March 2013. Despite unusually rainy weather, we had a fantastic stay at this lush comfortable resort. The staff are very friendly and employees at other places around Arenal told us that this resort has a reputation in the area for treating its employees very well. It shows in their treatment of guests. The rooms were clean and spacious. The pool and hot springs were also very clean. The grounds were immaculate. The resort has a WOW factor. The only criticism we had was that the dinner service was disappointing and expensive. We didn't trust it a second time and ate at the poolside sushi bar instead. Perfect since we could dine slowly while the kids lounged in the pool. We would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a split visit to Arenal Springs. We stayed for a single night upon arrival in CR. The warm welcome, willingness to help and advise, and lovely surroundings (even in the dark!) made us right at home. Our room had less than no view, but we were on the quietest back corner of the property and had a great night's sleep. They allowed us to park our car while we were on an excursion, even when we weren't staying there the following night. When we returned to a car with a dead battery the staff made every effort to help us, including using personal vehicles to try to get enough energy for cranking a totally dead battery. They also tried to help us find our next hotel (listed with incorrect information, bad maps, and so on) when they had no available rooms.

We returned for the last two nights of our stay to one of the nicest views on property. The warm welcome and comfortable room were the perfect way to cap off our experience in CR. Although we were incredibly busy the last two nights, we took advantage of the bad weather and resulting unexpected power outage to simply relish the quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

From the moment we walked into the Arenal Springs Resort we felt so welcomed. Very friendly staff especially the lady who greeted us and another one walking around with a walkie talkie...sooooooo nice. (sorry wish I had gotten names) We stayed Feb 26th .....
We had FOUR 30 year olds and TWO mid 50 year olds in our group.....we ALL LOVED THIS PLACE. We went ziplining during the day and in the evening went to the hot springs at the resort, I think there is like 6 of them, we all had shushi at the swim up bar and a few drinks...what a great night. Our rooms were so nice and big...most of all CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN....the location is great with a fantastic view of the Volcano... The breakfast that is included is really good .................. We all wished we had stayed longer. Thank you Arenal Springs Resort for an amazing night while traveling through Costa Rica... The advertisment pictures of this place do not do it any justice....it really is BEAUTIFUL you can't beat the price and what you get at this resort...... So if you are thinking of booking this resort don't hesitate book it ............PURA VIDA !!!
.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and have a view of the Volcano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Arenal Springs. The accommodations were very comfortable and we loved sitting outside and looking at the volcano. Hot spring was nice although nothing super special... for hot springs we would recommend visiting Tobacon Springs if you have time. The food at dinner was nothing special and overpriced. Breakfast was much better and offered a variety of items.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Staff and customer service off the charts!!!! Property amazing and very well kept. We we early and were greeted with enthusiasm and were able to check in early! Spent afternoon in the pools and were eagerly taken care of by staff at pool and bar. Restaurant menu a bit all over the place, but, service was great and food was good.
A must when you are traveling to Arenal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 7 km west of Catholic Church of La Fortuna | Near Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 6 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.