We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could happily have spent a week here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I could happily have spent a week here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The volcano is the star here. Showing a different mood in every light, it is visible large on the horizon from every bungalow. The lanes connecting the bungalows invite one to stroll at a leisurely pace, winding back and forth through the resort. Off to one side there is an undeveloped field which offers good bird-watching. A small stable near the entrance houses a few horses who patiently allow the animal-starved tourist to connect with them. The pool area is superb -- different pools for adults and children, and a hot-spring pool with swim-up bar and waterfalls giving wonderful neck massages. At a nearby resort, zip-lining and horseback riding are available. The zipline has a series of eight cables running from platform to platform down the hillside over the trees, and the staff members will take pictures of you with your own camera as you are zipping down towards them. The food at Arenal was delicious during our first dinner here, although not so good the second night, maybe because it was Sunday and the cook's night off? All in all, we were very happy with Arenal Springs as a base from which to explore the area. We just hope that the adjacent land doesn't get developed and that the resort doesn't get any bigger -- the open vistas and unhurried feel of the place comprise much of its appeal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4wildness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Asa a family of five. Hotel very clean. Good free breakfast. Beautiful view of the volcano large bathroom. Looks like it was an open air shower at one point ,but no longer. They have a mini fridge w 2 beer,water and soda that is complimentary. GE pools. Hot springs and grounds were amazingly beautiful. Swim up sushi bar awesome and Laura and rodriguo are so accommodating at the bar. The only complaint is the beds and pillows are hard. Otherwise beautiful property

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cabocathy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Okay perhaps if you want to swim and lie in warm water but we found the place souless, dominated by black tarmac and yellow lines, indignity of wristbands (which we were allowed not to wear), expensive food badly cooked. Service poor with priority to groups (understandably financially) leaving independents virtually ignored at mealtimes.

Room Tip: Further away from the main building the better: we were at back right-hand corner, but it's a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a large hotel, catering for short stay visitors who are visiting the Arenal area. It is set out in the form of a large motel with centralised services and semi detached bungalows, each with car parking spaces allocated. Reception is efficient, but necessitates the use of wrist bands to identify guests for meal allowances. Rooms are excellent, spacious with large fridge stcked with two (free) bottles of water, coffee making equipment and a large flat screen TV. Bathroom is equally large with good toiletries and a huge showers. Our room was equiped with two queen beds which were comfortable. Each room as a small terrace overlooking the volcano with the (locally) mandatory rocking chairs. The restaurant serves a reasonable breakfast buffet with egg station and, from noon, day long food. Altho expensive, portions are huge (as the predominantly American guests would expect) - no need for more than one couse. Wines are also expensive but good quality. The hot springs, on the premises, are especially valuable if you have been walking and a good benefit as they are charged for elsewhere in the vicinity. There is good WiFi throughout the premises. Checkout is efficient, altho I was offered somebody else's much smaller bill - soon corrected. Would definitely recommend for up to three nights visit.

Room Tip: Any room is good but the closer to the reception the better, otherwise you may have a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I would give this resort a 10 Star review if I could. Not only is the resort absolutely lovely, but the staff is amazing and goes out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. My first night at resort I tripped and sprained my ankle. Ruth with concierge services took me to the local clinic for X-rays and made sure I had everything I needed. Lucy then followed up that night and the rest of my stay to make sure I was OK. They even bought me crutches so I could at least go on my river boat excursion. Absolutely the BEST Service Ever! We will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Best resort experience we had during our 10 day tour in Costa Rica! Beautiful tropical grounds show off various plants, fruit trees, and of course, a spectacular view of Arenal Volcano. Chalets are roomy, clean, and comfortable. Pool area has various hot springs and swim up bar so you can just relax and spend a lazy day soaking under the sun. Early morning, you can hear the birds calling so bring your binoculars if you're a bird watcher. We saw a green parrot and a Montezuma's Oropendola.
Food was always excellent. They even grow most of their produce on the property! Breakfast fares were fresh, hearty, and plentiful.
All staff were friendly and very attentive. Concierge was knowledgable and recommended activities to make your stay even better. They even offered yoga sessions and specialty massages (chocolate or mud massage anyone?).
Main town of La Fortuna is about 15 minutes taxi ride and costs about $10. Lots of activities to do in the area including a forest night walk, visiting the Rio Fortuna Waterfalls or the Arenal Volcano National Park.
Will definitely come back and stay at this resort with my family again!

Room Tip: Request for a room that does not face a parking area so you can enjoy the "green" view bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatnlParkFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time here. The rooms are very private and clean. The beds and pillows were super hard, but that seems to be common in Central America. The garden in the bathroom was very nice... it made us feel like we were outdoors. The grounds were beautiful. The pools were various and good temps. and fun and clean too. The staff was super nice. The hotel, like many of them, is located outside of walking distance from town and taxi drivers charge an arm and a leg for a ride, so be prepared... local people are nice, however, and will give you a ride for a few bucks or a good conversation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 68 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#13 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#8 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing