We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with just a few tiny glitches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Activity tickets
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place with just a few tiny glitches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the XMas break. The property is clean, well maintained and the staff are incredible. Helpful, friendly and happy. The pool and hotsprings are exceptional and the 5 of us (me, wife and 3 kids) enjoyed soaking and relaxing. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate for us to see the volcano, but we're sure it was there.

The only glitches on our stay were that the floor in the restaurant is extremely slick when it's wet outside. Be careful. Also we had to pay for a mandatory XMas dinner (was expensive) on the 24th that was extremely dissapointing. The hotel tried really hard to make things great, but unfortunately, the turkey was raw and it turned us off the dinner.

Everything else was amazing. Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: we had 5 of us in one room. Plenty of space. Just make sure you specify that you must have a porta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    475
    93
    19
    7
See reviews for
431
679
25
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. The room was nicely equipped, clean, and had a great view of the volcano. We enjoyed the pools and exploring the nicely manicured grounds. The only drawbacks were the restaurant (food was mediocre and overpriced) and nonexistent bar scene--the bar closed early and there was never anyone in it. The pool bar didn't have much more action, either, which is NOT something we've experienced at other resorts. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing, and tranquil resort experience for your family, then this is a good bet. Luckily, we had a rental car and could explore La Fortuna; otherwise, we may have felt a bit isolated. All in all, a good value and a satisfactory part of our adventures in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I just got back from my second trip to Costa Rica (and Arenal) this year and spent two nights at Arenal Springs Resort. I previously had a 5 star stay at Leaves and Lizards. Overall, the experience at Arenal Springs was fine, and the following is a brief summary of what I liked and what the resort needs to improve.

PROS
Extremely well maintained and pretty grounds. Generally quiet and seems to cater to larger, older group tours. This would be a very good location for large families and kids as there is a lot of room to explore and play.

Very nice pool and hot springs.

*GREAT* New Years Eve fireworks...I wish they had promoted it more.


MIXED BAG
The service at Arenal Springs is professional albeit a little detached. Nothing wrong, but everything seems to be done strictly by the book and you don't get the impression that anyone would remember you after you left.

The food that was served at Arenal Springs was OK. I am a bit surprised at all of the positive comments regarding the food here. If you live in an area where you have access to a lot of good food (SF Bay Area, NY, etc.) you will not be overly impressed. It was fine, although we thought it was generally expensive for what we received.

The room, as others have noted, was clean and quiet and fine for our purposes.

CONS
As others have also noted, and this cannot be understated, the beds were really hard and not particularly relaxing, particularly after days of rafting on the Pacuare and ziplining and hiking at Hanging Bridges. It would not take much expense or time refitting the beds with some thin memory foam and, given the number of complaints that you will see here, it would behoove management to do this. If you like firm beds, then this would not be a problem.

Overall, this is a safe bet and not a bad place to spend a few days in Arenal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello friend, we want to thank you for being here with us and thank you for your comments, just the rooms that we are building are for people like you who need a higher level of comfort, we are building 3 master suite that will have the best of the best, these rooms will be 162 square meters that will have, 2 bedrooms with a king size bed and the other with 2 beds Quing, besides thermal swimming pool, terraces overlooking the volcano, tanning areas, internal tropical garden, 3 plasma tv, mini bar, out door bathroom, full disabled access, air conditioning, hammocks area, bathroom with tub, and much more.
hopefully next time you can experience something totally different and you feel happy with us, thanks for your comments because they help us to improve and we are working hard on that.
blessings to all your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The resort is located about 8 km away from La Fortuna so it is away from all the noise but close enough for a cheap cab ride. Every room in the resort faces the volcano and its a great view when you look at your window during the day.

ROOM / STAFF / AMENITIES
The staff were very helpful and they all can speak English. The resort is very well kept and the landscape is beautiful. Rooms were spotless and smells great. You could sort of smell the sulfur when you run the hot water. TV, AC, ceiling fan were all working. Complimentary beer and soda in the fridge (1 for each person). Hot springs were fantastic and I had a hard time getting off of it. Outdoor yoga studio was awesome as you have a view of the volcano and it has a very "zen" feel to it.

FOOD
Breakfast buffet was excellent. Didn't try their lunch and dinner menu because it was pricy and there were lots of good options in la fortuna. The sushi bar was decent but a bit on the pricier side for the quality. The tempura ice cream is a must have!!

Overall a great place to stay. Very quiet and it seems like people that go there only stay for a day or two and move on to some place else. Great for couples going on their honeymoon and for those who want to just relax.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great experience staying for two nights in this resort. Our unit is adjoining another unit which was not a problem because hard to hear any noise unless the other occupant was yelling. Bed was comfortable; with TV, airconditioning, extra chair, big bathroom; shower had plants on the side, with safe, closet. Clean, no smell. Our unit was facing the volcano but it was cloudy when we were there late December. Enjoyed the manicured grounds. Saw toucans and other birds. Enjoyed the hot springs pools - had several levels (with the highest one the hottest, and temperature gradually decreased per level). Lowest level had a bar where sushi was served too. Beauiful flowers all over the area. Breakfast and dinner were buffet - lots of choices. Good service from staff (from check-in to check-out). Golf carts available to assist handicapped guests. We were part of Caravan.com tour with about 40 tourists. They were able to provide good service for all. Highly recommended resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of December. Our family had 5 had two rooms in the same small building. The only bad thing was that you had to go outside & down the path to get to the other room, but my kids are teens, so it wasn't too bad. The beds were pretty hard, but that seems typical in most Latin America places we've been.

The rooms are nicely done. The plants in the shower was a little strange. I knew about it coming in, but the plants were so huge they hung over the wall and could touch you while showering. It freaked out my kids, so we took the string to hang clothes on to hold the plants back. They also had white mold growing on them, so I really didn't want that touching my clean body either.

The hot spring pools were wonderful. It was a wonderful way to relax in the evening after touring. We had cool, rainy days so the hot water was amazing. We were busy in the day with tours, but the hotel and pool never seemed crowded. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was fine. Not great, but not bad either. Prices seemed about the same as the restaurants in town we ate at. We wanted to try new things, so went into La Fortuna two nights. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
ello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater MA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. I ate in the sushi resturant and that was out of this world. Had a massage and I can highly reccomend the spa. They made me feel welcome. My room was beautiful and I honestly can say it was completely worth every penny. The springs were nice. Everything was wonderful from the welcome drink to the time I left.

Room Tip: The property is set up like a gated community so if you have any health issues you may want a closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
ello dear friends, first we want everyone working at Hotel Arenal Springs give thank you for being with us and choose us, everyone here hope you feel great in your home and your family are also very good.
for us has been a real pleasure having you here, and we all hope to see you again very soon, also thank you for your comments that help us to continue to grow and improve every day, we send you many blessings from all at Hotel Arenal Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna | Gps: Latitude: N 10"30'07. 62" Longitude: O 84"41'00. 00", La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.